4/12 Gus PMPS=393 Dose ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
Well, we got a # that's on the charts this AM! That's better than I expected to do. Is a bounce considered to be cleared when the BG goes back to the range of the lowest #? Or when you get a # like we did? Beginning to know the Laws of LL, I think just getting a # isn't considered 'clearing'. Doing well even with higher #s. A lot of Gus's behavior was blamed on his older age and now we see it as probably having something to do with sky high BG. Just with the lowering into the 400s, there's a huge improvement in his activity level and his mood. Sometimes there are more benefits than just watching the #s fall.
 
Re: 4/12 Gus +3 423

Morning Bev - a bounce is considered cleared when BG numbers return to the normal range for the kitty. Sometimes this can take up to three days, some kitties clear them sooner. Isn't it great when you can out a number in the chart, and just not "HI". It will get even better as things progress. I can imagine what lowering his BG had done for Gus. I bet you get back the kitty that you used to know: the active one, the playful one, the happy one. He will simply feel so much better. The benefits are wonderful.

have a great day today, Gus - you're doing great! I hope to see you in the 300's today. :-D

I love his name BTW. We used to have a Gus too many years ago. :cool: :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/12 Gus +3 423

i think punkin only had one number over 400 and that was when we were testing once a week at the vet's - and he was SO miserable. he just laid against his water bowl all day long. i can only imagine what that feels like, but with a number in the 100's this morning he was rolling on his catnip bananas and doing kitty wrestling with Anya, our 2 year old kitty. i imagine that as Gus continues to drop down in numbers and stabilize you're going to see your "old" Gus come back again. YAY!

as far as the bounce goes, i think it varies from cat to cat. i think i may have called punkin's dose reductions failed before i should have - ie, i should've waited longer for him to stabilize. have you read the New Dose Wonkiness post? I can't remember if i've seen the link in your condo or not - i'll go find it.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35365

it's a helpful post.
 
Re: 4/12 Gus +3 423

Thanks Michelle and Julie for info on 'Bounces 101' it all helps. The link to NDW helped too. Gus is showing that he's back to the 400s but I feel better waiting a couple more days. He'll be getting another dosecrease I suppose and I need to know that he's stabilized beforehand. It's kind of like watching the grass grow! He is beginning to reassert himself as boss of the house over the other kitties (and beans too) and it's great to see.
 
Re: 4/12 Gus +3 423

bev5477 said:
It's kind of like watching the grass grow!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

isn't that so true!? only sometimes the grass grows and sometimes it shrinks. the beans are left scratching their heads!
 
Re: 4/12 Gus +3 423

Binks acts a kitten all the time now...and he'll be 12 yrs old next month...

it's amazing what better numbers do for them!
 
Gus is on his 6th cycle of 3.5U having cleared his bounce, I think. Is it wise to give him a cycle or two more on that dose to see how low it will take him? Or has it run its course, making another dosecrease necessary? I'd rather do this correctly than do it quickly. Gus is really liking all this extra FF and snacks and loves and hugs. He wakes me up now at 3AM for a snack. I make him pay with a BG! When he hears the meter beep, he jumps into his kitty bed and waits for the stick. He is so easy going and has really been a trooper thru all this.
 
Another item for Bounce 101: You want to wait for a bounce to clear before raising the dose. If you raise based on the bounce, once it clears, you could be shooting too much insulin. This will make a lot more sense when Gus' BG is in lower ranges.

If this evening's cycle is pretty much the norm, I'd raise Gus' dose tomorrow. With a kitty who is spending time in higher ranges, I prefer to not have them get too comfortable in the pinks and above.

Your comments on how Gus' behavior is getting back to the kitty you know is why we like to hear a "whole cat report" (WCR). All of our felines are more than just the numbers we post. They have personalities! I don't know if you're seen reference to the 5 P's (peeing, pooping, purring, preening, and playing). They are a good barometer of how a cat is feeling.
 
Thank you, Sienne. I won't make any decisions until I see what #s Gus gives this PM. I'll err on the side of safety. But, he'll get an increase if he earns it. We've got 4.5 Ps in place tonight. Gus never was too big on the preening to begin with. Have a good night.
 
It is so great to see that Gus is acting more like his old self and that his numbers are coming down. Keep up the good work, Gus!
Nice and easy with the dose increases, Bev. Lantus needs time to settle.

Ella & Rusty
 
Decided to check any PM posts in Gus' condo and got some needed wisdom. I was going back and forth.......increase or hold, increase or hold. Then I read ;Lantus needs to settle' and 'you can increase by .25' I'm going to sit tight on the dose and see how Gus feels about it. Sweating as I learn to walk the tightrope and smilin' because I know I'm not alone. Now, I'll lay me down to sleep 'cause Mr. Gus likes his 3AM snack!
 
You're teaching me great things, Bev. You're very brave and Gus is an absolute trooper!! I don't know how you keep so calm, but I'm going to try to emulate you and stop being such an alarmist, whiny baby :smile:
 
Oh! I'm sorry, you must have mistaken my hidden terror as calmness! It's a matter of focus and trust....not just in the folks here, but yourself. Never underestimate the power of your instincts. But, thanks for the kind words. You're doing just fine. We'll go thru it together OK?
 
i know for at least the first couple of months every morning i would wake up and wonder if punkin were still alive or had died overnight. i'm past that (mostly) and realizing that while i still have a sick kitty, the insulin is keeping him alive and i will appreciate every day and hope for another.

we just take it one day at a time and make the best decisions for that day that you can.

are you still a pediatric nurse, bev? or are you retired?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top