4/11/12 Max amps 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone. Max is still the same. Hoping the fact that I raised the dose will help. Otherwise it's off the bet for more tests.
 
Dale --

I'd know it's tempting when numbers are high to skip getting a PM test. I really want to encourage you to get a before bed test every night. It may seem unlikely, but it is possible that Max is seeing lower numbers and then bouncing. (So I just wrote this and looked at the dates on you SS. Can you please update the SS if you want us to be able to provide input.)

If your schedule permits, I would also encourage you to not hold the dose overly long. I'm not sure why you dropped Max's dose from 1.75u to 1.5u. Clearly, the reduction hasn't held. The longer a cat sits in numbers that are far above normal BG ranges, the greater the possibility of glucose toxicity which will make it harder for you to get Max's numbers down.
 
Thank you, Sienne,

I didn't know about glucose toxicity. I wish I'd heard of that earlier. I'll look that up.

Oh, I dropped his dose because we were going out of town for 10 days, and the sitter was giving him the insulin. I didn't want a hypo, and yet I didn't want his to have high numbers either. No one on the board felt he/she could advise me. So, I just dropped it to a dose that was clearly marked on the syringe. When we got back I raised it to 1.75 again. Then, I raised it to 2.0 a couple of days ago.

Yes, we nearly always test him at night before his shot. He's almost always above 400.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top