4/11 Maggie PMPS 131; +3 125 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68382

Monday, 4-10
AMPS 162
+3 93
+5 75 (Wellness Turkey)
+5.5 90
+6 102
+9 106
PMPS 111
+2 101
+4 117

Morning ~O) Maggie had a great day yesterday, and most would be green on the human meter. Last night I used the auto feeder, along with some fuds left in her dish. She didn't eat the AF food but did eat the fuds left in her dish. I have an early Rheumy appt. and won't have time for many pokes, darn, and I'll worry about her dropping, so she may get her FF T&G to keep her safe! We shall see where her cycle leads! It's a little hike up the frwy, so I always leave early to avoid traffic, rainy here, too!
I debated yesterday on giving Mags a shave going back to the TR protocol, but she has a history of not holding the dose. A shave drop would almost be a .25 reducie with the small dose she's on at present. I decided to hold off and follow the modified protocol, as Mags is a long term diabetic and returning from the Falls after 5 months. I just worry her numbers may drop too low, and I may not catch it, although Mags will eat when low. I think I'm rambling and talking to self! Just in case any have questions on my dosing, this is from Jill in my March 29 condo after some back and forth discussion:

because maggie (long term diabetic) is down to only 5 drops of insulin you might want to follow the modified version by shaving her dose every time she drops below 70 (AT) or 40 (human meter)... and forgetting about the dropping 3 times below 80 (AT) or 50 (human meter) mentioned in the formal TR protocol. that's just what i would do since she has a history of not holding reductions...
Jill & Alex
DX: 07/05/2006 with DKA

Wishing everyone a nice day.
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80 ATrak

Maggie we're going hikin today you gotta come so you betta get out of the lagoon and get ready and then Annbean won't worry about you today and she'll let you come - love Vyktor xxx
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80 ATrak

Morning Ann - what a great start for Maggie today. Love all that green. Not too low though Maggie - your bean has to be gone for a bit. I think you are wise in following the modified protocol, as discussed by Jill. I just makes sense to me. Good luck, whenever you decide to go ahead with the reduction.

Good luck with your appt today - I hope it goes well.
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80 ATrak

It's hard to know what to do! I just wish these crystal balls would start working. :lol: Maggie is sure having some nice cycles.
Liz
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

+3.5 87

Up a little from eating some Wellness Turkey. I think I'll leave a little FF T&G just to be safe. She sometimes drops at the +5! I'll visit condos later.

Thanks for the visits, Liz, Michelle and Serryn. It's nerve wracking to wait for one below 70 before giving a reducie, as I don't like to see her getting into the low 60's, but there's no way of telllling. I may just do a reducie, and I can always go back up if it doesn't hold.
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

Hi Ann,
You know your Maggie best and you will make the right decision about whether or not to shave her dose. She is looking great. And I know that your girl will really love having some FF T&G today while you are out! :smile: (Rusty may get some today, too.)
Enjoy your rainy day (same here--it seems like it's been raining forever!).

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

Does the T&G give her a carb boost or is it just her favorite flavor?
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

Great day for Maggie yesterday and she is really pushing towards that shave today!!! NICE!!!

Ann...you asked yesterday if the +2 on levemir is as important as it is on lantus. Not really for most lev cats. Generally, for lev cats, the +4 gives more info. However, as you know, Gracie never does anything like anyone else. We have to do a +2 for her because she nadirs from her previous shot AFTER her current shot. Sometimes we do a +1.5; but we have to watch her closely between her PS and +4 since that's when she will nadir from the shot before. Then she onsets from the current shot at about +7. Makes it interesting. :-D

Have a great day!
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

Look at Miss Maggie go! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: We've been doing the once under 40 for Tess as she also doesn't hold her reductions well. Slow going as she usually doesn't drop that low, but she is getting more consistent. Maggie is our ideal, always so nice and low.

On Lev we usually get a +3, mainly because that's when Tess gets her second breffis, if she is heading down though we need it because she can do a sudden drop.Tess is a little earlier than Gracie, onset about +5 and nadir +10 to +12.

The rain is heading south! :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

Hi guys .. these numbers for maggie are just looking puuurfect! I'm sure it must be nerve wracking to leave when she might drop .. but you know maggie, and you know she eats when she's low .. but keeping fingers crossed she just has a nice long surf while you are out .. have a great day!
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87 ATrak

Ann, it figures that Miss Maggie is going lower on you today just as you have to leave the house. Why does that always happen with our kitties?! All that green is looking very good. Now Miss Maggie, please do not go lower...eat your T&G like a good girl so you can surf safely.
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87; +9 121 AT

+9 121

Thanks everyone for keeping Maggie company. She did great with just a tablespoon of the FF T&G added to keep her surfing. I left food by her bed adnd also in the auto feeder. The jury is still out on the AF though!

Amy, yes, the FF T&G acts as a mc/hc for Maggie, as she's very carb sensitive. It's amazing how it brings her up.

Georgia, that does always seem to happen with us when leaving, kitty decided to drop! :lol:

Devon, the paws crossed worked as she did surf. Yes, it is a worry to be gone more than five hours when I know she has low numbers. My Rheumy takes a long time with each patient and then there's the b/w at the Lab. It was routine visit.

Ella, yes, little Maggie got her way with the FF T&G - you would think I'm starving her the way she hurriedly ate it, afraid I would take it away! :lol:

Thanks Marje for explaining the +2 on Lev and how it is with Gracie. I was curious as to the difference, but as you say, Gracie doesn't follow the pattern! :-D She is unique.

Ann & Tess, I think both our kitties need that one below 40 or 70 AT) as they have a history of not holding the dose. I did get caught in a couple downpours of rain while driving, but a nice drive home.
 
Re: 4/11 Maggie AMPS 120; +2 92; +3 80; +3.5 87; +9 121 AT

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Amy, yes, the FF T&G acts as a mc/hc for Maggie, as she's very carb sensitive. It's amazing how it brings her up.

It seems like Ruby spikes if she eats the Friskies Poultry Platter (7%). I managed to bring her up from quite the dip with it the other night. I haven't tried the FF T&G, though.
 
Nice day for Miss Maggie!

I know what you mean about "letting" them drop that low before reducies. Trix is kind of in the same boat...she just doesn't seem to hold reductions all that well, but I'm really nervous about seeing her below 40. This last time, I let her drop below 50 three times, then went with a full .25U reduction. Next time, I think I'll just shave...but Trix's dose is much higher than Maggie's. I know you'll figure out what will work best!

Have a great evening!!
 
Omigosh Ann, some of you beans just amaze me with your knowledge of your cats, and their dips and doodles :lol:
Maggie is looking just beautiful.....and her numbers are too. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top