4/10 amps 525 been in 5-600's a long time!

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
Alpha track flipped out for a few days - couldnt figure it out - didnt know if it was the cat or meter or sticks but readings were going from 500-600-300. Am now on human meter and we are still amps and pmps in 500's. Nadirs in 200-300. So we are going up on dose and going up on glucose reading. Otto appears to have had problems due to a nasal infection (pollen?) and got antiobiotic shot 3 days ago. So, I increased dose to 5.25 yesterday.
He is not dehydrated (thanks to homemade chick broth), poops, pees and is generally starving as always.
 
Which meter did you get? Are you checking for ketones daily? I have no experience with ketones but know that infection and high numbers can lead to them. Was a culture done to determine the best antibiotic for the infection? Human meters do read lower than the Alpha by 30-40% so things might not have changed much yet. I hope Otto starts to come down soon.
 
Still no ketones. Got the accucheck and love it. so much less blood than the alpha trak and you can see the blood go in the stick. She didnt do a culture but could hear the roaring in his nose. It was a 2 week shot.
 
Chances are the shot was Convenia. It's not an antibiotic we recommend because it lasts 2 weeks. In other words, if your cat has an allergic reaction, it's not going to wear off for more than 2 weeks. In addition, the only indication that Convenia carries is for skin infections. It is not an appropriate antibiotic if Otto has an upper respiratory infection. Also, I'm curious re. if your bet thinks this is a pollen allergy, why an antibiotic war prescribed. You don't need an antibiotic for allergies. If Otto has allergies, there are other choices (e.g., Zyrtec). If he's breathing noisily or there's a nasal discharge, try running the shower very hot, getting the bathroom steamy, and leaving Otto in there for a while. The steam may help to break things up. If you're not seeing any change in another day or two, call the vet. If there's an infection, you should be seeing some changes by then.

I suspect that the high numbers are due to Otto bouncing off of the yellows. Hang in there. The bounce will clear and then you can better evaluate the dose.

 
If there's a discharge it can be cultured if he doesn't improve. More and more vets are using convenia. Max has been given it twice. I was scared after reading about it but he was fine and my vet said he has never had a bad reaction to it. Not my first choice but I did allow it after Max had three extractions.
 
thank you for getting a human glucometer. it makes it much easier for those of us helping you not to have to try to figure out the translation between the two kinds of meters.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top