4/11 Sabrina +10.5 301 :( , PMPS 311, +3.25 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Sabrina's 4/9 Condo
Morning Everyone! ~O) ~O) I apologize for the inconsistency of Sabrina's updates....warmer weather, outdoor projects, & family....time flys & I realized I haven't posted in a couple of days!!! :o Now I'm trying to figure out where to go with her dose...reviewing the protocol, looking @ her ss & food intake & working through her bounces :? Possibly dose decrease tomorrow? Here's the recap :

4/9 AMPS 263 1U 1oz lc chicken, +1 .5oz chicken, +2 .5oz chicken
+3.5 67 1tsp hc gravy, 1oz chicken....1 cube lc turkey
+7.5 63 1.5oz turkey
PMPS 281 1U 1oz turkey
+3 316 overnight 1 cube lc turkey

4/10 AMPS 208 1U 1oz turkey, +1 left out 1.5oz chicken
+6.75 277 1oz chicken
PMPS 243 1U 1.5oz turkey
+2.75 229 overnight 1.5oz turkey

4/11 AMPS 199 1U 1.5oz turkey, +1 .75oz, +2 .75oz
+4.75 48 2tsp lc turkey
+5 54 1tsp lc turkey................earned her decrease :mrgreen:
+7 83 1tsp lc turkey
+10.5 301 :sad: :?:
PMPS 311 .75 1.5oz turkey/salmon mix(lc)
+3.25 311 1.5oz turkey overnight
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, RECAP 4/9-4/10 "?" dosing

I wouldn't anticipate a decrease. Our kitties are always full of surprises. You want to see Sabrina's numbers drop below 50 before giving a dose reduction.
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, RECAP 4/9-4/10 "?" dosing

Thank you Sienne....I'll keep track of her today. Except for Monday 4/8 am(daughter's surgery dosed Sabrina .5U @ +10.5) Sabrina has been on 1U since 4/4. Have a great day! :mrgreen: Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, RECAP 4/9-4/10 "?" dosing

OMGeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee What pretty greens the other morning, dancing_cat and heck--those yellows and lone pink (and the blue!!!) are not bad either!!! How's your daughter recovering??? Give Sabrina a hug from me and a lick on the mouth from Gobs!!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54

Good Afternoon Sienne & Kat!!!!~!~ :mrgreen: Well, Sabrina surprised me again, I guess she's tired of the higher bg's & is grazing in the fields today :lol: Maybe, just maybe, I'll be able to keep her surfing pretty well flat, instead of the roller coaster ride we've been on for the last month or so haha_smiley She earned her reducie tonight...but if I know her, she'll go bouncing again. I'm trying to feed her @ amps, +1, +2.....then "snacks"(lc food) around nadir then next meal is @ pmps.

Kat...my daughter is doing well & took this week off to recuperate & catch up on her grad work that's due by Saturday & studying for a test to get certified in middle school science. I'll tell you, the education system in this country really rakes in money for these certs to go on your official transcript to teach( apprx 80.00-150.00 to take test, Pa then charges 100.00 for each item to be added to your transcript) Well then if you fail the test, you start from the beginning again...Kristyn loves! throwing $'s away grr_red

Have a great afternoon everyone & I promise, I'll keep the updates going! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54, +7 83

Hey Cindy, good afternoon! Looks like little Sabrina is tired of being diabetic (paws crossed)! I agree about our tyrannical government raking in the dough to teach kids who need to be certified to teach kids who hopefully go to college to only have (presently) two years of federal funding taken away...I better quit ranting....am I making sense?
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54, +7 83

You sure are!!!!!! Agreed wholeheartedly grr_red On the other front....yes I do hope Sabrina decides to go OTJ!!! Only she ohmygod_smile can decide :lol:
 
"?" 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54, +7 83, +10.5 301

Evening! I took Sabrina's +10.5 & was 301............What the heck??????? grr_red She had to use the lb & stream went on for longer than normal, I guess she was holding it all day :!: Would the pancreas be so sensitive to isulin as to raise the bg as soon as 5-1/2hrs later? Again, another day & still learning :roll: I'll post Sabrina's PMPS.....she still deserves the dose decrease, correct? Thanks Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54, +7 83, +10.5 301

Hi Cindy,
I'm not experienced enough to advise you but i can bump you up. One thing i do know, because i just went through this is: Yes, she gets her decrease because she went below 50.

that 301 might be her liver reacting - called a bounce. It can take a couple cycles to clear her bounce and come back down. Try not to be disheartened by the high number. It will pass and she will get used to the lower numbers.

here's some of a post from Sienne about a bounce.
by Sienne and Gabby » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:24 pm
When numbers drop fast or if they drop into ranges that are lower than what your cat is used to, the liver and pancreas react. They put out a stored form of glucose (glycogen) and counterregulatory hormone that function to cause a rise in BG. This is a protective mechanism and while annoying given the high numbers, it's a normal response.

take good care and have a nice evening
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54, +7 83, +10.5 301

Looks like you already shot for tonite. I see your new reduced dose.


I didn't get here soon enough ....
There is such a thing as shooting thru the bounce.... ( when the bounce happens this early right after earning a reduction)
I would have gone and tried to pm Sienne to advise. As I understand it, it's a one time thing in the very next cycle ( your pm cycle tonite) .

Maybe you will see another opportunity down the road when you earn the next reduction. Be sure and ask.

and Congratulations on getting a reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/11 Sabrina AMPS 199, +4.75 48, +5 54, +7 83, +10.5 301

Sabrina is, indeed, bouncing. What Mary quoted is correct (except I typed glycogen and the stored form of glucose is glucagon). The more time that Sabrina spends in normal BG numbers, the more her body will get used to being in those numbers. She'll then bounce less and clear the bounces more quickly. Bounces are a normal protective response.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top