4/1 Buster- help plz

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bustercat

Member
Please check the ss. We missed a morning dose, ran out of insulin, I got a new vial for the pm. Then, the next night he got into the left over dinner and ate mashed potatoes. I ran out of test strips for the regular meter, and am using the b/up meter, which does seem to give higher numbers than the regular meter. His numbers are now sky high! I can't wait to get the strips for my regular meter, they should be in the mail, Hocks. Buster is hungrier than he has been in quite a while, and he is constantly draining his water dishes. Do I need to increase his dose to get him through this? How long till the potatoes stop affecting his bg's?
 
Not sure what to say except I think the potato effect would be pretty short-lived. I think they tend to spike sugar, not raise it and keep it raised, but I may be wrong.

Can't help with the dosing but I can bump you up so someone will see it. Maybe adding the ? to your post will also attract more attention?
 
Well the dinner sounds like it was quite yummy and so glad he enjoyed the meal.

SEriously, here are my thoughts:

you skipped a shot - which lead him to draining the "shed"
he ate potatoes - carbs - no telling how many and how high that could make him go
you're using a meter that you aren't comfortable with

Personally, I would continue with the same dose for at least another 2-3 days - here are the reasons why:

- you need to refill the shed
- let the carbs get out of his system
- wait until you get your strips for the meter you do like and are sure of the numbers.

Too many variables happened that if you change the dose, you won't know if he really needed the change or if it was all a result of the above issues.

Make sense?
 
I agree with the too many variables theory.... IMO, hang tight and try to get a few more SCs - when you get your new strips and your usual meter.
 
Oh Buster! You are going to drive your bean to drink -- which is high carb, among other things!

I think you should wait this out a few cycles. Since this is my first experience with kitties eating mashed potatoes, I really don't have a baseline for how long they will hang around in Buster's system. (I'm really sorry, but I did giggle when I read he ate mashed potatoes!) It's got to be similar to kibble which could take that better part of a day.

I'm also going to be the SS police. You really need to be getting more spot checks. There is no way to tell if Buster is bouncing from low numbers. You have limited checks during the day and almost none in the PM cycle since January. I am really concerned that you are increasing the dose of insulin and what we're seeing is chronic rebound and Buster may need less insulin.
 
I agree with the 'too many variables'... that's why I was not sure about giving a little extra on the dose. Seems everything always happens at once :roll: I think I should be home tomorrow, and should be able to get more tests. I'm hoping the new strips will be waiting for me when I get home.

Looking at the ss, I realize it all went to he## when I went back to work after the baby was 3 months old. I can't seem to keep up with anything anymore. 3 pt time jobs and 2 lil ones, 3 counting Buster. How do you all manage?
 
Geez Serena - you really have your hands full.

I wish I had a good answer. I juggle in a different way since it's just me and my 2 kitties. I never know how parents manage. Do you have any help at home? I can't imagine with running between jobs that you are doing all of this all by yourself. Is there anyone who can lend a hand with Buster? How can we help?
 
Hi Serena
I am not much help in the dosing department but not too bad on the Mom front.
How old are your little ones? one is 3 months?
Mine are older (11 & 15) and pretty independant but still have to get myself ready for work
and the 2 girls to school and take care of Max and 2 other civvie's. Out the door for 730am

I can imagine that time is at a premium with little ones.
I do not know your routine but maybe we can work something out.
First, a big deep breath.
I made myself very organzied and have all of Max's testing supplies in a little
dollar store basket and I keep it where I test him. Of course you would have to keep
it out of reach of little hands.
This way I know that I am not running around to get the testing done when I have a 5 minute window sometimes.
Is there someone at home that can lend a bit of a hand with the routine? getting the food ready and the insulin while you test?
Whetever checks you can get, day or night will be invaluable data to get Buster's numbers
down with less insulin.
Do you have a chance to make a profile for Buster? I only see a ss.
Of course making sure food isn't left out is always helpful for a kitty that likes to help
themselves. :-D
My kitties never ate people food so I don't have that problem.
I hope I was able to help someway and if you have any questions (other than dosing) pm me, okay.
You can do it!!
 
((((Serena)))) sounds like you have a lot going on. I agree that Buster is probably refilling his shed from the missed shot, and I have no idea how long meatloaf and potatoes would last, but it's possible that is going on too. Some spot checks would help make sure Buster isn't going too low and bouncing.
 
I did ask DH to shoot the cat for me once when I was running late... he said "sure, the shotgun, or the 45?"

Of course, he wouldn't kill the cat... he is tolerant of me treating a diabetic cat, and helps with the kids to give me undisturbed time to test & shoot- that's about it. The rest of our family is of the opinion that we'd do better to put Buster down. Poor Buster, he really does deserve better than I am doing for him.

Two of the jobs are, somewhat, work from home. So I am around and could try to get some more tests in. Though the lil ones are with me on the work-from-home days, and make working & kitty stuff difficult.

I gotta leave to get home now... 20 min to shot time. I'll post his pmps soon, I hope he's come down some.

Jacob is 2 1/2. Kendra is 6 months.
 
I hear you about it being difficult, are you able to check him after you put the kids to bed? Before you go to bed? That would be at least two checks in the PM hours and help you better see what's happening.

And you don't have to test at the same time each night or at any set interval. So, whenever these two activities happen, you've got two tests in.

And you can build up from there.

hope that helps.
 
Funny but not funny Serena
Having little support from other adults at home is not easy.
My DH does help but 99% of the time it is me and only me.
You will do what you can for Buster and he deserves yur love, his mama.
If you are home some days, it will be so important to get testing done.
My Max was up to 6u just over a month ago.
We went up and up and then something just snapped in him
and now he is on 3 drops (not units) but yes it was work.
The testing will help to find a good dose for him.
 
Re: 4/1 Buster- PMPS 399

pink pmps, barely, but I'll take it!

I had Buster 5 yrs before I met DH, he is definitely my kitty. I am thankful that DH usually handles the cat box, and will give Buster baths... I can handle the shots and testing, so long as I make it home in time.

Wed & Fri are my w-f-h days... so I will try to get more tests in tomorrow. I gotta check the mail to see if my new strips are here.

Thanks for the ideas!
 
Serena... two little ones, 2.5 and a 6 month old? AND you have 3 jobs? OMG. I'm getting exhausted just thinking about it. I bow down to your awesomeness!

And is it very bad of me to be hungry after hearing about the mashed potatoes? ....Ok, sorry.

Take it one hour at a time and I wish you the very best, you are doing way better than you think. Buster is lucky to have you as his mama-bean.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top