4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114, PMPS 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68419

I hope everyone is having a good day today!

Every time I start to think I have a handle on what his numbers are doing he confuses me again! Yesterday he was at 360 each time I tested him. Today he drops from 473 PS to 114 at +5 - I think thats the biggest decrease in a cycle I've seen yet. Is this normal? Please tell me they get more predicable over time!
 
Re: 4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114

oh yes, they definitely get more predictable. it gets much easier to manage for you, too.

he was clearing a bounce this morning, probably. it's like the air goes out of a balloon - and you got a 114 when it went flat!

i think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle. the preshot numbers are like edge pieces, and the mid-cycle tests in between the shots fill out the picture. you're doing a great job of filling out the picture!

have you had a chance to read the yellow starred stickies at the top of this forum yet?
 
Re: 4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114

Hi guys .. not sure if I've posted in oranges condo before or not, so welcome from us! That sure is a big drop in just five hours .. I wouldn't be surprised if you see another high number, just from that .. but like julie said, it does get easier to manage! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114

Julie - yes, I went through the stickies - theres a lot of info in there!

Hi PerterDevonMocha! Everyone's been so nice welcoming me here!
 
Re: 4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114

I wouldn't worry overly much about being confused. You've been dealing with Orange's diabetes for just over a month. There's a lot to learn. And never, ever forget that it's your cat's job to keep you confused! Just as soon as I think I have a handle on what Gabby's up to, she surprises me. She's a cat!

Chances are that Orange will be bouncing again from the fast drop into the blues. If he doesn't bounce or once the bounce clears, you may want to think about increasing his dose to 0.75u. (You don't necessarily want to increase during a bounce.) What you're seeing is that the Lantus is having a good effect (i.e., the numbers in the blue range). However, Orange's liver isn't used to spending time in the normal range and overreacts. That overreaction involves the liver dumping a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream which causes numbers to rise. The more time Orange spends in a normal BG range, the less he will bounce. And yes, this is normal. Most of the cats here go through a period of bounciness.
 
Re: 4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114

No bounce yet... actually the lowest PS ever at 295 (or at least tied for the lowest).
 
Re: 4/11 Orange AMPS 473, +3 231, +5 114

That's good. So did you increase the dose?

Also, just to be the housekeeping nerd, it's helpful if you can edit your subject line to include the PMPS info. You'll need to edit the subject line in your first post -- that's the only one that shows on the Board.
 
Title updated!

I haven't upped the dose yet. Yesterday I was thinking I should, but Julie had suggested to wait a few days. So what do we think? Up the dose or wait? I'm probably going to be at the vet tomorrow with my sick doggie :( so I can discuss with her too.
 
Just stoppig in to say "hi" and "Welcom to LantusLand!" You guys are doing a great job! Yes, FD can be confusing (even after you've been at it for over a year, like we have :roll: !), but it DOES get easier to manage...it really does. This is the best place to be...everyone is so generous with their support and knowledge. Keep asking questions!!

I hope you doggie (or, as the LL kitties refer to them, "drooler") is feeling better!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top