4/1/15 Lucy AMPS=331 +4=304 PMPS=306 Question about dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think Lucy is still bouncing. It can take up to 6 cycles to clear a bounce, though she seems to have done it a little faster than that before. I think I'd give her today (and tonight) to see if she's clearing the bounce, before increasing. From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
You had a skipped dose there the night of the 30th, so you cycle count starts over. Tonight will be the 10th cycle. If you don't see green by tomorrow, I think it'll be OK to increase.
 
I think Lucy is still bouncing. It can take up to 6 cycles to clear a bounce, though she seems to have done it a little faster than that before. I think I'd give her today (and tonight) to see if she's clearing the bounce, before increasing. From the protocol:

You had a skipped dose there the night of the 30th, so you cycle count starts over. Tonight will be the 10th cycle. If you don't see green by tomorrow, I think it'll be OK to increase.
Thank you Wendy. The vet did approve an increase to 3 units when we were at 2.5 units but I said I would increase to 2.75 units first and then increase to 3 units if needed. As you said I think it is wise to continue for a few more doses at 2.75 units.
 
It seems the bounce is not clearing yet so I think maybe it is wise to stay at 2.75 units longer until it does. Thank you for any opinions.
 
I think your assessment and Wendy are right on target. I'd give the bounce a bit longer to clear before making a decision about a change in dose.
 
I think your assessment and Wendy are right on target. I'd give the bounce a bit longer to clear before making a decision about a change in dose.
Thank you Sienne very much for your opinion. I will wait a while longer before considering increasing the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top