4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54 +11~67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

I think Kushi is beginning to get tired of being stuck. cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

Good morning, Joe....Kushi's numbers are looking very nice! Are you home to get a +3?

I see a note on your SS about feeding at 7AM and then AMPS at 8AM, and the same thing for the PM cycle....are you feeding an hour before testing and shooting? If so, you want to change that....you want to test, feed and shoot all within a few minutes. If you are feeding an hour before PS, your PS tests are food influenced....you want a "clean" PS test. You should not feed within the 2 hours before shot time unless you need to bring her up from numbers under 50.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

Hi guys .. very sweet numbers today! I hope the green surf continues for you and kushi .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Good morning, Joe....Kushi's numbers are looking very nice! Are you home to get a +3?

I see a note on your SS about feeding at 7AM and then AMPS at 8AM, and the same thing for the PM cycle....are you feeding an hour before testing and shooting? If so, you want to change that....you want to test, feed and shoot all within a few minutes. If you are feeding an hour before PS, your PS tests are food influenced....you want a "clean" PS test. You should not feed within the 2 hours before shot time unless you need to bring her up from numbers under 50.

Thanks Laurie....you know I was wondering about that, so I will have to change her feeding time. How would affect on the shot time if I moved both AMPS & PMPS ahead one hour (7am & 7pm). Or would it be better to adjust her feeding times and not tinker with shooting times?
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

You can move the shot time by 15 minutes per shot, or 30 minutes once per day without it having a big effect on the shed. What I would suggest is while you are adjusting the shot time, feed her later (I know she'll complain, but she will live! :lol: )

So, tonight....test, feed and shoot at 7:45pm, then tomorrow morning test, feed and shoot at 7:30am, etc...

Or you could test, feed and shoot at 7:30pm tonight, and 7:30am tomorrow morning...then move to 7:00pm tomorrow night.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

Back to feeding.....Kushi is a grazer and we had her on dry, we had a feeder which allowed her to eat whenever she wanted. So when I switched her to wet (three weeks I really had no idea how much to feed. She is 13 pounds and not an active cat. She sleeps (alot)& eats. I just weighed her and she has gained .4 lbs. Since the feeding influences the BG numbers does that mean not to feed her anytime two hours before if I am testing periodically. I must admit I am a little confused.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58

This sure seems like a long slow drop,,,is this a good sign or have I influenced the numbers too much by feeding too much??
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72

Hey, Joe! I know it is confusing at first! The no foods rule only applies to 2 hours before the shot. It is okay to poke throughout the day, and indeed it is GOOD to know how food is influencing Kushi's cycle. It gives you a complete picture of how the insulin is working.

The reason we cut off food before the shot is that a bump in BG from food can wear off very quickly. If you are shooting a number that has been food-inflated, you could suddenly finding yourself in trouble if the food wears off and then suddenly the insulin kicks in. Having no food in the system lets you know that the number you're shooting hasn't been artificially inflated and will help you keep Kushi safe.

Beautiful numbers today!!

ETA: This cycle looks great, but I'd start testing every 30 minutes. Kushi will have earned a decrease with any number under 50, so at that point you can feed high carb food to help get her back up. Another option would be to feed a medium carb food now (10-12%) to slow things down a bit.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58

Actually, I'd hold off on the MC. I thought it was +3, not +4. I would still test every 30 minutes. Also, don't be suprised if Kushi bounces off this number and goes high tonight or tomorrow... it is to be expected.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58

Pretty numbers today! It is so confusing to figure out the feeding times and shot times - but you are doing great!
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58

Will it adversely affect the process if tonight I do PMPS @ 7 then shoot and feed and do her AMPS tomorrow at 7am so we get her shot schedule coordinated with her feeding schedule? And what about other small feedings during the day? I understand to cut her off two hours before shot time
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58

Beautiful numbers so far today!

Grazing isn't a bad thing. If you look at the Tight Regulation sticky, in the introduction it notes that you want to feed several small meals throughout the day. If Kushi is used to free feeding, there's no reason to not do this or adpt a method that will allow you to do this. Adding water to canned food will prevent it from getting too dry or crusty if you leave it out for a while. Likewise, a timed feeder will allow you to dole out food if you have a kitty who will eat everything in her bowl all at once (aka a "hoover"). Another method is to make "catsickles" -- add enough water to canned food to make it soupy and then freeze in ice cube trays. You can put out a few and they will gradually melt (unless you have a cat like Gabby who will lick the frozen cat food).

Like Laurie noted, you don't want to feed within 2 hours of your shot time. Depending on the cat, sometimes feeding during the latter half of the cycle can also be problematic. If you feed after nadir, the effect of Lantus is wearing off. There's less insulin to counter the effect of the food on BG levels. However, every cat is different in this regard. If you opt to free feed, I'd make a note on your SS so you can observe Kushi's numbers and decide whether having food available later in the cycle is having a less than desirable effect.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58

Beautiful numbers....did you feed MC before the +5?

