4/09, CLEO, AMPS, 410- pmps-291

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
6 PM Report" I gave her just the 1 unit, and I will stick with the 1 until further notice :cool: Don't want to jump the gun again. Tonight was the first time, even though she was hungry, she ran and tried to hide from me when I was preparing to test. Not a good feeling. I hope this doesn't become a pattern. I try to be as gentle and calm as I can, but still upsets her. Then the dogs went crazy barking at something, and now she is nowhere to be found. :( On my way out - I will check in later!

Jane



Gave her the 1U with .25 extra. Hope that was okay, just felt like I should. I guess it may be right that she will need an increase soon. Can't wait till Saturday. Feel like that will be my discovery day. If i can, I will test her before I leave for work.

Threw out one package of lancets. They were part of my problem with the testing. Opened another bag, and these make it much easier. First time in a long time, Cleo was up in the bed with me, after I hit the snooze... I guess she wants her day started (especially since there are no crunchies out all night to nibble on).

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Jane, Mom to
15 y/Sugarbaby Cleo
3 y/o Skinny boy Simon
10 month old chubby wild boy Opie
11 y/o catahoula mix Britty
5 y/o pitty mix Benny (official ear cleaner)
 
Re: 4/09, CLEO, ASMPS, 410

Good morning Jane,
Morning snuggles with the kitty. YAY!!! I'm glad testing is easier now with the offending lancets gone. Have a great day..hurry up saturday!
have a great day. hugs and scritches from us
 
Re: 4/09, CLEO, ASMPS, 410-NEWBIE

Good Morning Jane, and welcome!

I'm sure one of the experts will come along and give you some real details, but you need to gather some more data on Cleo before making any changes to the dose, especially since you only have one or two values around what may or may not be Cleo's nadir. We don't dose based on the pre-shot value, which can be very frustrating when you see a high value like that and want to jump the gun and up the dose. The dosing is based on the nadir, which is why it is important that you get those in-between tests as much as possible. If you only measure at test time, you don't know where Cleo is going during the cycle. My Leo and some other cats here like to dive bomb from reds to greens in one cycle - hopefully Cleo isn't one of those cats! But after you gather more information, you'll have a better idea. It can take several cycles for a cat to settle into a dose, and we have what we call around here "Patience Pants" which we have to put on to stop ourselves from wanting to jump the gun on dosing changes! :-D :-D :-D

Sounds like you better get out of bed and get Cleo's day (and food) started! Have a good one!
 
Re: 4/09, CLEO, ASMPS, 410-NEWBIE

Lisa gave a good summary. In addition, you want to hold your initial dose for 5 - 7 days. This gives the insulin depot time to become established. While this is happening, a small amount of insulin goes to fill the depot. The depot is an important difference between shorter acting insulin like Humulin and Lantus. In addition, like Lisa pointed out, with Lantus, all dosing decisions are based on the lowest point in the cycle (the nadir) not on your pre-shot numbers.

The other factor to consider is that Lantus will perform best if you are consistent. The more you change your dose, the more you disrupt the depot. This has a negative impact on numbers since you may lose the overlap between doses.

What I suspect you're seeing with that high pre-shot this morning is a bounce from yesterday morning. There's a good chance that Cleo saw some blue numbers during Monday's AM cycle. As a result of Cleo being in numbers she's not terribly used to, her liver and pancreas pumped out a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These caused numbers to rise. This is a normal phenomenon. You don't want to base a dose on a bounce since the numbers will come back down within roughly 72 hours.
 
Re: 4/09, CLEO, ASMPS, 410-NEWBIE

Good Morning Jane and welcome to the Lantus Land Family! First, let me introduce my sugar-sweet sugar-boy Gobbles and myself: My name is Kat and Gobbles is an 11 year old neutered male gray tabby who was dumped at a farm when he was a teenager; all he ever wanted was a mommy and I was lucky enough to be working at the shelter who found him, and adopted him the day he was brought in! We live in NE Ohio. Gobbles was dx'd on 11/17/12.

Please don't up Cleo's dosage. Have you read the Lantus Tight Regulation Protocol. I know and can relate that the high BG is scary and you'd like to get his BG into at least the 100s or high 80s, but it is too early to increase Cleo's dose. I would write a longer post, but I have a lot on my agenda today.

And Advisor will be stepping in soon; I am sure of it. Hang in there. You can borrow my Patience Pants if you'd like :lol:
 
Re: 4/09, CLEO, ASMPS, 410-NEWBIE

Oh, yeah :-D I see Advisor Sienne is here for you (I think Sienne and I were posting at the same time :lol: )! Sienne is awesome and will really help you and Cleo!
 
Re: 4/09, CLEO, ASMPS, 410-NEWBIE

Hi guys .. ok cleo, come on down .. haven't you heard? All the cats are hanging out in the blues and green's today .. don't be the last one there! Have a great day guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top