? 4/1 Bud AMPS 540 PMPS 482, +3 277 Bouncy cats?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh absolutely. There are a TON of cats that start out bouncy (probably most of them) and then get well regulated.

Just off the top of my head . . . Gabby, Max, Eddie, Gracie, shoot, I need to be looking at the current posters and don't have another window open. But the answer is definitely yes. The bounciness comes about if a cat has been in high numbers long enough for their body to get used to that as a normal. Many cats have been diabetic for a while before they got diagnosed. Then when you finally get them into normal numbers, they react to it. But the more time they spend in normal numbers, the more the bouncing will lessen - both in intensity (not into the 500's, anymore, for example) and in duration (maybe just a mini-bounce of 3 hours and a high of 130).

Being bouncy doesn't mean that you won't get him regulated, Stacy, so don't worry about that one bit. It's a process.

One thing that some people do is to learn to "feed the curve." It's a method of feeding that does a couple of things: you feed the cat to prevent fast and dramatic drops - those alone can trigger another bounce, and you also feed to be able to get enough insulin in the cat to bring down the higher numbers. A good post discussing this is on the "Where Can I Find?" post, look to the bottom for "feeding the curve."
 
Hi Stacy! I don't think I've visited Bud's condo before, but I definitely want to reassure you that even "rainbow" kitties can and do stop bouncing and settle down....and even go off the juice. One saying around here is that they bounce until they don't. I honestly thought that was just a saying to placate me when I was at my wits end to figure out my guy's bouncing, but wouldn't you know it, when Eddie was almost exactly one year post-diagnosis, he just flattened out and started flying down in dose. Take a look at his SS in my signature. He had his dental today, but he's currently down to 1/8u of insulin, and we're holding our breath that he might just take the next step...:D
 
Neko held the title of "Rainbow Queen" for quite a while. :rolleyes: It took just being relentless at trying to keep her at a dose where she saw the maximum amount of green before she settled down a little. She's a bit more complicated (two high dose conditions, IAA and acromegaly) but I can mostly get her below renal threshold now.

Bud is probably reacting today to two things, yesterday's lows and the reduced dose last night. One interesting (and fun:eek:) thing about Levemir is the later nadir. Neko often nadirs around her shot time. That means I had to get used to shooting full dose at lower numbers.
 
Thank you all so much! Very helpful information here. I've been experimenting a little with medium carb food to slow drops occasionally. Like last night with that low ps and I was heading out for a bit. I also used medium carb food the morning of 3/22 after Bud dropped over 200 points in a little over 2 hours. I expected a high number when I checked him at +8 only to be nicely surprised by an 88! So I think there is some more data that needs to be collected, but I'm almost wondering if Bud wouldn't fair better on medium carb the first part of the cycle. It's so tough to get the whole picture when I can only get mid cycle numbers during the day on weekends. It's really sad that I have Friday off and I'm looking forward to having an extra day to get more mid cycle tests! Lol!
 
I have a very bouncy cat. She would spend her days going from high to low back to high again. She was in remission for 2 years before slipping back and almost as soon as she did fall out of remission, she started bouncing. That was 15 months ago. I joined the forum in Feb and they have shown me how to feed the drop to slow it down. Sheba's
numbers have improved dramatically and a lot of the time I can keep her in low numbers but occasionally she breaks out. The day before yesterday she dropped too quickly and she had a spectacular bounce to "hi". She is on the way down today but is dropping fast so have had to feed her every hour to try and keep ahead of it. Not sure if I have succeeded. Have a look at her SS.
So yes, as Julie said, you can have a bouncy cat and get it regulated. For Sheba it is all about controlling the drop.
The wonderful people here will guide you and tell you what is best for your Bud.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top