4/13: Cedric amps 261, pmps 240, +3 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
So we have been on 1 unit since 4/1 and only 3 of the readings have been under 200. Are we needing a .25 increase here?
 
Re: 4/13: Cedric amps 261

Jesse,

The problem with the .20 that you shot the other day on the lower than normal preshot is that you reset the clock on how many days he has been on that dose. Right now he is pretty much considered well regulated as I'm pretty sure he is going blue during the day and then rising back to that 250ish range by preshots.

Yes you can take him up another .25u to try to drop the overall curve, but I need to ask you a fairly important question. If you raise him and he starts giving you blue preshots or even very low yellow ones...Are you going to be comfortable shooting a full dose into that and then leaving him for work? That is going to be the determining factor on if you go up or not...because if you aren't comfortable shooting low to stay low then raising him to lower his curve overall only to start skipping shots or shooting a 1.25u on a couple of days and then a .5u because of a low preshot really isn't going to work with the nature of Lantus. Honestly I think you could have shot the full 1u on that 146 because he would have continued to rise until about +3 before onset of his shot, and if you had you might be seeing better numbers now. But I also know that shooting low to stay low when you can't be around to monitor isn't for everyone either.

So we need to find a comfort level for both of you. Try to remember regulated is keeping him under renal threshhold of 250 at preshot with nadirs in the 100s or lower but not under 40. He is regulated he just isn't tightly regulated yet.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Sounds like you are right - he is doing better today. Pet sitter came and gave him his insulin at about 5:15, his am shot was 5:30. He will get tomorrow am at 5am, then pm at 5:30. Back to regular schedule on Monday.
I'm off to bed....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top