4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Help--Vet gave me two choices

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Can't believe I did that. :YMSIGH: Well, at least it's not the day of her tests. Her spasms continue, although this morning, they are further down, into her haunches. She is laying there, then the spasms start, she jerks her head up and stops, then she stretches the back leg real hard and holds it. I'm sure this is neuropahy now, poor girl. Can't wait to get these tests done and get her on a pain med that will give her some relief!

Let's get this Monday over with, ok? I never have liked em. cat(2)_steam

At least it's a nice day and the trees and grass are really greening up! :-D
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the fur shot and sorry to hear tessie lou is starting to have some problems .. I hope this monday goes by quick for you guys and that tomorrow is even better!
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Moonie has neuropathy too, but no spasms--just walks funny--We have her on Methylcobalamin(methyl B12)
Did you try it? and Dasuquin for arthritis...
Dont beat yourself up over fur shots!!! I do one almost monthly, and I am here for years!!!
This will pass & you can make it up later--Just know she will come down tonite! :-D
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Roni, no, the vet hasn't prescribed anything yet. Probably after the test results are in...I'll as about the Methyl......stuff. Why do they make these names so long? :lol:
I'm gonna test her in a minute and we'll see if any juice made it's way inside--fingers crossed!

Have a good day! So glad Moonie's coming down--yay!
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Aww, I hope the fur shot was just a 'maybe' fur shot and it really did go in. Sometimes it is so hard to tell since these needles are teeny tiny.
I'm glad you know to just let it go and no re-shooting. We never truly know how much/ if any gets to the kitty on a fur shot.

When I was new and ignorant.... I thought I did a fur shot and paced the floor back and forth and then actually gave a drop more. I'm glad it was so little because what I thought was a fur shot was NOT! BigMac dropped pretty quickly with the extra drop I gave and I about dropped from a heart attack. He was fine and the number wasn't that low, but to newbie-me it was scary.

I sure learned my lesson. duh...

P.S. I hate Monday's too. I'm pretending it is Tuesday. :lol:
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Sorry about the fur. They always seem to happen at the worst possible time.

Count me and Leo as fans of the methyl B12. If he's consistently above 300 it doesn't do much good, but with preshots around 300 and nadirs in the mid 200s, his neuropathy has improved greatly since I put him on it. Assuming poor Tessielou's leg spasms are neuropathy, you might try it. It's not cheap because you have to get one with as little sweetener as possible. I like it in gel capsules; I just break it open and sprinkle it on his food once a day. This link is a safe product for cats:
http://www.vitacost.com/NSI-Vitamin-B-1 ... lcobalamin
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Hi CD! Well, cruddy Monday has turned into a better day--Tessie just tested 196 @ +3.5!!! Happy days are here again, the skies are clear again, etc. (singing)
Oh how our days revolve around these sugarbabies... :lol: Tempted as I was to shoot a little bit more, I'm so glad I didn't!

Hi Lacie, thanks for the link! I have bookmarked it for later use...I did notice a warning on the website about it:
Warnings: Pregnant or lactating women, diabetics, hypoglycemics, and people with known medical conditions and/or taking drugs should consult with a licensed physician and/or pharmacist prior to taking dietary

I wonder why it's riskier for diabetics. Did they ever tell you? Is it because it has some sugar in it?
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

tessielou said:
Hi CD! Well, cruddy Monday has turned into a better day--Tessie just tested 196 @ +3.5!!! Happy days are here again, the skies are clear again, etc. (singing)
Oh how our days revolve around these sugarbabies... :lol: Tempted as I was to shoot a little bit more, I'm so glad I didn't!
See, it isn't really a Monday is it? Look how pretty Tessie's number is now!
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

methylcobalamin does not need an Rx...you buy the vitamins at the pharmacy or health store....Dasuquin or Cosequin don't need an Rx either...

are the spams when she is sleeping or trying to sleep? or while she is awake?
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Hi guys. Aww, poor baby girl. That sounds scary to watch. I'm glad Tessie's numbers started to look better for ya. I hope she starts to feel better. Have a great night guys. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Hi Claudia,
That's good to know about the supplements! I thought that stuff was prescription only. Her spasms are while she's awake, but laying on her side. She gets a wild eyed look on her face and jerks her head up and toward the spasm. I usually try to rearrange her body, and massage her haunches, which seems to help. Sometimes, she will get up and walk a few steps and then sit down again. Fortunately, it doesn't last more than a couple minutes (loooooong minutes when it's happening).

CD, you're right, it wasn't Monday at all! She fooled me again. I can't begin to figure out what happened, but who cares? It's all good today!

Thanks, Maria, it will be a good night now! Hope Choco's doing well, too!

Celi, sounds like a lot of our kitties have this ailment and B12's the cure. Can't wait to get her started on it! Just found out the ultrasound's on Wednesday. Now I can start stressing out about that! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Hi Sandy, So you're not the Fur Shot champ yet! Roni and I can hang on to the title!! Good for you! Sorry not to know anything about Tessie Lou's spasms, but you'll probably find everything out on Wednesday. Will be thinking good thoughts for you and for Tessie Lou.
Have a nice evening, and don't give a fur shot!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/11 Tessie Lou AMPS 317 - Fur Shot--Fooey!

