4/10 Jude AMPS 136 questions about reduction in dose

Mary & Jude

Member Since 2024
Jude started on Lantus on 4/8. Yesterday, I had questions about ketones that Bron and Sheba answered, but they also suggested, based on Jude's numbers yesterday, and the fact that he dropped below 90 during the cycle, that we lower his next dose (which was this a.m.) from .50 to .25. Unfortunately, I did not get Bron and Sheba's message until after I shot Jude this a.m., so he receive .50. His numbers seem to be okay at this point; he went down to 86 at +3, but at +4 he is at 92. I will continue testing him hourly for the next few hours to make sure he stays on an upward curve. My question is this: There is no line on the U-100 syringe for .25 units--do I just eyeball this???

For reference, here is the message from Bron and Sheba:
"We recommend testing for ketones if your kitty is unregulated. Also if your kitty is unwell and not eating.
Ketones can form if there is not enough food and not enough insulin.
To test for ketones you need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy. Follow the directions on the bottle for testing.
I would test a couple of times a week if the tests are showing no ketones. If there are any ketones test daily and report them to us even if there is a trace and to the vet if more than a trace.
I can see you have swapped to Lantus. Have you decided on a dosing method yet. I see you got BG 84@+5 today. If you are following SLGS, that means a reduction in dose as the BG went under 90. So your new dose would be 0.25 units.
Here is the link to TR and SLGS dosing methods
I would also recommend you get at least one test in every pm cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
Keep asking questions and if you could let me know if you are following TR or SLGS dosing methods please, that would be helpful."
 
If you can stick around and test, Jude should be ok :) do you have some higher carb food on hand, just in case?

There is no 0.25 mark - you have to eyeball it. You can use the plunger as a guide. It's lower edge should be aligned with the 0.5 unit mark. Have a look at the pics in this sticky: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

I believe what is more important than shooting precisely 0.25U is that you stay consistent with your dose even if positioning the plunger in between the marks could be in fact a little less/more than 0.25. Just wait till you start shooting drop dose! :D
 
If you can stick around and test, Jude should be ok :) do you have some higher carb food on hand, just in case?

There is no 0.25 mark - you have to eyeball it. You can use the plunger as a guide. It's lower edge should be aligned with the 0.5 unit mark. Have a look at the pics in this sticky: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

I believe what is more important than shooting precisely 0.25U is that you stay consistent with your dose even if positioning the plunger in between the marks could be in fact a little less/more than 0.25. Just wait till you start shooting drop dose! :D
Thank you for the response, and yes, I have a hypo kit with syrup and moderately high carb and high carb foods.
This is super helpful: "It's lower edge should be aligned with the 0.5 unit mark."
Drop dosing?
 
The drop dose is actually easy. You hold the plunger in all the way and insert in the vial or pen. Then release the plunger and it will draw up a drop. When you inject you hold the plunger in and try to count to 10 if possible ie if Jade lets you.
 
Thank you for the response, and yes, I have a hypo kit with syrup and moderately high carb and high carb foods.
This is super helpful: "It's lower edge should be aligned with the 0.5 unit mark."
Drop dosing?

Ugh, this is true for 0.1U, sorry! For 0.25U it should be a tad lower, almost in the middle. Check the pics, its shown nicely there :) But either way, I find the plunger very useful as a guide for keeping the dose consistent.
 
I have another dosing question: I've noticed that when I take the push cap off the syringe and push it, the syringe goes down a little bit. Since we're talking about small doses, should I go ahead and push the plunger down or leave it where it is when the cap comes off? I hope this makes sense.
 
I have another dosing question: I've noticed that when I take the push cap off the syringe and push it, the syringe goes down a little bit. Since we're talking about small doses, should I go ahead and push the plunger down or leave it where it is when the cap comes off? I hope this makes sense.

You don’t need to hold it in. But do prime it first to spread the lubricant before you draw up the insulin.
 
Back
Top