4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3/115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
As decided yesterday, Merlin is going to "reset" and start with lower dosage due to being too low at nadir.

AMPS - 475; gave him 1U
+3 at 115

I was planning on testing him at +5 but probably should at +4 since 115 seems to me a bit low only 3 hours after AM shot. Agree?
 
I'd have to agree.

Do you have a hypo kit? High carb food, in case of an emergency? if not, you really need to get that, never know when it could be needed.
 
Yep, that 113 at +3 is a HUGE drop. You might even want to test on the half hour if he's dropping that quickly. You may also want to feed a SMALL (1-2 tsp.) of medium carb food to see if you can slow him down a bit.
 
Yes I have my emergency hypo kit - I have had to use it several times in the past. Looks like we may be going down that path again. Will be checking BG in 20 minutes again and will post. Keeping fingers crossed... Thanks.
 
When you're not busy with Merlin's numbers just wanted to pass this along as well....on his profile (good job!), it looks like you're feeding the Merrick's in addition to the FF. As I understand it, they did a formula change not so long ago, so the carb counts from Dr. Lisa's list: http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf may not be up to date. I've seen a couple threads here if you do a search with the carb counts for a couple of the new formulations. Binky's list is a great reference point, but is not as updated as Dr. Lisa's list.
 
Re: 4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3/115; +4/103

Recap:
AMPS - 475; gave 1U
+3 - BG 115
+4 - BG 103 (gave 1tsp of med carb food 20 minutes before +4 test

I gave him a tsp. of Earthborn canned food about 20 minutes prior to +4 BG test, which I believe is medium carb food.
 
Ok, good job. I'd keep testing every half hour or so to ensure that he's not continuing to plummet.
 
Wow! Glad you reduced, and looks like he may need another reduction. Our general rule is that you hope for a move up around +6. If he continues to drop, continue the small MC (or HC drops to 50 or below) feedings and testing, until you get 3 rising tests in a row.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
continue the small MC (or HC drops to 50 or below) feedings and testing, until you get 3 rising tests in a row.

These readings are still on the Alphatrack, right? I think 80 is the cut off? Please correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Re: 4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3/115; +4/103;+4.5/96

Taking BG every 30 minutes now. +4.5 is 96. Fed Merlin 1 tsp of Earthborn 10 minutes prior to BG test. Will take another one in 30 minutes. Will feed 10 minutes prior to next test and add crushed up dry food for a little high carb or should I add a little honey?
 
Re: 4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3/115; +4/103;+4.5/96

Yes still on Alpha Trak2 and probably will since I just resupplied with test strips. I don't know why my "subject" line is not updating with all my updates.
 
I'd bump it up to 1 tsp. of HC wet, if you have it on hand. Don't add dry -- it doesn't kick in fast enough. If you don't have HC on hand, another tsp of the MC I'd say. You could add a drop of honey now (don't want to overdo it), or see what the next test says.
 
Agree.

Yes, sorry I did forget the AlphaTrak. 80 is the cut off. If you have any HC with gravy, sometimes just a teaspoon or so of the gravy will help bring him up. If not, Jen's honey with MC is good.

Sorry you are having to deal with this again. The low carb food is making a big difference in his numbers! A great thing, but a little stressful for you. :mrgreen:

I have to leave for a couple hours. Hope Jen can be around, but if not, and the drop continues, post on Health for help.
 
4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3 115; +4 103;+4.5 96; +5 128

Recap:
AMPS 475 - 1U
+3 - 115
+4 -103 (Gave 1 tsp of MC food 20 minutes befr BG test at +4)
+4.5 - 96 (Gave 1tsp of MC food 10 minutes before BG test at +4.5)
+5 - 128 (Gave 1tsp of MC food with a smidge of honey and water mixed 15 minutes before BG test at +5)

Will check BG numbers again in 30 minutes. I am assuming that I shouldn't have to give him anything to eat this time?

On a funnier note, while feeding Merlin his MC food (in another room), I left the open container on the kitchen counter and my other cat, Kita got up there and ate all the gravy. I sent my husband to go out and get some more MC/HC food. :)
 
Re: 4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3 115; +4 103;+4.5 96; +5 128

Desertdog271 said:
Recap:
AMPS 475 - 1U
+3 - 115
+4 -103 (Gave 1 tsp of MC food 20 minutes befr BG test at +4)
+4.5 - 96 (Gave 1tsp of MC food 10 minutes before BG test at +4.5)
+5 - 128 (Gave 1tsp of MC food with a smidge of honey and water mixed 15 minutes before BG test at +5)

Will check BG numbers again in 30 minutes. I am assuming that I shouldn't have to give him anything to eat this time?

On a funnier note, while feeding Merlin his MC food (in another room), I left the open container on the kitchen counter and my other cat, Kita got up there and ate all the gravy. I sent my husband to go out and get some more MC/HC food. :)

You are doing a great job! The 128 may very well be the honey kicking in. It kicks in fast, but it also wears off fast. I would hold off on feeding for now and see if he can keep himself up. I like to go at least an hour (sometimes more with Eddie) without food influence to ensure that the rise is no longer due to the food.

