4/1-Cini Mini- PMPS 171,+3/100,+6/75,+8/138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67621

Recap of yesterday's BGs:

AMPS- 142, cycle 9 of 0.05 Lantus
+3- 149
+6- 178
PMPS- 158, cycle 10 of 0.05 Lantus
+3- 103
+6- 72

This morning's AMPS was 141 and Cini's +3 was 135.

Couple of observations and hoping for some direction -

Cini is not eating as much as he used to. I feed him the EVO 95% Turkey and Chicken which is 0% carbs. I've noticed when I put it down he comes to the bowl and pretends to bury it several times. Sniff sniff, bury, scratch, sniff "it's still there", bury, "oh ok, I'll eat a little to make you happy." token mouthful or two. I don't think he's ill or nauseous, I think he's bored with the food. When he goes low to where I need to steer his numbers a little if I mix some 2% or 4% in his bowl he eats it all right up. Problem is, I can't find any other 0% carb alternatives. Which leads me to my next question / observation.

Now that Cini has settled in to the 0.05u dose of Lantus, I think he may need a slight increase? He's a solid "blue" kitty on the 0.05u dose with an occasional foray in to the green zone at night. Someone had pointed me to the post that instructs you how to do the "drop method" (sorry, I forgot their name) and I think I could do a fat 0.05u or a 0.05u+x drops. Does that make sense? I don't think going back to a full 0.10u is warranted.

I guess what I am trying to say is, Cini needs to eat. If I start mixing in 2% carb in his food on a regular basis then I need to increase his insulin just a bit. Does that sound like a good approach?

:YMSIGH: I love my Cinnerminner. I'm going to bring him to the Vet to get weighed tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/1-Cini Mini- AMPS 141,+3/135 - Questions

Do you see that big of a difference in his numbers between 0 and 2%? Do you have that data? If you have the data that you absolutely KNOW that 2% will raise his BGs, then you can feed him that, let the numbers rise,
and THEN increase the insulin. I wouldn't do both at once because if you do, and the 2% isn't enough, he could be overdose.

Here are drop method pictures:
Drop Pictures

Here's some text:
Drop Instructions

We love your Cini Mini tooo!!!!!
 
Re: 4/1-Cini Mini- AMPS 141,+3/135 - Questions

Hi Marjorie,

The data I have on how food over 0% affects his BGs is on his spreadsheet - everywhere there's a number with a * next to it is a note I made on what I fed him at the time. But that was when I knew he was going in to onset and I needed to slow him down.

You came up with a good idea (you always do ;-) ). I'll keep Cini on the 0.05u for the next few days but start mixing in some 2% in his 0% food.

And thanks for the links to the drop method, I'm going to bookmark this condo so that I have it all together. :-D

ETA: I was practicing this with Cini's 0.05u dose to get it exact every time and it works well!
 
Re: 4/1-Cini Mini- AMPS 141,+3/135 - Questions

FWIW, at one point, Gabby was on a raw food diet. The carbs are in the 0 - 1% range. I tried her on Wellness (4%) and there was no change in her numbers. Feeding 0% carbs is not necessarily better than giving a food with some carbs. It all depends on how carb sensitive your cat is.
 
Re: 4/1-Cini Mini- AMPS 141,+3/135 - Questions

Hi Sienne, yes I agree.

I think Cini is mildly carb sensetive. A Few months back when we were still new to this all I was feeding him anywhere from 5% to 7% carb food and when we decreased to 0% carb his numbers did go down.
 
Re: 4/1-Cini Mini- AMPS 141,+3/135 - Questions

for what it's worth, I don't think I would rush to increase Cini Mini's dose just yet. His numbers are a little outside the "tight regulation" range, but if you look back on his SS to last week, they are about the same as they were just before he earned his reduction from 0.1 to 0.05. He had been on 0.1 for 10 cycles with numbers pretty similar to these, when he dropped to 37. So far he has been on 0.05 for 11 cycles. He might still have some tricks up his sleeve on this dose.
 
Re: 4/1-Cini Mini- PMPS 171

OK, went ahead and started mixing 1 tsp 2% carb with 1 tsp 0% carb to make up Cini's meal.

Keeping the Lantus dosage the same (0.05u) for a day or two to see where Cini's numbers settle out at.

ETA: I just checked on Cini and the bowl is half empty and he's sitting next to it licking his chops. THAT's the eater I used to know! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top