4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +6 64, PMPS 242, doscrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=114004#p114004

Good Saturday Morning!
We woke up to 1 inch of snow and still snowing. Stu is dismayed! This morning we have to go to the vet for Stu's 3-year rabies booster. I'm hoping the vaccination won't raise his BG level, but I do expect a spike from the vet visit itself. So today's numbers might not be representative. Jill suggests thinking about going back up to 1.5 units because that 1.5-unit dose was not held long enough to be evaluated on its own (the shed was still at 1.75). I'd be interested to hear if others concur. I'm inclined to hold 1.25 at least through tomorrow because the vet visit today and it's attendant stress might skew the numbers.

Aside from the snow, Stu is fine this morning: good litterbox activity, good play with Big Bug, has eaten 2 installments thus far of his breakfast. At 4 A.M. (PMPS +9) the auto feeder opened and this morning the "snack" had been eaten, so I guess Mr. Cat has decided to accept "the Automat". I wonder if he put his nickel in?

Everyone have a great Caturday!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, dose question

it looks to me like the reduction from 1.5 to 1.25 didn't quite hold. He has some green, but not much and it's higher green. I think the 20's on that first shot of 1.5 were carried over from the 1.75 shed. I would bump back up to 1.5. Does Stu usually go lower or higher at the vet?
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, dose question

Morning to you....good luck at the vet's!! Be good Stu....(Raja usually goes much higher with vet stress)
Whatever Jill and Libby say is gospel for me.... Hope your day goes well!!! :mrgreen: (SNOW? :o that is just not right at all! )
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, dose question

You still have snow?? UGHH hope it melts soon and hope the vet trip dose not hurt Stu's numbers too much don't you hate taking a cat to the vet for a rabies shot I know I do I give all my other vaccines myself but still have to take them in if I want anyone to have this vaccine. Do Lou is sending Stu a HUG :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, dose question

Since you already shot this morning's dose, I suspect that raising the dose for the PM shot will not be influenced by vet stress. Usually the numbers come back to normal shortly after our kitties get back to their usual surroundings.

Snow? We're expecting "unseasonably warm" weather -- temps close to 70. I hope our weather comes your way.
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, dose question

Thanks, Libby. Stu usually has higher numbers at the vet, but today we are going earlier than usual, so I don't think the bg reading the vet gets will be typical. At the last vet visit (on Feb. 26) Stu's numbers remained elevated all day. But the next morning we did a dose increase (to 3.25) and I am uncertain how to interpret the numbers.
Thanks, Sienne. I conclude that you agree that we should go back up to 1.5 this evening. Send some of those higher temperatures and sunshine our way!!!
Lisa, Stu thanks you for your rabies-shot support! And Pat, thanks for your input and support, too. Stu will be happy to get home, I'm sure. Our appointment is at 10:30 (+3.5)

Ella
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, dose question

Good luck with the vet today Ella.
At least Stu is used to shots now right. He might wonder why you are not
giving it to him though. :lol: :lol:
I hope your snow does not come our way. I still do have my winter tires on
(its a law in Quebec until March 15) but I do know snow in April is always
possible. Hope it melts really soon so Stu can go digging for
his brown weeds. :-D

Good luck with the dosecrease later.
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +2 175 dose question

Sorry about the snow. You must be ready for Spring. I hope Stu's vet visit goes well and he gets back into better numbers.
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +2 175 dose question

Hi Ella, Hope your vet visit goes well. Check's bg raises for vet too, but comes back down pretty quickly Hope Stu does also.
I am south of you, and we got just a few flurries yesterday. I was nervous, 'cause I had just gotten my snow tires removed, and had to drive back and forth to animal hospital, because of civvie. It didn't snow much; Whew!

We have sun now, hope you get it too. :smile:
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +2 175 dose question

Hi again, We're back from the vet, who was thrilled with Stu's numbers and has begun to really get interested in FD. He was amazed at the fact that we have decreased Stu's dose by so much in a relatively short time. He was eager to see Stu's spreadsheet. He brought me a printout of a new American study, which confirms the findings of the Rand study. The vet tested Stu's blood glucose in the leg vein, and at +3.50 the reading on the Vet's cat-specific meter was 129. I expected it to be higher because of stress (my +2 reading was 175), but I decided not to test Stu again immediately on returning home, but to wait until +5.5 to give him time to get back to our normal routine. It will be interesting to see what Stu's numbers are today, especially since we are contemplating going back up to 1.5 units this evening.

