MikeysMom
Member Since 2011
AMPS 165
+2 185
+4 164 Another ugly inverted curve this morning. While Mikey's PM cycles have been OK, his preshot numbers haven't been as good and his AM cycles have been flat blue with a big (food?) spike that makes his +2 still higher than preshot. He is eating exactly the same thing morning and evening: 1 can FF Classic chicken, beef, or turkey at PS, 1/4 can of Great Choice around +1 and another 1/4 can Great Choice at his +2 test. (When I can afford a few cans, I sometimes substitute the Great Choice with Merrick BG Turkey, which is roughly the same in carbs) The only thing that's slightly different is that sometimes in the AM, I give the second meal a little earlier so I can get a little extra sleep before the +2 test. In the past, that didn't make a difference.
So, do I raise the dose to .2 or .25? I've been holding the .1 for a couple weeks extra as it was suggested that his SS looked like he might be getting too much, not too little, insulin. And some of his AM cycles DO look like bounces from the night before. Early on, he'd have a green PM and bounce to a flat yellow. He got over that but is he bouncing with those flat blues, or does he need more insulin? We had a 52 on this dose the other night, but overall, his 2-week average has crept up from a 114 to a 118 (not much, I know). We'dlove some experienced eyes to help us choose a direction from here.
+2 185
+4 164 Another ugly inverted curve this morning. While Mikey's PM cycles have been OK, his preshot numbers haven't been as good and his AM cycles have been flat blue with a big (food?) spike that makes his +2 still higher than preshot. He is eating exactly the same thing morning and evening: 1 can FF Classic chicken, beef, or turkey at PS, 1/4 can of Great Choice around +1 and another 1/4 can Great Choice at his +2 test. (When I can afford a few cans, I sometimes substitute the Great Choice with Merrick BG Turkey, which is roughly the same in carbs) The only thing that's slightly different is that sometimes in the AM, I give the second meal a little earlier so I can get a little extra sleep before the +2 test. In the past, that didn't make a difference.
So, do I raise the dose to .2 or .25? I've been holding the .1 for a couple weeks extra as it was suggested that his SS looked like he might be getting too much, not too little, insulin. And some of his AM cycles DO look like bounces from the night before. Early on, he'd have a green PM and bounce to a flat yellow. He got over that but is he bouncing with those flat blues, or does he need more insulin? We had a 52 on this dose the other night, but overall, his 2-week average has crept up from a 114 to a 118 (not much, I know). We'dlove some experienced eyes to help us choose a direction from here.