4/11 Shadow PMPS Hi +4 411 +5 413

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradB

Member Since 2012
Hey everyone,

Sorry I haven't been posting Shadow's condos lately. I have been trying my best to get a few tests during his PM shot cycle. He is still high, perhaps an increase is in order?

Let me know your thoughts! I hope everyone is doing well and their kitties too!

Thanks
-Brad
 
Yep, Shadow needs an increase. I would be increasing by 0.5 units but see what others have to say. Those PM mid cycle tests are great to give a better picture of what is going on - good work :smile:
 
Good Job on testing. With that data you have gathered, I would increase his dose.
I would go to 2.25, and keep testing those mid cycles, so we can see how the new dose goes.

Good luck with the dosecrease. Fingers Crossed.

He's kibble free?
 
Hi Brad.

If you're following the Tight Regulation Protocol, the guidelines for increasing are as follows:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
As long as you are able to grab some mid-cycle tests, based on the above guidelines, you can increase by 0.5u. If so, you're new dose would be 2.5u. I'd also suggest that you evaluate the dose after 3 days. You don't want to let Shadow sit in high numbers overly long.
 
Thanks for the advice, will increase to 2.5 according to the TR protocol. Hopefully he drops.

I have been keeping him out of it for the most part, but sometimes my mom or her boyfriend put the food down for the dogs and I'm not sure if he gets in it then or not.
 
you might do a controlled test sometime just to see how carb sensitive shadow is. close him in your room, measure his BG, give him 10 dog crunchies and then keep track of what happens to his BG over the next 18 hrs. I'd be curious.

We have had cats (Elie immediately comes to mind) whose blood sugar soared with 10 crunchies and stayed that way for hours.

as long as you're getting in one test mid-cycle and the preshot tests, i'd get more aggressive, brad. these are really high numbers and it's not good for their bodies to sit in them. i'd do what sienne is suggesting, every 2-3 days re-evaluate the dose and increase. if you're following the TR protocol, your goal is to get him under 120 as much of the time as possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top