? 4/11: Nova amps 332 what to do....?

LindyNova

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's Post

Little Nova, bouncy girl, can you please stop?

So, I probably have to raise the dose, but as I approach 3 units, I have to wonder....is there an underlying hidden reason (illness) for the high numbers? She is due her shots for FVRCP & Rabies. Should I have her vet check for a UTI or ??? I do not consult with them re: diabetes. I was dismissed in January and told to check in at 3-6 months. They know I test at home & consult here.

Also wondering if I should hold the dose for a couple more days to see if she settles in.

She is all over the place, really--since the beginning, not regulated, but mostly doing good. Still very lovey, all P's are covered.

Any and all thoughts appreciated.

We are expecting snow tonight & temps in the 20's tomorrow--after a 50-something degree today. Hope everyone is enjoying their Caturday!
 
Straight pinks today--a nice easter egg color, but I prefer yellow.

Hemming and hawing on an increase tomorrow....
 
Hemming and hawing on an increase tomorrow....
Just do it, nadirs aren't where you want them to be. You don't want her to linger in higher numbers and get glucose toxicity.

Can you remind me again why you didn't take the reduction when she went down to the 70's on March 21st? That's ancient history so doesn't impact today's dosing question, but just wondering.

How is Nova acting/behaving? Anything out of the ordinary?
 
Unless you're seeing some nice greens and blues, there's no reason to overthink an increase. Nova needs a little more juice to help her pancreas to heal.

Have a good evening!
 
Just do it, nadirs aren't where you want them to be. You don't want her to linger in higher numbers and get glucose toxicity.

Can you remind me again why you didn't take the reduction when she went down to the 70's on March 21st? That's ancient history so doesn't impact today's dosing question, but just wondering.

How is Nova acting/behaving? Anything out of the ordinary?

On March 21, I gave a reduced shot of 2 rather than 2.5 in response to her low amps because I didn't want to do a no-shoot. Last time i did that she bounced really high. Because of her higher pmps I reduced the dose to 2.25 from the actual dose the day before of 2.5.

Nova sleeps a lot, but that is not unusual, her caterwalling with her ball or a mouse in her mouth at lights out and in the early am is. I call out to her and she jumps on the bed and drops the item and then goes to sleep or comes up to give me buscuits & face licks. Other than that she is mostly good. She eats normal, no vomiting except for the really occasional dry heave before breakfast. Urine clumps are getting smaller. Breath is normal--snoring normal.

I try not to overthink, but I notice a few of the sugar kitties with high doses (except acros) seem to have an underlying illness that makes the regulation hard, and dose increases that don't seem to work. I, like every sugar moma here, just want her to get better. If a dose increase is needed, then I will do it.
 
I wouldn't call 3 units a particularly high dose at all. When is the last time you had a senior blood panel done? You are right that things like pancreatitis, hyperthyroidism and kidney disease can all make regulation harder, but not impossible. But so do infections/inflammation like bad teeth or UTI's. Not suggesting she has any of those at all.
 
Back
Top