4/05 Noogi - PMPS 68, +2 56, +3 56, +4 68

Helen + Noogi

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post
This morning: AMPS 72, +2 41, +2.5 99, +3 110, +4 108, +5 99, +9 63

Good morning :)

Noogi had a bit of a hypo this morning. Certainly have no doubt now that the dose decrease I took yesterday was the right move.

Last night I gave him some MC at +4 as he was in the low 60s and I didn't want him to go further down after my bedtime. I left him snacks in his feeder too as always. This morning was the lowest pre-shot number he's had in a while. He hadn't finished all his snacks from the night before (hot weather, so not surprised). With his shot he ate a few mouthfuls of the leftover MC food as well as some LC. I went back to sleep and he woke me up two hours later, having polished off every last bit of leftover and morning food and still ravenously hungry. Down to 41! I gave him tablespoon of HC with 1/2 tsp honey, and then some more MC. This was enough to get him back to safe levels.

Wouldn't mind some advise on what I do next. I know he is still drawing from the depot.
So does that mean I hold this dose a little longer, especially as I can watch him today and tomorrow?
Or do take another decrease right away?
Bhooma, what would you suggest? @Bandit's Mom

Despite all the food this morning he still wanted his +5 snack. Al fresco!
20250405_110940.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20250405_110940.jpg
    20250405_110940.jpg
    178.1 KB · Views: 176
Last edited:
Since this morning was only the 3rd cycle on this dose, it's possible that you were seeing the effects of the previous depot. He might continue to head further down in dosing, but I wouldn't take a back-to- back reduction without letting the depot catch up. Let's see what he does tonight?
 
Yesterday's post

Good morning :)

Noogi had a bit of a hypo this morning. Certainly have no doubt now that the dose decrease I took yesterday was the right move.

Last night I gave him some MC at +4 as he was in the low 60s and I didn't want him to go further down after my bedtime. I left him snacks in his feeder too as always. This morning was the lowest pres-shot number he'd had in a while. He hadn't finished all his snacks from the night before (hot weather, so not surprised). With his shot he ate a few mouthfuls of the leftover MC food as well as some LC. I went back to sleep and he woke me up two hours later, having polished off every last bit of leftover and morning food and still ravenously hungry. Down to 41! I gave him tablespoon of HC with 1/2 tsp honey, and then some more MC. This was enough to get him back to safe levels.

Wouldn't mind some advise on what I do next. I know he is still drawing from the depot.
So does that mean I hold this dose a little longer, especially as I can watch him today and tomorrow?
Or do take another decrease right away?
Bhooma, what would you suggest? @Bandit's Mom

Despite all the food this morning he still wanted his +5 snack. Al fresco!
View attachment 73422
Looking great Noogi! So glad you caught the lime, Helen.

Petey had a few al fresco snacks yesterday too! Hoping it's warmer today as well. Have a good day. :bighug:
 
Since this morning was only the 3rd cycle on this dose, it's possible that you were seeing the effects of the previous depot. He might continue to head further down in dosing, but I wouldn't take a back-to- back reduction without letting the depot catch up. Let's see what he does tonight?
Thanks that is what I was thinking is probably the best way forward.
Each time I think okay, no MC food for you today, he has other plans :D
 
Looking great Noogi! So glad you caught the lime, Helen.

Petey had a few al fresco snacks yesterday too! Hoping it's warmer today as well. Have a good day. :bighug:
Thanks Laurie. Hope it's a warmer day for you and Petey to enjoy.
Here is unusually warm and sunny for April. We need our Spring rains!
 
Wow! He does seem like he's going to be done with this dose pretty soon! Let's see what he does tonight and how much carbs he needs to keep him over 50.
Agree! So far he is still over 50, so I have held off on the MC. But made sure he has had lots of small helpings of LC at +1, +2 and just now at +3. I suspect he might dip closer to or below 50 at +4, but we'll see. If he's still in the 50s at my bedtime I will give him MC to see him through the night.
Let me know if there is anything you think I should be doing differently.

I'd be so much happier if he surfed in the 80s and 90s instead of the 50s and 60s :nailbiting:
 
So he hasn't gotten MC or HC so far tonight? You want to feed the carbs earlier in the cycle. I assumed you would have fed MC or HC at +2 when dipped to 56.
 
So he hasn't gotten MC or HC so far tonight? You want to feed the carbs earlier in the cycle. I assumed you would have fed MC or HC at +2 when dipped to 56.
I thought I might see what he does if I don't feed him those for once, but maybe that was foolish/dangerous?
Gave him one tsp HC now, hopefully not too late to keep him from dipping too low.
 
Poor Noogi!!! Niko had a low event yesterday too and vacuumed up all his food in the same way, it’s always so wild to see.

Noogi is determined to walk down that dose eh?
 
I thought I might see what he does if I don't feed him those for once, but maybe that was foolish/dangerous?
Gave him one tsp HC now, hopefully not too late to keep him from dipping too low.
Not foolish/ dangerous as long as you're monitoring. The only reason you want to feed carbs earlier rather than later is so that it doesn't affect duration and lead to higher numbers later in the cycle.
 
Oh, boy! A crazy day AND night for Helen and Noogi, I see. I'm so sorry :arghh::bighug::arghh::bighug:
His pancreas is like, 'I got this! Anytime you want to lower the insulin, I'm good.'
Good luck, both of you! You've got this!
 
Not foolish/ dangerous as long as you're monitoring. The only reason you want to feed carbs earlier rather than later is so that it doesn't affect duration and lead to higher numbers later in the cycle.
Okay that makes sense. Looking at his SS I'm not seeing that he is having much of an issue with duration length though. Often flat right til end of cycle. More so in the day though I suppose. More blues in the AMPS than the PMPS.

I also just double-checked the carb content of the food I gave him this evening. It was with the LC foods but that particular flavour is higher carbs that the others - 10%, so almost MC. That might have kept him from dropping lower, who knows. Anyway he's up some now after that little bit of HC but not a dramatic amount.

Do you think I stick with 1.25 for tomorrow morning, or down to 1?
 
Oh, boy! A crazy day AND night for Helen and Noogi, I see. I'm so sorry :arghh::bighug::arghh::bighug:
His pancreas is like, 'I got this! Anytime you want to lower the insulin, I'm good.'
Good luck, both of you! You've got this!
Thanks Mary. I was happy to be having a weekend at home where I could watch him, but he's taken full advantage. Major helicoptering going on over here!
Fifteen ear pricks today and counting, poor boy.
He certainly does seem to be angling for another reduction doesn't he.
 
Sorry! I just saw this. Did you give the shot? If not, take the reduction.

ETA: if you've given 1.25u, that's fine. Let's see what he does this AM.
Hi, yes, I did give him 1.25. I'll be watching him :)
Unless something unexpected happens I think maybe reduction on today's pm dose?

I'd be happier with him in the higher greens while I'm at work this coming week!
 
Back
Top