4/10 Brutus + 6:45~ 69 +7:30~50

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve and brutus

Active Member
+ 6 69 I am guessing the previous few days high numbers are rebound numbers from the 60.This 69 looks good , mabe 1.5 fat will keep dropping him farther yet this cycle-I will keep testing to see.

WOW This is a low one for him just barely did 1.5 fat -i will keep testing.Glad i am home
 
Re: 4/10 Brutus + 6:45~ 48 fed high carb

nice breakthrough. :smile: You're probably right that he has been bouncing for a few days, and now it has cleared.

Test again in 30 minutes, ok?
 
Re: 4/10 Brutus + 6:45~ 48 fed high carb

+ 7:15~ 52 coming up a little but probably because of food.Will keep testin every 15 min or so. That means probably should not shoot the 1.5 fat tonight if its taking him this low.I think its going to be a long night after pmps test.
 
Re: 4/10 Brutus + 6:45~ 48 fed high carb

Since Brutus isn't a new diabetic cat, dose reductions are not earned unless numbers dip below 40. Would you be OK with shooting the 1.5u and closely monitoring to see if he earns the decrease? Libby may have some thoughts on this, as well.
 
Re: 4/10 Brutus + 6:45~ 48 fed high carb

+7:45 ~58 .My thought here was that had i not fed at 48 he might have went to 40.I guess i could have let him go lower, but i didnt want to take the chance.I think i will shoot at regular pmps a reduced dose unless he really shoots up by then.So the question is if I reduce should it be back to 1.5 or even a little less.does the fact that he was only on insulin for less than 6 weeks the first time around have any bearing on pancreas recovery? I am off to get more test strips for tonight, i will check back in :30 minutes.

Thanks for your input
 
most people find that they have to work harder to get their cat OTJ a second time. I forget, did you ever find out what made Brutus need to go back on the juice?

Personally, I would hold the fat 1.5 a little longer to try to let him get used to green. I know you probably have to go back to work on Monday and would most likely prefer to reduce by then. What if you held the f1.5 for tonight and maybe tomorrow (depending on numbers), and then reduce for work on Monday? I wouldn't go any lower than 1.5, that dose wasn't getting any action yesterday so if you're going to reduce, I would ease him down just by the drop you increased by today. Make sense?
 
Hey libby and lucy,

We know he broke into a dry food bag left out by mistake and had his fill.The vet also dx a UTI , are these related events?I am going to do my best to make myself give the 1.5 at pmps , we still have 3.5 hours so any thing could happen.After feeding a little he is 66.If he is not over 100 is where i get nervous.We are already off schedule ,3 hours behind and i would like to start backing up :15 minutes each shot.Should I not do this untill we sort out the next few days?
 
you want to move his shot 3 hours earlier, is that correct?

We can make some big moves when he's running high, by shooting up to an hour early. Obviously not when he's running low, though. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top