4/1 AMPS 337- Charlie's first day of insulin since hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristina & Charlie :)

Member Since 2013
Good morning all! ~O)

Today is Charlie's first day of shots since last Monday when we went in to get his insulin and he went hypo on me. I just have a few questions...
**I gave him .5U this morning**
1-I was thinking of checking him at +3, +5 and +6 today...and then maybe at +8 and +10, then check him again before I shoot at 7pm tonight. Side note-on monday when he crashed, his lowest number was at the+5 (well, I also wasn't going to let it go below the 43 it was at, so I dont know if he would have went lower) THOUGHTS?

2-I shot him this am after he was almost all done with his FF. Here is the thing though, he only eats half a can at a time. So about 1.5 oz. I want to make sure he is eating enough. I was thinking about switching to Friskies since the cans are bigger (and cheaper) and he'd maybe eat a little more at a time. I am going to put another half can out in about 30 mins to see if he'll eat more.

I'm home all day today thanks the gods. So I can keep an eye on him.
THANKS GUYS!!!
cat_pet_icon
 
1/2 unit was a good choice. Testing at +3, +5, and +6 is OK butI would only test at +6 if the +3 and +5 indicate that more testing is required. I would also not test at +8 or +10 unlrss the previous test show that is needed.
1/2 of a FF can is not much. Have you tried different varieties of FF? You can also try Friskies.
 
Larry and Kitties said:
1/2 unit was a good choice. Testing at +3, +5, and +6 is OK butI would only test at +6 if the +3 and +5 indicate that more testing is required. I would also not test at +8 or +10 unlrss the previous test show that is needed.
1/2 of a FF can is not much. Have you tried different varieties of FF? You can also try Friskies.

Hi Larry and Kitties. Thanks for responding. I think I am still just a little paranoid and terrified from the last shot (that was 2U at the vets office)
So basically I'm on overkill on the testing. lol. Ok so if +3 and +5 show that his numbers aren't falling too fast, then I just shouldn't worry. correct?

I have a can of friskies pate in the cupboard that I'll bust out for lunch. My fur babies are used to free feeding on dry foods, so I am working on creating a feeding schedule for them. I also dont want them to "scarf and barf"...they have been known to do that. I figure after they get some down, and it stays down, I'll give them a little more.
 
Yes, you test more based on what results you get.
The key to feeding and BG control is to feed consistently, you can feed several meals a day just be consistent.
 
Hello there

Do you want to come over and start posting on the tight regulation forum? Its a great community and the experienced guys can keep an eye on both of you.. I can explain how to post if you arent sure. (it can look confusing at first) http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

I see his BG is dropping. He may go back up but he might not.. sometimes Lantus can hang around longer than the 12 hours. Just in case, iff he is under 200 at preshot I would hold off on shooting, do not feed and wait 30 minutes and test again to see what his blood sugar is trending. And come here and post in the meantime so someone can help you decide what to do.

Switching to Friskies classic pates sounds like a good idea if he likes them.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top