4/13 Dimi AMPS 346 +2 294 +4 347 +5 407

Bobbi Kraham

Member Since 2022
Hi @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko, We were in touch on April 3 about Dimi, who is still unregulated 3 months into this journey. Based on his spreadsheet, and a few low readings at 1.5 units, you advised that I decrease his dose of lantus to 1.25 unit. I did that for several days, but then got a low reading on April 7, so I reduced further to 1 unit. Since then his numbers have gone way up and my vet wants me to increase his dose to 1.5 units. I'm feeling so discouraged that we've been at this for 3 months and he's still getting red and black readings. I'm also nervous about increasing to 1.5 units. Would you mind taking a look at his spreadsheet and providing a recommendation? Thank you, Bobbi

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-3-dimi-pmps-58-libre.261538/#post-2933508
 
Some of you dosing shows 1+, can you tell me what that means compared to 1.0 unit? With our dosing methods, we find it best to dose as consistently as you can. I would NOT go up to 1.5 units.

How is Dimi otherwise? Acting OK? 5 P's OK? (peeing, pooing, preening, playing, purring).
 
Some of you dosing shows 1+, can you tell me what that means compared to 1.0 unit? With our dosing methods, we find it best to dose as consistently as you can. I would NOT go up to 1.5 units.

How is Dimi otherwise? Acting OK? 5 P's OK? (peeing, pooing, preening, playing, purring).
1+ means ever so slightly over the 1 unit marking, but not quite 1.25. All P’s ok until today. His energy seems low today and he is a little disengaged, but eating fine.
 
It's best to stick with a dose as best you can, instead of fattening it if you don't like the preshots. We determine dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, but inconsistent dosing won't tell us that.
 
It's best to stick with a dose as best you can, instead of fattening it if you don't like the preshots. We determine dose based on how low the dose takes the cat, but inconsistent dosing won't tell us that.
So should I increase since his lows have been high?
 
Stick with the 1.25 units for a bit yet. I'm not sure which dosing method you want to follow, a dose is held at least 3 days or six cycles. With Lantus, it can take that long before you see how the dose is going to do.
 
Stick with the 1.25 units for a bit yet. I'm not sure which dosing method you want to follow, a dose is held at least 3 days or six cycles. With Lantus, it can take that long before you see how the dose is going to do.
Thanks @Wendy&Neko. Glad I followed your recommendation to stick with 1.25 units instead increasing to 1.5 units as my vet proposed. Dimi's numbers look good today for the first time in a while, though he does seem to live in extremes. He goes straight from green to yellow and skips right over blue. He did have one brief period today when the Libre read "LO," but he seemed fine and energetic. Based on a few spot checks with the Relion, I think the Libre runs lower than a blood glucose monitor. So it seems 1 unit is not enough and 1.25 may be just slightly too much. Unfortunately, my old lady eyes aren't reliable enough to find something in between, even with a magnifying glass.
 
I've heard that you should retest Libre LO with a manual test if you can. But regardless, LO is way too low and the dose should be reduced to 1.0 units. This is the second time he's gone LO on this dose. Plus, 1.0 units is so much easier to load on the syringe. Last time you tried 1.0 units, you didn't hold the dose long enough.

Another thing you might want to consider is the use of calipers for those finer doses. Post about it here, with video: Dosing with calipers
 
I've heard that you should retest Libre LO with a manual test if you can. But regardless, LO is way too low and the dose should be reduced to 1.0 units. This is the second time he's gone LO on this dose. Plus, 1.0 units is so much easier to load on the syringe. Last time you tried 1.0 units, you didn't hold the dose long enough.

Another thing you might want to consider is the use of calipers for those finer doses. Post about it here, with video: Dosing with calipers
Really, back to 1 unit even though his numbers were pink, red and black at that dose? After 2 bouts of DKA, I worry when his numbers stay high for a few days in a row.
 
Have you been testing his ketones at home? It would be really helpful for decision making if you could retest those LO numbers on the Libre. Going too low is also going to cause him to bounce into higher numbers.
 
Have you been testing his ketones at home? It would be really helpful for decision making if you could retest those LO numbers on the Libre. Going too low is also going to cause him to bounce into higher numbers.
When I can catch him heading for the litter box, I do try to test his ketones. Agree that it would be helpful to get a reading on the Relion next time the Libre says low. I did that on April 3 when the Libre said LO at +5 and +6, and there was a huge difference between the two. The Relion's readings were 88 @+5, and 98 @+6.
 
Back
Top