4/10 Jenks AMPS 62 +3 64 +5 79 PMPS 118 +7 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
3/31

We've been lucky with calm waters and smooth sailing for a long time now, but are currently in the midst of some turbulence with Mr. Jenks.

When last we saw him, he had just visited the vet after a couple nights of vomiting and diarrhea. The vet prescribed a 5-day course of metronizadole, which he tolerated surprisingly well considering how unpalatable it is. He suffered some side effects though, specifically lethargy and decreased appetite, which was a problem because he was already experiencing a decreased appetite as a result of the vomiting and diarrhea. His desire to eat ebbed and flowed. Some meals he tore after hungrily. Others he pushed away. His inconsistent eating resulted in some trips too far out into the lagoon, which required us to make several dose reductions over the past 10 days or so.

We thought we'd be out of the woods once we stopped the metronizadole, but the inappetance persists and I'm starting to get a little worried. Some times, he outright refuses food. Rarely, he eats like we're used to. And most times, he's just peckish. He seems alert and in good spirits. He's purry. He moves around the house and isn't hiding. But you can just tell that he's not feeling himself. He perks up and will eat dry treats and gravy, but lately he's very "eh" about the wet food.

I discovered that the vet sells FortiFlora, so I picked up a box yesterday to try to stimulate his appetite. I wish I knew this at the outset of the metronizadole because it would've been preferable to put him on a probiotic supplement during the course of antibiotics. He got his first taste of the FortiFlora with his meal last night and hungrily ate his portion, often taking big bites of it. That was encouraging. Unfortunately, the same thing didn't happen this morning. Was it because the flavor of the food was different? Was it because he got a taste of the FortiFlora and is now over it? Who knows.

He did eat a little. I used the rest of the food (and by rest I mean what was leftover after the civvies got done destroying the part with the FortiFlora mixed in....why am I surprised it appeals to every cat except the one for whom it's intended? :facepalm:) to experiment with some frequently recommended appetite stimulants on here. Oregano was a no go. But parmesean cheese, however, appeared to be even more appealing to him than the FortiFlora was. He ate that food eagerly, which means I'll keep the cheese in reserve as an option for when we need it.

The plan is to nurse him along for a couple more days on a natural appetite stimulant to see if his appetite comes back normally before considering a return trip to the vet for a pharmaceutical solution. I guess something like Ondansetron would be in order, right? [EDIT: no, this is wrong]

In the meantime we're monitoring his numbers closely. If I weren't constantly on edge about his eating, I'd be astonished at his performance at these rapidly reducing doses. We're down a whole unit in the past 10 days and that's crazy. I'm just so worried we're reducing too fast, but I'm just following the numbers and trying to keep him safe until his appetite returns. We haven't been this low since 2014 and he's still having the best numbers of his life.

I finally caught him in the litterbox this morning. Normal pee. The poop was normal colored, but on the soft side which tells me there might still be some GI distress. But at least we know he's not constipated, blocked, or not getting enough food to even form a bowel movement.
 
Last edited:
I hope you can get Jenks eating consistently again. I wouldn't worry about reducing too fast. You need to keep him safe. Sending prayers.
 
Sorry Jenks appy has been off:(. It sounds like you’ve got a good plan though. Give it a little more time then a return trip to the vet.
Have you tried a few different wet foods? Beenie and Ming ate the same wet food, same flavor for years. My new guy Buddy has ever changing taste budso_O. Drives me crazy!
Vines this all blows over and Jenks gets back to his ‘ol self:cat:

ETA-should’ve looked at his SS first! Congrats on the reducies! :D
 
Asia had some bad GI reactions to antibiotics in the past, including metronizadole. I tried fortiflora back then too, she refused to eat it. This last go round of antibiotics, I used human probiotics in her food, no discernible taste (I tasted it myself) and what a huge difference it made, no side effects at all as far as I could tell.

Ondansetron and Cerenia are for nausea, they are not appetite stimulants but antiemetics. Most of the time when a cat won’t eat it is due to nausea, so that’s a good place to start. Asia was on Cerenia (injections) daily for some time becuase she was having a lot of issues, I eventually cut it back to every 2-3 days, but she would still get acid tummy and barf if she went without it too long. I finally ordered some slippery elm bark, aka SEB. Magical! No more Cerenia and no more vomiting. It is also supposed to help with diarrhea and constipation too, can’t speak to that from experience, but it’s quite safe to try. I would highly suggest giving it a go, if you think you can get Jenks to eat it...that would be the tricky part. It smells funky enough that I couldn’t bring myself to taste it, however, I mix it in Asia’s food and for whatever reason, it goes unnoticed. I think you can oral syringe it in their mouth as well if they won’t eat it. Attached a photo of what I got with info on it if you are interested.

