4/12 Orange AMPS 437, PMPS 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68490

We're back to his "normal" 400s for the PS today. Unfortunately, I won't be home all day (need to be at work!), so probably no more readings until his PMPS. What's the consensus on the dose? Up it to 0.75 tonight? Sienne, Julie - you both have had a couple of comments on his dose the past couple of days - what do you think?

Thanks!
 
Re: 4/12 Orange AMPS 437

I want to really, really, really encourage you to get at least one spot check during the PM cycle. No matter which protocol you're following, the only way to know if more insulin is needed or if your cat is bouncing and you need to hold the dose is to have test data. Is it possible for you to get a before bed test every night?

My guess is that this AMPS is a bounce off of the blues yesterday. I would wait until the bounce clears before increasing.

A housekeeping detail: If you want to make sure to get the input you're looking for, it helps to put something like "dose question" in your subject line or to use the "?" icon.
 
Re: 4/12 Orange AMPS 437

I've been trying to get as many checks as I can in, but I don't think I'm going to be able to hit every cycle. The past day has been really hectic hence the missing test. From the past days though this reading seems to be where he normally ends up at - no matter what his low numbers were the past day. Or were those readings too soon after the last dose change to really tell?

So you are saying I should hold this dose for now and try to get a few more spot checks in?
 
Re: 4/12 Orange AMPS 437 - dose question

yes, that's what she was saying. Hold the dose and try to get at least one spot check during the day time cycle and one during the night cycle. a before bed is great.

it's a funny thing with the lantus - you can keep giving the same food and the same dose, and mostly the same numbers, but then i suppose the lantus builds up and then you can see number changes. so you can't assume that just because it was that way yesterday, it's going to be that way today.

we encourage a mid-cycle every cycle because that's really how we can get a picture of what's going on and know what to do with the dose. lantus dosing is all based upon how low in the previous 4-6 or so cycles that the cat's BG has gone.

i'll bump up the post for you on "should i increase the dose?" because jill explained it better than i can. it's got a lot of good info in it. actually, i'll just put it here to make sure you see it. then i'll bump it for everyone else.

Should I increase the Dose?
 
Re: 4/12 Orange AMPS 437 - dose question

Thanks!

Still leaving the dose at 0.5 units. Will do my best to get as many mid cycles as possible, and I'll be asking again in a few days if this is where I should be keeping him (if thats ok). I'm reading through the link too :)
 
of course it's ok - we expect people to! you've done a great job getting them most days - it's just amazing how much it helps to know what's going on when we can see a little bit more. no one wants to give bad advice, and the more we can see the more accurate the advice can be.

you're off to a great start! keep it up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top