4/12 Lanky AMPS 351 Dose Advice Sought

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Very Active Member
Morning - Lanky is perkier today & a little more pickier eater thank usual but given time is chomping away. The other kitties (Otis, Miss Nubbins, & Bruski turned their noses up at breakfastm mostly Friskies beef & chicken (Fbc). I leave the leftovers out & they'll usually come back to graze.) At the moment, Lanky is rubbing his chin on the carpet in one of those gunga maneuvers - like he really likes what he smells or he is trying to cover it up. He #'s appears to be slowly coming down BUT what do you all think as this is cycle #5 of his doecrease to 2.5 units. Last night I checked for ketones & they were negative. Now he is camped out by the fire (wood stove), very stormy here yesterday & more today. We need the rain & it clears the pollen out of the air.

Here's to a wonderful day for all.

Yesterday:
 
Re: 4/12 Lanky AMPS 351

No dosing advice. I just wanted to stop by and see how the handsome boy is doing. I hope he accomplished whatever he was trying to accomplish with the carpet! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/12 Lanky AMPS 351

If you change the - to a = in your first post.. the url to your previous condo should work.

As for Lanky.. I think he's really liking the lantus.. getting some much more consistent and lower numbers than before.. he's probably built up a fair amount of resistance from being high for a while.. so it may take a while to help him break through.. but hopefully in the meantime he keeps feeling better and better..

If you add "dose?" to your subject title.. it'll catch more eyes.. I have my suspicions as to what the advice will be but I'm not one of the pro's so I say NOTHING :).
 
Thx gals - your tips are always sooooo useful. I'm 50/50 for holding the dose or upping it 0.25 at AMPS tomorrow or something else. But need need assistance & yes I am testing alot again today so I am going grocery shopping to get out of Lanky's fur for a while...it's raining & he just asked to go out so I said OK. He made the big loop from one back door to the other in less than 30 seconds saying -- "Oh my gosh, you didn't tell me it was raining!" So guess he'll take a quick bath, then nap by the fire...I'm outta here for a while.
 
With numbers in this range, I think it's fine to raise the dose tomorrow. I think the bigger question is whether to raise by 0.25u or 0.50u. I'm leaning toward a more conservative increase since you were getting nadirs in the 200s. Let's see what others have to say, though. I'm glad you were testing for ketones and all was good in that department! You're really doing a great job with testing.
 
hi susan. unless something changes tonight, i'd go ahead and take the dose up to 3u bid tomorrow morning. up til now, the only yellow we've seen on this dose is a 292 and a 295. they're high enough (almost 300), that an increase of 0.5u is fine.
if lanky should drop lower than usual tonight... increase by only 0.25u tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top