Parm was a big hit with civvie Toki as well. She will do just about anything for Parmesan cheese! Glad you found a good enticement for Jenks. Asia remains in the “Silly hooman, I don’t care for any of those enticements, I’ll eat what I want to eat, when I want to eat it” club. :rolleyes:

My eyes popped out of my head at that 3.75 dose! I can’t believe what I’m seeing! :woot: Maybe it’s the tummy troubles, but you never know, he’s been on a steady dose decline this entire year so far, so it wouldn’t exactly be out of place either. ;) Hope he’s back in fighting shape really soon. :bighug: Feel better, Jenks, and keep being your adorable and green self! :D

D704EE46-16AF-4901-A0CE-2AF2E6344696.jpeg
 
Jenks didn't want to eat at the +3 feeding. Dinner fud was hit and miss. He's enticed by the FortiFlora, but ended up just nibbling a bit before getting up and walking off. He didn't even stick around long enough to try the parm. It didn't help that his brother kept trying to nudge Jenks out of the way to try to eat his portion either.

The response to FortiFlora thus far has not been encouraging, but so far it's better than nothing.

We buy all of the food from the same store, so there's part of me wondering if something might be 'off' with it and he's detecting that. None of the other cats seem to mind, but it may be worth trying some cans from a different source. In the short term, I may also try giving him a different brand entirely, like Fancy Feast just to see what his response is.

Anyway, his numbers are pretty much par for the course tonight. I'm a little surprised by the rise into PMPS considering he didn't eat anything all day, but it is what it is. We're also in that brief window where he acclimates to a new dose before showing us what he can really do, so I'd expect tomorrow to be a more accurate reflection of the numbers he can generate at this dose. Fingers crossed!

@Stacy & Asia - I know you're currently in the midst of your own struggles with sweet Asia, so I really appreciate you taking the time to lend your experience here tonight. He likes the taste and smell of the FortiFlora, so I don't think we need to switch to a taste-free or scent-free human probiotic. But just in case we do, what probiotic did you use that gave such a positive result? Also, you're the latest to mention slippery elm bark, which encouraged me to do some digging for a local source. It looks like there's an organic herb shop right down the street that offers a powdered version. I'll follow up on that tomorrow.

Is all SEB pretty much created equal so I can just buy it where I find it, or is there something particular to be on the lookout for?

Also, thanks for correcting me on the medication names/uses. I've scratched that section of my post so nobody reading along gets confused.
 
Thanks for the kind words, Asia is the little engine that could, hopefully she will get over this hump and on to the next one. ;)

Marje recommended the probiotic to me, they are not all created equal, her vet did nutrition response testing on a bunch of probiotics and this one was a 10/10. I use the 15 billion cfu version as a daily, but got the 50 billion for when on antibiotics.

For SEB, I really don’t know. I would think they all would work the same, but like anything else, you can get really detailed and picky, mine says it’s organic, I’m sure some are sourced from countries people would find questionable, or harvested in a way that is preferred or not. I don’t have time to go deep in to everything...and I do a lot of research! So when in doubt (or pressed for time), I’ve just looked at what brands other people use and copy that. Especially if I know that person does their homework. I believe they are all powders and you make a gloppy goop with it by adding water.

When I first got here I couldn’t believe all the supplements and things people gave their cats, but you know, diabetes is a vicious disease process and our tricky FD kitties need a lot more support than typical healthy cats. It’s nice that there are things like SEB that actually work and we can be a little more proactive and a little less reactive.
 
We're down just a smidge overnight, but the good news is that Jenks was out in the kitchen waiting for me and making noise for some food. Exhibiting hunger is a good sign. I selected a flavor they haven't had in a long time, Salmon Dinner, and offered it without enhancement to start. He went after it! He had a great appetite! Once the other cats finished eating and stopped crowding the plate, I gathered up some leftover food, sprinkled it with the FortiFlora, and Jenks came back to the plate and ate some more! Hooray! I can't say whether it was the new flavor or perhaps a better settled tummy that gave him a renewed appetite tonight, but whatever was responsible, it sure was nice to see him eat like he's used to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top