4/11 siujim amps (392) +4 (351), +9 (360), pmps (363)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member
as she was very stressed out when coming back from clinic. i let her rest for a few days, change a bit on the diet -- shrimp to sole fish, plus wellness core canned (same as before).
and she resumes quite some vitality and purrs more.
regained a bit weight as well (5.45p to 5.6p), not dehydrated.

amps (392) +4 (351), +9 (360), pmps (363),
+10 (urine 50mg) very low

i will another full curve today.
and i have two questions:

1) good thing is her sugar level generally speaking is lower, than when using 2.5 unit (raised since 8 days ago). yet, seems the level curve is very flat. not going down a lot. what does a flat surve suggest? seems like it's been a flat curve for quite some time since two months ago.

2) i understand sugar in urine is not precise and no fixed parallel with blood sugar. however, i'd like to ask, when she first diagnosed with diabetes back in dec/jan, her urine sugar is around 300-500mg, sometimes 800mg (i use medi-test paper, European brand). and her blood sugar is around 13-17. and last feb, her urine sugar is lower, usually 100-150mg, and sometimes, 300mg, and recently 50-100mg which is just the first zone in the tests. (when first back from clinic last week, it's 300mg, now down to 50-100mg amd even 50mg yesterday).

if higher sugar in blood and low sugar in urine, does it mean a weaker kidney? can't discharge the sugar?

thanks a lot.
anson
 
Hi Anson. I'm sure people have already requested this, but could you create a spreadsheet? As you see, there are so, so many people on the board that it's hard to help or answer questions without one. There are directions in the Tech Forum.

I can't answer anything about your "sugar in the urine" question - I relied completly on blood testing. I'm also not sure about her flat curve but my guess would be that she needs more insulin (of course, following protocol to remain safe). If you are concerned about her kidneys, you can get a "renal profile" run.
 
you might want to talk to your vet about your questions, I think they are very good questions, but most of us here are unfamiliar with urine testing.

If you can do blood testing daily, then we can help you better, but for me to say anything right now I would be guessing and guessing can be dangerous. One concern I have is that if the urine tests are low, that Siujim might be dropping low in between the preshot tests.
 
i do have a spreadsheet, it's in the signature, as all the others.

i have been testing more, just want to give her rest for a few days...
pls note remarks on the spread sheet.

good news is today, the figures are even lower... finally after 2-3 months, it's lowered. i will send figure tomorrow.

thx


Boo said:
Hi Anson. I'm sure people have already requested this, but could you create a spreadsheet? As you see, there are so, so many people on the board that it's hard to help or answer questions without one. There are directions in the Tech Forum.

I can't answer anything about your "sugar in the urine" question - I relied completly on blood testing. I'm also not sure about her flat curve but my guess would be that she needs more insulin (of course, following protocol to remain safe). If you are concerned about her kidneys, you can get a "renal profile" run.
 
i will do blood test if urine is normal or negative to play safe.
urine is just a reference.
and resting her ears are important too as she is very tensed during the pinning.
need to do the balance.

thx though.

again, histories in the spreadsheet.


Libby and Lucy said:
you might want to talk to your vet about your questions, I think they are very good questions, but most of us here are unfamiliar with urine testing.

If you can do blood testing daily, then we can help you better, but for me to say anything right now I would be guessing and guessing can be dangerous. One concern I have is that if the urine tests are low, that Siujim might be dropping low in between the preshot tests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top