4/10 Neko PMPS 556 +3 321, that's better

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday up and down http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68336

I was awake in the middle of the night last night and got a nadir test, what a waste of sleep +6 336.

She seems to be really riding a roller coaster these days. Starts and ends with red or pink and some blue in the middle. Not sure what happened last night but she was going down fast at 2.5. That is probably why I woke up at nadir. On the plus side, she does seem to be getting over bounces somewhat faster, and fingers crossed, no black so far.

Another highlight of the morning, I got my first free flow ketone test (negative). I put the ketones sticks downstairs in the laundry room and same as she did on Saturday, she used the litter box down there as soon as we came back from rowing. Finally, a pattern to the LB use that I can use. With only 2 pees a day and one usually before we get up, it's been hard to catch her in the act.

Sending healing thoughts to all the kitties and beans that need it today. The news about Curry was a rough way to start the day.
 
Re: 4/10 Neko AMPS 438

I put the ketones sticks downstairs in the laundry room and same as she did on Saturday, she used the litter box down there as soon as we came back from rowing.

:-D :-D :-D

funny-pictures-screaming-cat-has-floaties-water-boat.jpg
 
Re: 4/10 Neko AMPS 438 +1.5 420 +5 326

Hmm - I don't think Neko would respond too well to a ride on the rowing shell!

Looks like a quiet morning with not much action. Just as well as I was off the chemo appointment with my friend and her dog. I'm along as the chemo support group. The dog is doing great and remains in remission and his usual bouncy self. It was sad seeing another drooler there that also has lymphoma and after 2 months of treatment is not yet in remission. Prognosis not so good for that cutie, although the lumps were smaller than last week when I could see them from 20 feet away. The couple come over from Vancouver Island for treatment and that is a LONG full day trip. There is a second dog from the island who we also see in the mornings. It's like there is a group of us that meet on Tuesday mornings. The good news for us is we get four weeks off because treatment is now every 2 weeks and the next one is oral and can be done at home.

Neko has settled onto a fleece on my robe and is grooming away. I think I'll join her in a nap. Those 4:45 wake ups, after doing the 2:20 nadir test, are brutal. I didn't set the alarm for the nadir test - I just happened to wake up then so thought I'd do it.
 
Re: 4/10 Neko AMPS 438 +1.5 420 +5 326

hi wendy! what do you think about increasing neko's dose again? i think yesterday's string of blues showed you where this dose is going to take neko. the protocol calls for increasing every 6-10 consecutive cycles if the nadirs are over 100. you've had 8 cycles on this dose (i'm assuming you stayed with the same dose tonight, but it's not in the ss, maybe it's not shot time yet!)

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

what do you think about it?
 
Re: 4/10 Neko PMPS 556 - what the?

Hi Julie,

I was poking while you were typing. I just got a very discouraging number. I am wondering if there is anything else wrong with my cat. I keep reading responses to new people on the board where experienced people say that cats seldom need more than 2 units, and here we are heading close to 4. The speadsheet looks like this dose was worse than the last one. After NDW we seem to have one or two good cycles then all back to high stuff. Her lowest ever numbers (with the Relion meter) was back at 2.5 units.

I could increase, but I'd rather wait a day. She seems to get take a couple of days to get over NDW and I'd rather be home and able to test when the dose hits it's stride which would then be Saturday if she follows the plan.
 
Re: 4/10 Neko PMPS 556 - what the?

Wendy

I agree withnJulie that should raise her dose tomorrow. NDW usually only lasts one day...Neko has been on this dose for several cycles. We have the saying here that sometimes you have to go up to go down. I've seen many cats do what Neko is doing but you continue to increase by the protocol and then when they hit the right dose, they come down.
 
Re: 4/10 Neko PMPS 556 - what the?

If you look at Neko's spreadsheet, her NDW has lasted 2 days for her last two dose increases. I know she is a cat and hence unpredictable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top