Ella

P.S. to Barb: the sun is out and the snow is melting. I took off the winter tires last week, so of course I expected snow!
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +2 175 dose question

Wow Ella, what a nice number at the vet's. Guess Stu wasn't all that stressed about the visit? I'm glad it went well.
Isn't it nice that vet was impressed with your hard work? :smile:
I love when my vet compliments me on Check's progress.

So Ella, it's your fault that it snowed, 'cause you changed your tires last week. :lol:

edited 'cause I can't spell. :-D
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +2 175 dose question

Stu -

Glad to see you didn't hold out too long on that "automat" feeder. Dude, it's genius. It's like in the middle of the night and I suddenly smell food, open my eyes and voila there's a snack for me. Man, that's the life. Glad you got with the program.

Your pal,

Six

Ella -

Oh man, those late season snows stink. Glad to hear it's melting. Looks like Stu had a successful vet visit. I'm surprised his number isn't higher from stress! Exciting news about the American study!!!!

A
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +2 175, +6 64 dose question

Hi Stu & Ella-

Can't believe ya'll are getting snow! It's been in the 80's here already...though today mid-70's.
I love that your vet is so receptive and supportive of your efforts here. I wished we could find someone like that. Stu is doing so great!

Too funny, Randi about Stu getting his vaccine's today at the vet...
He might wonder why you are not giving it to him though.
:lol:

So they test in the leg vein?...hmmmmm. Sounds like overall a pretty easy trip for him & not overly stressful. Glad about that!

Who authored the new study you refer to? Wonder if we can find it online?

Happy day!

Betty
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +6 64, +9 156 dose question

Great visit to the vet, and good number there too. Snow?! It's 75 and sunny here; I'm wearing flip flops. I'll send some sunshine your way. Good luck with the dosecrease. :smile:
 
Re: 4/10 Stu AMPS 281, +6 64, +9 156 dose question

Hey Stu,
That snow this morning must have been awful. Do you eat those weeds too? I love to eat the grassy weeds, but my mom doesn't like me to puke them. What I really like is that crazy catnip. And it's all mine - I don't have to share with those other cats that live in the house. Do you have catnip? I bet I can get my mom to send you some (she'll do anything for me).

I hope that snow is gone so you can go outside.
Blackie
 
Evening Ella & Stu!! Some nive green today, & Snow :o :o :o =Oh No!!
Great vet visit & news--Tricky little contraption you gave Stu--Food dispenser!! KOOL :cool:
Hope the dose crease does well with Stu, I feel it will! Hugs from me & Moonie!
 
Hi again everyone,

Although Stu's bg at +6 was 64, I decided to take Jill's, Libby's, and Sienne's advice and do the dose increase (back up .25 to 1.50). We don't think he was entirely ready to go down to 1.25. It was a good experiment, but we never gave the 1.50 dose a chance to settle in (were only on it for two 12-hour cycles). So now will be the time! Stu had a good day. He impressed the vet. He got his rabies shot. He got his nails clipped. He now weighs 13 1/2 lbs. (down from 15 1/2 last fall) and looks like his old self again. His coat has improved immensely (no more dandruff). We've started to feed smaller meals more frequently. Last night he "accepted" the "Automat" (feeder) and will get a snack in it at PMPS +9 tonight.

The morning snow is gone and today was a beautiful, blue-skies, windy, and typical Adirondack spring day with highs in the upper 40s. All sorts of green things are beginning to come up in the garden and Stu ate green weeds (instead of brown) today. I cut down last fall's stalks of Catmint and Stu had a great time rolling in them and getting filthy.

Thanks Jill, Libby, and Sienne for the dosing advice, and thanks to everyone else who provided support for Stu today. See you all tomorrow.

Ella & Stu
 
Glad to hear the visit went smoothly. Always fun to impress the vet (especially when having the data to back it all up). :mrgreen:

If you have another visit, might I suggest testing right before you go and about 30 minutes after. I always thought Latte went high from the vet. When I started testing, I realized she actually drops 50-100pts afterwards! :shock: Ive had times where she is clawing and going crazy in her carrier on the way home, only to find her in the 60's when she was 175 before we left! Sounds like Stu *might* have a similar effect. Its good to know so you have everything you need with you, OR you schedule visits past nadir. Uhhhh...like scheduling during a bad rebound is good. :lol:

I hope the new dose works out. You are doing a fabulous job getting down and dirty with this. :mrgreen:

Thank you for checking up on Latte regularly. Your kind words and support really do make a difference.
((((((((((ella))))))))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top