4/10 Buzz PMPS: 228, +3.5: 210, +5: 228 Dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11512
One hour after getting that 184, she shot up to 257. TBH, I am very frustrated and disheartened. I know there are so many more people here in much more dire straits than I am, and having so many more problems with their furbabies than I am. Although that does make me step back and be grateful for what I do have, it doesn't help so much when I'm staring at a high yellow number at peak nearly every cycle. I'm afraid that maybe her infection is back. The f0.5u was doing okay for her until it wasn't. Every time I think I have a little bit of money saved up to pay property taxes or some other bill, I have to use it at the vet (something I know you guys know all about). I'm about at my wits' end and wondering why in the world I thought it was a good idea to have 4 pets.

I really don't know if I should just increase her dose or take her back to the vet. Would increasing the dose just cover up the problem (i.e. an infection) temporarily? The vet didn't send out the urine, so maybe they weren't the right type of ABs. Of course if I take her back, I will get the vet to send out the urine. I wish she would have done that the first time, but I didn't know and didn't ask so it's my fault as well.

Thank you for listening and for any advice. I will try not to be such a downer next time.

WCR: Buzz seems to be feeling fine as usual. Appetite is normal, other Ps seem to be in place.
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

(((Sarah & Buzz))) I understand & feel your frusturation -- I have no advice, but I do have support & enouragement for the two of you. Good news is she is acting fine & the Ps are in place, sometimes we have to focus on the positives in the scheme of what feels like negatives :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

((Sarah))

Sorry things are so frustrating right now.

If you decide to go back to the vet, could you ask they not charge you for the office visit and only for drawing a sample and sending it to the lab since they should have done it the first time anyway. Think your vet would go for that?

But maybe it's not an infection and other experienced eyes will have some more help for you in a bit.
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

How about nudging the dose up a drop? If it is an infection then the dose will lower when it is gone but for now a nudge up looks like a good idea to me.
(((((((((((((((((Sarah)))))))))))))))) Your in good company here.
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

Thank you for the kind words, you guys. They really do help. :smile:

Amy, I don't know if the vet would go for that or not, but it sure doesn't hurt to ask. She already thinks I'm a pain in the rear end anyway, so this certainly isn't going to harm my reputation. :lol:

D, I am totally on board with upping the dose (my only real question is what to raise it to; I'm guessing 0.75). My only worry is that if that increase does bring the #s down, how will I know if it was simply that an increase was needed, or if there's an infection that the increase has now covered up? It's sort of looking like the only answer is a trip to the vet, huh? :cry: I know, that's always the answer. :lol:

I will increase at tonight's shot and see where that takes us. Thanks for the input. I'm going to leave the subject line for now and see if anyone else has any ideas.
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

I would do the increase. I'm more aggressive than D (and I don't like pink) so I would probably bump by a whole 0.25, to a fat 0.75, but that's just me and you can do what you like. :mrgreen: Of course if you do the 0.25 bump you'll need to monitor because she did get a 61 on this dose, but I feel like she has room if you want to go that route. You're good about testing.

Do you have any other reasons to suspect an infection? Too much or too little urine, going outside the box, pain? How is she eating, and how is she acting?
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

(((((Sarah))))) I'm so sorry. It is so frustrating to not know if Buzz is really sick or she just needs a bump. And just because you're better off than some here, doesn't mean that you don't deserve help. Or the kind words that others offer. My experience with Blackie's UTI's is that his numbers stayed high until the infection was gone. Even when we increased the dose. With Blackie's UTI's (and this was on PZI not L) he needed continued dose increases not just one. So that might be a clue. So if you increase the dose and Buzz gets better numbers, she might not have an infection.

Sending healing energies to Buzz and peace and comfort to you.
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

Hi Buzz! I'm hoping you get your numbers under control real soon. That numbers game is tricky. Let's play to win!

Stu
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

Libby: I have no other reason than my own paranoia to suspect an infection. Although my paranoia served me well this past time, because there were no other signs then either, and she did end up having an infection. Sooooo..... :o Her appetite is great, as always (she has never refused a meal in her life, other than our brief but tragic experiment with Cowboy Cookout), and she doesn't go outside the box. I haven't noticed any large pee clumps in the box. I will definitely go up to a f0.75. Her numbers have been making me so crazy that I briefly considered going to a s1.0 but then I remembered her 61 and thought better of it.

Ele: Thank you for your support and for your experience with Blackie's #s with infection. I remember, of course, his near-constant dosecreases but had forgotten about them in relation to this situation, so thanks for reminding me. :) It almost seems like Buzz settles into this low pink AM and PMPS/mid yellow nadir pattern no matter what. They're all a mystery, aren't they?

Stu-
Yes, let's play to win. Second place is the first place loser. As you can see from my photo at right, I have my game face on. You can fool the competition with your good looks and I will go for the jugular. I think we'll make a good team.

Buzz
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

in some ways I think I'm lucky that Lucy always pees on my laundry when she has a UTI. I hate it for the laundry, but at least she lets me know when she needs to go to the vet.
 
Re: 4/10 Buzz AMPS: 316, +5: 286/What to do?

That is a handy signal. Plus, at least it's your laundry and not your bed! Or in your shoe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top