My foster kitty Blueberry did that exact same thing to me the other night! I left a bowl of MC on the counter, and while I was doing something else, he slurped up about half of a 6 oz. can! It's always fun trying to herd civilians while you're dealing with your sugar kitty's low numbers. :-D
 
4/1 Merlin AMPS 475; +3 115; +4 103;+4.5 96; +5 128; +5.5 15

Recap:
AMPS 475 - 1U
+3 - 115
+4 -103 (Gave 1 tsp of MC food 20 minutes befr BG test at +4)
+4.5 - 96 (Gave 1tsp of MC food 10 minutes before BG test at +4.5)
+5 - 128 (Gave 1tsp of MC food with a smidge of honey and water mixed 15 minutes before BG test at +5)
+5.5 - 159 (No food this interval)

Looks like he is on the rise. he is getting a little mad right now. Do you think it will be alright to test him at +7 and if that is good, then test him at PMPS? It may be too early to discuss this but what do you think my next dose should be? .5?
 
I would recommend one more half hour or hour test to ensure that he continues to rise (general rule of thumb is three rising numbers when you're watching lows). Then you can probably back off on testing a bit. I am thinking 0.5 tonight, but hopefully some others will chime in. You could also try out your u100's and try a 0.6. :-D
 
Ok will do. I will continue to post my numbers today. If I get one more rising number then I am off to Walmart to confirm those syringes so I can shoot with a U100 for a possible .6 tonight. Thank you soooooo much for helping us out today. Talk to you later.
 
You did a fantastic job!

Merlin may bounce from that fast drop, so don't panic if there's a high number at PMPS again. :smile:
 
Thanks for the PMPS warning. Well I just got a 198. So next time is PMPS which is 7pm my time. I will post. I realize I am on Pacific Coast time, so if I don't hear from you, I will go with .6 at PMPS and .6 tomorrow morning. I will also post tomorrow's numbers too.

Recap:
AMPS 475 - 1U
+3 - 115
+4 -103 (Gave 1 tsp of MC food 20 minutes befr BG test at +4)
+4.5 - 96 (Gave 1tsp of MC food 10 minutes before BG test at +4.5)
+5 - 128 (Gave 1tsp of MC food with a smidge of honey and water mixed 15 minutes before BG test at +5)
+5.5 - 159 (No food this interval)
+6 - 198 (No food this interval)

Thanks again for everything.
 
Good job today! I like .6 also, and agree with Jen that he may bounce up for pmps. I'd still be cautious and do the lower dose. A few cycles should tell you how it is working.
 
You did a great job today! Like everyone said, don't be surprised if he bounces tonight or tomorrow or both. Keep us posted.
 
Well it has been a long day. His PMPS was 392! Actually, I am very happy with that. It will be interesting to see what his AMPS will be tomorrow. Anyway, thank you all for your encouragement. I will post numbers again tomorrow. I will shoot .6 again tomorrow am. If the AMPS is weird, I will get online to share but otherwise a .6U. I am thinking that I will start out with BG testing at +3 (if not too low), +6 and then +9 unless you have any other suggestions. Thanks again.

Recap for 4/1/2014 (reset):
AlphaTrak2
AMPS 475 - 1U
+3 - 115
+4 -103 (Gave 1 tsp of MC food 20 minutes befr BG test at +4)
+4.5 - 96 (Gave 1tsp of MC food 10 minutes before BG test at +4.5)
+5 - 128 (Gave 1tsp of MC food with a smidge of honey and water mixed 15 minutes before BG test at +5)
+5.5 - 159 (No food this interval)
+6 - 198 (No food this interval)
PMPS 392 - .6U (I confirmed with a pharmacist that my other syringes were 100U. He showed me where the 1.5U was i.e. .6 with the 40U syringes)

Talk to you tomorrow.

Cindi
 
That PMPS is not quite as high as I expected! ;-)

Glad the pharmacist was able to demonstrate the half units for you on the u100 syringes.

If you have the chance to get a "before bed" test at +2 or +3 that will be just another piece to the puzzle. :smile:

Great job today!
 
Recap for 4/1/2014 (reset):
AlphaTrak2
AMPS 475 - 1U
+3 - 115
+4 -103 (Gave 1 tsp of MC food 20 minutes befr BG test at +4)
+4.5 - 96 (Gave 1tsp of MC food 10 minutes before BG test at +4.5)
+5 - 128 (Gave 1tsp of MC food with a smidge of honey and water mixed 15 minutes before BG test at +5)
+5.5 - 159 (No food this interval)
+6 - 198 (No food this interval)
PMPS 392 - .6U (I confirmed with a pharmacist that my other syringes were 100U. He showed me where the 1.5U was i.e. .6 with the 40U syringes)
+3 - 347
+7 - 179 (Woke up so thought...why not?)

Thought I would post my last test of the night. Good night.
 
Like the overnight number better. Looks like .6 may work, at least for a while. If he is still adapting to the food and insulin working together, he may still need a reduction, but the data will tell you.

You guys are doing so well. Bet you feel like you have been thrown into the deep end. :mrgreen:
 
Ditto to what Sue said! :smile: That PM cycle looked pretty good with the 0.6. It's possible that with the steep drop he may have some "bouncy" hormones for a few cycles that will keep him a bit higher. Once those clear out, the 0.6 may be just right, or you may need to nudge it down a bit from there. You're doing a great job! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top