Hi Sandy - I could have sworn I visited you today... I remember the content.... scary, huh. I liked the idea of pretending that is it Tuesday.... works for me!

Well I am glad that her numbers came down, not a fur shot at all. :-D :-D

I can't give any insight into the spasms either.... I know how glad you will be when Wednesday is here, and you can get all looked at, tested, and taken care of. Waiting is always the worse part.

have a great evening guys!
 
I can't decide what to do. Tonight the vet called to tell me the specialist will do Tessie's ultrasound on Wed. at 1pm. The bloodwork would be done just before. BUT...she has to fast for 12 hours. That means no AMPS feeding at 8am, and no noon feeding? First of all she will freak out, cause she is always starving in the morning, and second, what about her shot? Doesn't she need food with the shot at 8am?

The vet said if I prefer, I can bring her in twice on Wed. Once in the morning, before her normal shot time, and then take her home and feed and shoot her, then come back for the 1pm ultrasound.

So, what to do? Two trips to vettie in one day--super stressful for her. But, going all morning until 1pm without food? Almost unthinkable! Vet said I could feed her a good meal at 11pm, but nothing after that.

Any thoughts?
 
There's now a form of methylcobalamin that's available for cats -- Xobalin. Some brands of methyl-B12 contain either sugar or carbs (rice flour). That's why the warning that diabetics need to be careful. This one seems to be carb/sugar free.
 
that's a tough one....hope others weigh in

would you be able to reschedule the bloodwork and ultrasound to be closer in time together?

with Rocket's many illnesses i NEVER fast him longer than 8 hrs....we have never had problems even with the ultrasound....

tough call....i know you need to get Tessie Lou in....and two trips it's too much....skipping the shot is not the problem but the hunger part is....
 
I gather the vet wants to do the bloodwork early so it's fasting.

If you go for the 8 AM appt., they can draw the blood. Is there any reason you can't stick around? Why can't you feed her there? I'm sure they can keep her for the few hours until the ultrasound. Can you leave instructions to give Tessie her remaining food before 11:00?

As far as the shot, you could give a reduced dose or even skip if you need to.
 
The 12-hour fasting is for the bloodwork? If so it would always present the problem of hunger. Maybe you could have the bloodwork done very early tomorrow (Tuesday) and then do the ultrasound with the specialist as scheduled on Wednesday. Or is there a reason they both have to be done on the same day? It doesn't sound like food is a problem for the ultrasound, otherwise your vet wouldn't have suggested you have the bloodwork done, go home and feed and shoot, and then return for the ultrasound.

I hope you can get it straightened out! Hang in there Sandy!

Just saw Sienne's post, which sounds eminently sensible!


Ella
 
when i first started giving shots (pre-FDMB) i gave a fur shot and freaked out - called the vet's office an they said give it again. i gave it again. then i was sure it was a fur shot and GAVE ANOtHER ONE! the dose was 3 units in the wrong needles - ie - about 8 units each time. :o :shock: :o :shock:

thank God they really were fur shots and i didn't kill the poor punkin!

i like the suggestion of leaving tessie lou at the vet's in between and asking them to feed here as soon as bloodwork is done.
 
First of all, I just have to say how great it is to post a question and get such thoughtful feedback so quickly. I thank you all so much!

Claudia, the specialist can only do it at 1pm, and he's fitting her in his busy schedule as a favor to my vet. So, I can't change it. The bloodwork has to be 12 hours fasting.

Sienne, I think your idea would work, unless she refused to eat for them, and that's way too long to go without food, and I really don't want to skip her shot as high as she's been running.

Michelle, that was the way I was leaning, although that's makes for a pretty stressful day for her. It's about a 30 minute trip each way...twice.

Ella, I think that's a great question. Why couldn't we do them on different days? That way it's not so stressful for her. It's too late for tomorrow morning, so I'm going to call in the morning and set up her bloodwork for Thurs. a.m. Then we'll get the ultrasound done on Wed., as planned.

Julie! OMG, you lucked out on that one! Or, punkin had a GA looking over your shoulder as you were (not) shooting. Yikes!

Roni, thanks for the tip on the NSI methylcobalamin. Does it take awhile to build up in their bodies? How long before you noticed a change in Moonie? Any side effects?

Thanks again guys--I really appreciate the suggestions. I'll be glad when this is behind us. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
I think I would lean toward the two different days when you factor everything in. I hope you are able to work it out! I really hope you get some answers from the tests so Tessie can get some relief.
 
Sandy: this is kind of a way out there suggestion but have you considered contacting a mobile vet to come to the house and do the blood draw and then taking the blood to your vet to send in? If I have to fast any of the cats, I get a mobile vet to come to the house really early and do the blood draw making sure it is in the correct tube and in the right amount. Hope that might be a possibility for you. Lucikly for us, Tucson is a small town and the vets all know each other so they are cool about working together like that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top