It's fine to leave food out for her and let her graze, but if she is gaining weight, you might want to cut back on the amount of food you leave out for her, or try one of the options Sienne suggested. I'm not sure if anyone gave you the link to Dr. Lisa's site? There is a formula there to help you figure out how much she should be eating. www.catinfo.org

The only time you need to pick up the food is 2 hours before your PS tests....it's ok to feed her at other times, but I agree with Sienne with not feeding after nadir if it pushes up her PS numbers. The important thing about not feeding close to PS times is that you want to make sure her PS numbers are high enough to shoot safely, and that she isn't dropping. If you have food influencing those numbers, it will make it hard to tell. This becomes even more important with the nice low numbers Kushi is seeing.

No, you can't move her shot by an hour all at once....an early shot is like a dose increase....she doesn't need an increase with the numbers she is getting! You need to do the shot schedule change slowly....please use one of the options I posted before.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi AMPS 101 +1 93 +2 72 +4 58 +5 68

She is headed back up now...so I have to go stock up on test strips & food. :lol:

Joe & Kushi said:
Will it adversely affect the process if tonight I do PMPS @ 7 then shoot and feed and do her AMPS tomorrow at 7am so we get her shot schedule coordinated with her feeding schedule? time

So what about changing her AMPS & PMPS to 7 rather than keeping it @ 8?
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 HELP with Dose

I'm not sure where you are in this process -- did you shoot?

If not, I'd retest in 20 - 30 min. from your last test and then post. Let me know where you are timewise.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 HELP with Dose

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm not sure where you are in this process -- did you shoot?

If not, I'd retest in 20 - 30 min. from your last test and then post. Let me know where you are timewise.
I did shoot (about 20 min late) and "shaved her dose slightly. She had not bee fed for two hours prior. She did eat a very small amount after I shot. Tha's what I understood was correct. I shot at 8:20.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 HELP with Dose

Sienne and Gabby said:
Geez. I hope you didn't feed.

Also, bookmark or print out Libby's post on low pre-shots.

I did feed, but she ate very little. I have printed out Libby's post on low pre-shots.
I thought you were supposed to feed if her BG was low???
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 HELP with Dose

Nice shooting! Please get a +1 and a +2. You may need to test more often depending on what that +1 tells you.

For future reference, whenever you are stalling because of a low pre-shot, you don't want to feed. If you do, the next few tests may be influenced by the effect of the food on BG numbers. You may see a rise but it may only be the food not BG rising on its own.

It sounds like you were about 20 min. past shot time? If so, you can go back to your usual shot time in the AM without a problem. (I'm assuming that you're only 20 min. late.) You can move a shot a max of 30 min. a day without it having too big of an effect on the shed. You need to remember that an early shot is like a dose increase whereas a late shot is like a dose decrease.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 HELP with Dose

Sienne and Gabby said:
Nice shooting! Please get a +1 and a +2. You may need to test more often depending on what that +1 tells you.

For future reference, whenever you are stalling because of a low pre-shot, you don't want to feed. If you do, the next few tests may be influenced by the effect of the food on BG numbers. You may see a rise but it may only be the food not BG rising on its own.

It sounds like you were about 20 min. past shot time? If so, you can go back to your usual shot time in the AM without a problem. (I'm assuming that you're only 20 min. late.) You can move a shot a max of 30 min. a day without it having too big of an effect on the shed. You need to remember that an early shot is like a dose increase whereas a late shot is like a dose decrease.

Yes I was 20 mins late AND shaved the dose a bit. I am withholding food until next test @ 9pm....I mean 9:20
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

headed back up....Kushi wants to know if she can eat now?? confused_cat
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

Yes, Joe, you can feed her....the only time you don't want to feed is within the 2 hours right before the shot...after you shoot, it is fine to feed.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

O.K. and I will assume, I hope rightfully, I can go to bed since her BG is on the rise.... :lol:
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

And....you always want to feed the 40s or lower.

Congrats! Kushi earned a dose reduction!! Your new dose is 1.0u.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Yes, Joe, you can feed her....the only time you don't want to feed is within the 2 hours right before the shot...after you shoot, it is fine to feed.

Hmmm, under her circumstances I thought I understood that Sienne was saying NOT to feed until after +2, due to the fact that the food could influence the results. Am I completely missing something here?
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

I think you are misunderstanding....what Sienne meant is that when you are stalling (before you shoot) you should not feed...that goes along with not feeding before you shoot because it will influence her numbers. AFTER you shoot, you can feed as usual.

I wouldn't go to bed yet, I would get a +3 at least.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

Sorry if I confused you. You don't want to feed within 2 hours prior to shooting. You don't want your pre-shot number to be influenced by the effect of food. Likewise, if you're stalling, you don't want to feed. Once you shoot, you want to let your kitty eat.

The only exception is if the numbers are in the 40s or lower. If you test at pre-shot and get a low (i.e., below 50) number, you will want to give some food.
 
Re: 4/11 Kushi PMPS 71 +1 67 + 1.5~48 +2~54

O.K. 1.0u it is in the a.m. and "The Cat" is joyfully eating at this late hour and I am headed to dreamland . A good and peaceful night to you all! :smile:
 
Missed the suggestion to get a +3, so here is the +11(54)
Thanks for clearing up my confusion (misunderstanding) on the feeding issues; however I may have to be told again at some point....I'm not as sharp as I used to be. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top