4/11 Kismet +3.75 53, +4 50, +4.5 46,+5 56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Hi LL!

Getting a very, very late start here (going on 2am 4/12 here) because it has been a very busy, exhausting day. I had a major project due in class today, tried to get a lot of grading out of the way, and have been working on the three major papers I have due next week. I literally do not have enough time in the day to get everything done that needs to be done. By next Thursday, I need to have produced two 20 page term papers, another annotated bibliography *(if you don't know what this is, I hope you never have to find out UGH) a teaching portfolio, and have my grades in. @-) :shock: :o :evil:

I was just caught up doing some work and realized I hadn't checked Kiz... so glad I did! :shock: That 53 was a shocker. OMG, doesn't he know how busy I am?! I need to sleeep. I am no good if I am not rested and I cannot afford not to be well rested, but it looks like I will be up for awhile yet.

Sorry for the whining. But tonight, I feel extremely overwhelmed and like I am teetering on the verge of a nervous breakdown. I wish I could just sleep until the end of next week. UGH.

Anywho, I missed all of you today and am so sorry I couldn't visit condos. As soon as the semester ends, I will be around more and spreading good cheer around LL, instead of boring everyone with my grad school woes :lol:

Yesterday's Condo

Today's Recap:
AMPS 235; fed 1st breffi mini (1.1 oz)
+2--- fed 2nd mini meal (1.1 oz)
+3--- 157
+4--- 158; fed 3rd mini meal (1.1 oz)
PMPS 207 fed 1st dinner mini (1.1 oz)
+2--- fed 2nd mini meal (1.1 oz)
+3.75-53; fed 1 tsp LC
+4--- 50; fed 3rd mini meal (1.1 oz)
+4.5- 46 fed 1/2 tsp HC
+5--- 56
 
Re: 4/11 Kismet PMPS 207, +3.75 53

That's a pretty full featured condo for the PJ party. :mrgreen:

Chip is holding green at PMPS and surely has more plans for later? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/11 Kismet PMPS 207, +3.75 53, +4 50

Hi Dale! Always glad to see you at the PJ party... butwe need to stop meeting like this! Why, oh why, do our cats wait until the dead of night to do the lagoon limbo? ohmygod_smile Hope Chip surfs safely for you!
 
Re: 4/11 Kismet PMPS 207, +3.75 53, +4 50, +4.5 46 Dose Advi

Ok. I am so confounded by this cat. Skinny 0.5 is too much. He earned a reduction 6 cycles ago. I took him down to a fat 0.25 the morning of 4/9. That seemed to be too little; he hung around the yellows and upper blues, so I was worried I reduced prematurely. I compromised with 0.40 which I've shot for the last three cycles. He dives to the 40's tonight? @-) Maybe I increased him prematurely and didn't give him enough time to get over any NDW?

He ate his 3rd mini meal at +4. I was expecting him to be up 30 minutes later, but he's down to 46? I guess it's technically surfing, but grrrrrrr. He is normally very responsive to food. In fact, he normally comes up right away after eating LC, but not lately. Even when he hit the 40's-50's the night he earned the reducie, he surfed right past his nadir with lots and lots of LC fed. When I finally pulled out some serious HC, he only went up 10 pts. This guy normally goes up 15 pts or more just from eating LC, so I don't know wth is going on. Is his pancreas working? If yes, then why the bounces?

I hate that even when he has a low nadir, he is back in the yellows by shot time. This is so frustrating. The insulin just seems to be wearing off to quickly. I've been wondering because he has quick onsets with Lantus, if he would be a good candidate for Levemir? Something's got to give! I want this boy regulated and stable. I'm tired of this wonkiness. :sad:


What do I do? Do I stick with this 0.40, or take him back down to a fat 0.25 (which he earned a few days ago) and just wait it out to see how he does? My DH has suggested that we not shoot for a couple of cycles (give him a whole day off) and then start anew. I don't think this will accomplish anything except produce more dives and bounces. Ever since right before we started the new vial, this has been his new pattern. I thought he'd be more regulated by now, because he has always been a very consistent, stable, kind of guy. Suggestions are welcome, because I am out of ideas!
 
Re: 4/11 Kismet +3.75 53, +4 50, +4.5 46,+5 56 Dose Advice?

56 @ +5 after eating 1/2 tsp HC 30 minutes ago... hope he will start coming up now. It is 3:30am here and I have an early morning tomorrow. As soon as I get home from work, I am going to take as long of a nap as possible, because I won't be sleeping this weekend with the amount of work on my plate. At least I've been given the opportunity to chip away at it tonight :roll: :lol: :cry:

Not to sound ungrateful... I love these numbers. It's just that I would love them more if they appeared during the AM cycle.
 
WOW on last night! what a PJ party for you.

Kismet - you are one cool kitty - surf well for your bean today. Enjoy your day today Courtney - I hope it is a good one.
 
Hi Courtney. I know what you mean about having the low numbers during the AM cycle instead of the PM cycle. I can only imagine how tiring it must be for you while having all of the other mentally draining things you have going on. Hang in there. When you have that Graduate Degree sheepskin presented to you you'll feel that much prouder knowing what extra non-related accomplishments you achieved simultaneously.

Kismet, keep the good numbers coming. You look really good surfing the Lagoon but, if it wouldn't put to big of a crimp in your style, could you move all of the action to more reasonable hours. Your Mama Bean would greatly appreciate it.

Have a great day Courtney.
 
Good luck getting all of your stuff done. I hope Kismet will cooperate and give you nice, safe surfing. Good luck with the dose.
 
Hi Courtney,

First of all, take some time to breathe! You will be able to concentrate better!! Second, try to make sure you are giving Kismet enough time to settle into a dose when you make a change. If you are struggling to keep him from dropping, the dose is too high. Also, keep in mind that NDW occurs when you raise a dose and get even higher numbers than you were getting before (for a few days). The concept of NDW does not apply when you are decreasing the dose.

Being a graduate student, teaching, AND taking care of a feline diabetic is a tall order, but you can do it. Try to get enough sleep. Prioritize. Annotated bibliographies are a pain!! Write the papers first!

Have a good weekend and get some sleep!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top