4/12 Blackie +13.5 56, +14 pmps 65 2u, +1 82, +2 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Very Active Member
Some excitement last night. Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11680 Sorry I didn't post back after the +2. It was pretty uneventful:
amps 291 4.75 (should have been 4.25)
+2 235
+4 231
+6 222

DH will get spot checks today. I think the extra .5 probably just filled his shed quicker since it was only the 2nd cycle of the dosecrease. I'm expecting lower numbers today, but you never know.

WCR: Yesterday Blackie seemed to feel good. Slept a lot on the patio and my lap. But this morning he vomited water before his shot and went down to the basement after his breffis. I could be projecting my own worry, but I'm not sure he felt too good.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie amps 238, +3.25 150

Seeing that 150 made my heart happy! :) I hope Blackie feels better this afternoon.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie amps 238, +3.25 150, +5.5 113, +6.5 93, +7.5 83

Still coming down. DH will check again at +8.5 and we'll see where we are then. I might have to call my pet sitter to test after that or leave work and go home to check Blackie. I'm happy but nervous.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie amps238,+3.25 150,+5.5 113+6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85

Blackie's bgs are leveling off - I'm breathing a sigh of relief. I know he wasn't that low, but I didn't know how low he would go.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie amps238,+3.25 150,+5.5 113+6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85

Yes, DH Robert got lots of practice testing today. :mrgreen: Not that he doesn't always do a good job. I was just glad he was home. He won't be tomorrow, so I'll have to get the pet sitter to come test.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +5.5 113+6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62 Dosing??

+10 62! DH fed him his lc food. Should he give HC treats? Do we give him the full 4.25 tonight? I feel like they're stupid questions because I know the protocol, but if he's still dropping at pmps I'm afraid to give the full dose.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +5.5 113+6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62 Dosing??

If you can post closer to PMPS we'll have a better idea of what's going on. A lot can happen in 2 hours.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +5.5 113+6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62 Dosing??

Okay. I should be home by 5:25 and I'll test then and post (its 4:48 now here). Our pmps is 6pm. Thank you!
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +5.5 113+6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62 Dosing??

This is likely still from last night's extra insulin. Let's see where he is when you get home.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47 Dosing?

Just got home and tested. Wow! 47 I gave Blackie 3 hc treats. Now what? Do I wait, keep testing and shoot after we have a rising number?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47 Dosing?

under the circumstances, yeah, I would stall. Test again in 1/2 hour to see if he's turned around. How long can you stall tonight and still be able to shoot at +12 in the morning?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47 Dosing?

I can even take tomorrow off if I have to. When he turns around, would I still shoot 4.25? If he doesn't turn around should I feed more HC treats?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47 Dosing?

I'm not sure about tonight's dose yet. Normally you would shoot the regular dose, but if we need to drain the shed we can shoot less.

The HC should at least make the drop stop. If not, usually this late in the cycle a few bites of low carb food will stop the drop and make them stop begging for food until we're ready to shoot.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +6.5 93+7.5 83+8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47 Dosing?

Okay, I'll keep testing and check back. Thank you Libby for being her for us. FYI - Blackie is feeling fine and came out from the living room to see me when I got home.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 Dosing?

Gave him a Tb of lc food with a couple of meds. Should I give a few more hc treats?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 Dosing?

I always followed the feed the 40s rules, so I would give a few treats ... IMO
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 Dosing?

not too many treats, the food should hopefully kick in soon and we don't want too much HC spike. Makes it hard to know when to shoot.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 Dosing?

He's staring at me wondering where the rest of his food is. I did give him 2 HC treats, but I'll stop now.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +8.5 85, +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 Dosing?

Wow I am just now seeing this what a drop for Blackie hope your nerves are holding up ok over there :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49Dosing?

+12.5 49
+13 49 fed 1 Tb lc food
Should I continue to test every half hour?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49Dosing?

I wouldn't shoot just yet, are you wanting to skip or keep going? If you skip you can get back on schedule tomorrow with the 4.25, that would probably be the easy thing to do. either that or put 1-2 units in the shed now and hopefully shoot at the regular time tomorrow (which will be +11, but should be ok after a reduced/stalled shot).
 
!

Wow-Had to stop by to see how this went...SS says you shot 4.75 last nite, is that a mistake?
These are some wild 40's numbers--Hope Blackie comes up for you tonite!! Reduced dose will sure help!
Great catch!
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49Dosing?

I really don't want to skip the shot. I would rather wait another 10 minutes and retest and shoot 1 or 2 units. Or I can wait longer and get back on schedule over the next couple of days.

Ronnie, I accidently shot 4.75 instead of 4.25 last night. That's what got us into trouble today. I'm still kicking myself.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +10 62, +11.5 47, +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49Dosing?

if you're ok with waiting, that sounds good to me. I'm more comfortable with that too.

The good news is, we know that 4.75 is too high a dose, so that means his good dose is probably either 4.25 or 4.5. So we're really, really close. :mrgreen: Who knows, maybe this will even start him on the dose reduction path.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49, +13.56 Dosing?

Okay, I think I'll wait until he goes above 60 and then shoot 2 units. Does that sound okay?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49, +13.56 Dosing?

sounds like a plan, if you can monitor for a little while tonight.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49, +13.56 Dosing?

I'll be home and will keep checking. And I'll go into work late tomorrow. Can I catch up an hour at each shot or should I only try to catch up a half hour at a time?
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49, +13.56 Dosing?

I would check at +11 in the morning, and if he's high then go ahead and shoot. Normally we try not to make up more than 1/2 hour per day, but with a depleted shed then sometimes an hour early works out fine.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie +12 44 +12.5 49 +13 49, +13.56 Dosing?

Hey Ele, a mistake got you a reduction :mrgreen: Things happen for a reason- Hope this all leads to something real good!-Blackie is just a beautiful Black Boy!! My civvie is all black like him.
OT--I noticed in your profile that you use Dasuquin & Adequan..Moonie has neuropathy & has a floating kneecap--Thought i would use the Dasuquin 1st-She's on cosequin now--Saving the adequan for later on..also on Methyl b12
Does the dasuquin work well??
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie 49 +13 49, +13.5 56, +14 65 2u Dosing?

Finally got over 60 and I think I can breathe again. I fed another 1 Tb and shot 2 units. I'll check him again in an hour.

Ronnie, I never really noticed a difference when we switched him from Cosequin to Dasuquin. The thing that I did notice was the Gabapentin - Blackie was walking better within a couple of days. I also give him Methylcobalamine for his kidneys, but its supposed to be good for neuropathy too.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie 49 +13 49, +13.5 56, +14 pmps 65 2u, +1 82

Thank you so much, Libby. I can't even express how much I appreciate how you helped us tonight. Hopefully, I'm learning from this experience and your guidance.
 
Re: 4/12 Blackie 49 +13 49, +13.5 56, +14 pmps 65 2u, +1 82

Sorry I'm late to the party....

WHOA. That's all I can say. Ele, you seemed so calm and collected, you did GREAT! :) I'm glad Libby was around to help you through, too. It's amazing how one cycle like this can really get you used to lower numbers, at least it did for me. You see that they go so low and that you can handle it and it does wonders for your confidence. It sounds like Blackie was feeling good throughout, which is wonderful.

WAY TO GO!! :RAHCAT E :RAHCAT L :RAHCAT E :RAHCAT
 
My heart was racing the whole time. But, Thank you, Sarah. Now I know what you all go through when you get low numbers. Blackie was a trooper. As long as we kept those liv a little treats coming, he was okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top