Mary & Jude
Member Since 2024
Jude started on Lantus on 4/8. Yesterday, I had questions about ketones that Bron and Sheba answered, but they also suggested, based on Jude's numbers yesterday, and the fact that he dropped below 90 during the cycle, that we lower his next dose (which was this a.m.) from .50 to .25. Unfortunately, I did not get Bron and Sheba's message until after I shot Jude this a.m., so he receive .50. His numbers seem to be okay at this point; he went down to 86 at +3, but at +4 he is at 92. I will continue testing him hourly for the next few hours to make sure he stays on an upward curve. My question is this: There is no line on the U-100 syringe for .25 units--do I just eyeball this???
For reference, here is the message from Bron and Sheba:
"We recommend testing for ketones if your kitty is unregulated. Also if your kitty is unwell and not eating.
Ketones can form if there is not enough food and not enough insulin.
To test for ketones you need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy. Follow the directions on the bottle for testing.
I would test a couple of times a week if the tests are showing no ketones. If there are any ketones test daily and report them to us even if there is a trace and to the vet if more than a trace.
I can see you have swapped to Lantus. Have you decided on a dosing method yet. I see you got BG 84@+5 today. If you are following SLGS, that means a reduction in dose as the BG went under 90. So your new dose would be 0.25 units.
Here is the link to TR and SLGS dosing methods
I would also recommend you get at least one test in every pm cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
Keep asking questions and if you could let me know if you are following TR or SLGS dosing methods please, that would be helpful."
For reference, here is the message from Bron and Sheba:
"We recommend testing for ketones if your kitty is unregulated. Also if your kitty is unwell and not eating.
Ketones can form if there is not enough food and not enough insulin.
To test for ketones you need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy. Follow the directions on the bottle for testing.
I would test a couple of times a week if the tests are showing no ketones. If there are any ketones test daily and report them to us even if there is a trace and to the vet if more than a trace.
I can see you have swapped to Lantus. Have you decided on a dosing method yet. I see you got BG 84@+5 today. If you are following SLGS, that means a reduction in dose as the BG went under 90. So your new dose would be 0.25 units.
Here is the link to TR and SLGS dosing methods
I would also recommend you get at least one test in every pm cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
Keep asking questions and if you could let me know if you are following TR or SLGS dosing methods please, that would be helpful."