4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306/+2-274 increased dose - when to test

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Yesterdays Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92244

We have increased his dose from 1.25U to 1.5U

His AMPS looked pretty good today compared to normal =]
He wont eat much - and I like him to eat when I give him the shot - so we will try a FF appetizer
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340 increased dose today

hmm this was his lowest preshot number so far - but then +2 was high ???
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340 increased dose today

Hi Jamie, I wanted to stop by during my lunch break to see how things were going. I see he went up for you; probably not what you were expecting. I wonder if this is a case of New Dose Wonkiness? Looks like it only happens with increases in dose.

New Dose Wonkiness

I'll check back in when I get home this afternoon. I hope the rest of you day goes ok with Jupiter. :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340 increased dose today

Since Jupiters number went up instead of down - when should I test again? I hate to test him if its not needed - can anyone give me their opinion on when to test?? Thanks
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340 increased dose today

Thanks Angela & Melissa.

Katie- I think it may be NDW or maybe its just because he ate after the insulin shot? Who knows. This happened last time we increased his dose too. Its driving me crazy!! I just want to see some lower numbers! Dont get me wrong - I am glad his numbers havent went too low yet - but I would just like to see them go down a little. Cant wait to see a blue number!!
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose today

So his AMPS was 237
+2 was 340
+4 was 219

Should I be worried that it dropped so much between +2 & +4 ??

I am not really sure how often I should be testing him today either
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose-advice

The +2 could be a food spike. J.D. does that sometimes.
You could test next at +5.
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose-advice

just relax and breathe... stuff happens. if he did not have a snack or get into anything, I would not worry.
tonight lets see what happens at +2 (I will be asleep) and see what happens,
If a big drop from PMPS to +2, you are going to be up testing. If not much of a drop, you can go to bed.
get a test before you leave today
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose-advice

He definately didnt get into anything - he may have eaten his wet canned food though - I leave it out at all times - he will eat randomly throughout the day.
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose-advice

+6.5 was 362

I left lots and lots of wet canned food out for him. will be back in about 5 hours - will be home a few minutes before his PMPS
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose-advice

Jaime"

One habit I've gotten into is to re-test if a number doesn't make sense to me. There are times when you get a bad strip or just get a strange result -- a number that seems way high or way low. To make sure it's not an error, I always retest. (I had this happen last night, in fact.)

I really doubt the +2 is an accurate test given your AMPS and +4 unless Jupiter is incredibly sensitive to carbs.
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter AMPS-237/+2-340/+4-219 increased dose-advice

Yeah I am not sure because +6.5 was higher too. I will retest next time though.
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306 increased dose

PMPS was 306 tonight. Going to test at +2 - would love to see some numbers in the blues soon.
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306 increased dose

Jupiter noticed that I was getting the testing supplies ready - and came out near the desk where I test him. This is the first time he came without me shaking the treat bag (I usually have to carry him from wherever he is laying and bring him out to the desk). He knows he gets lots of loving and a treat after testing and I think hes finally starting to get used to it.

So glad to see progress!
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306 increased dose

Can't wait for that +2 and don't you just love Pavlovian conditioning?!? When I wasn't testing Mego as much yesterday, I swear he came looking for me. He'd sit at the test site and just stare at me. I'm pretty sure someone wanted his treat! :lol: Yay for Jupiter making it easy on momma bean!
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306/+2-274 increased dose

So +2 is 274. not sure when I should test him again??

He did eat a few bites a little bit before the test - I leave the food out at all times - he usually eats small amounts - but more frequently throughout the day
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306/+2-274 increased dose - when to tes

Looking good so far. If I were you, I'd go and look at his SS and see when his numbers look lowest from the data you've collected so far. Maybe that would give you an idea of where his lowest numbers are in the cycle. Maybe you would want to test around those times??? Remember, you're talking to a serial tester here. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306/+2-274 increased dose - when to tes

Since he doesnt seem to eat at consistent times, I am not sure if I will be able to tell which times he will have low numbers? I left lots of wet canned food out for him tonight and a few catsickles. Dane will be up at 6:30 am eastern time and he will make sure they have food out - then I do his AMPS at 9am. I will try to wake up in an hour or two to test again tonight. I am really tired though so I am going to take a nap for now.
 
Re: 4/1 Jupiter PMPS-306/+2-274 increased dose - when to tes

Since the +2 is less than the PS, I'd get a +4 if you can, Jamie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top