4/01 Mr. Barney +11 (PMPS)=187 +4 (38)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr Barney

Member
This actually a +13 number after a slight reduction 6 days ago and a lower calorie diet...
Best results in 18 mo... 1 more week with these numbers and I may try another reduction...
 
Re: 3/31 Mr. Barney AMPS 147...

Nice AMPS this morning, Mr. Barney.
Have a good day.
 
Re: 3/31 Mr. Barney AMPS 147...

Linking yesterday's thread: just open your thread from yesterday, copy the URL address, and then when you open your thread for today, paste the URL address somewhere in your first post of the day.
 
Re: 3/31 Mr. Barney AMPS 147...

I want to get up to speed with Mr. Barney. You said,

Best results in 18 mo... 1 more week with these numbers and I may try another reduction...

I'm not sure I understand the rationale. In looking at your SS, you didn't reduce the dose after3/22 or 3/28 with the BGs numbers under 40. Ordinarily, for an established FD, these numbers would warrant a dose reduction. That said, ECID and I think you've mentioned that Mr. B is touchy with reductions so is that why you are holding the dose?
 
Re: 3/31 Mr. Barney AMPS 147...

HI,

Mr B. was a tough cat to regulate initially,, been doing this 3 yrs.. and I eventually found the exact dose for him a fat 1 Unit .. a sliver less and he zoomed to the 200's, I never did more... He always had a tendency to print and hold lower numbers without complications.. so I got him regulated perfect on his food/insulin combo, times and all.. except sometime he would print a bit low.. but ANY sliver of a reduction would cause imbalance etc.. So we come to this point in time.. I am trying to get 1-1.5 lbs off him 14.6lbs now.. by doing a 10% calorie restriction I have been able to lower the dose a sliver to 1 Unit.. and so far his dose seems fine. But because of my history I do not want to reduce to quickly and mess this up.. so that is why I am going slow.. a sliver at a time.. and see if the dose holds for 10days or so..
 
Re: 3/31 Mr. Barney PMPS 147..+4 (49)

Thanks!

I don't know if you've looked at the Tilly Protocol recently. There is a change with regard to the speed of dose reductions. The cat has to be below 50 three times to earn a reduction. The protocol seems very much in keeping with how you're handling reductions.
 
Re: 3/31 Mr. Barney PMPS 147..+4 (49)

Hi!

There are so many possiblities to customize the protocol. Generally (for newly diagnosed cats or ones that are easily managed) the guidlines are to reduce the dose by .25U each time the cat drops below 50. For cats that have been diabetic for a longer period a reduction can be earned by going below 40. Variations on this are also possible (I am using one for a cat that even though newly Dx'd has problems with rebound "bounce" and maintaining good BG control after a reduction) in this case I recommended that a reduction of .25U be given when either #1 the cat drops below 50 at least 2 times (in 2 different cycles) and both must occur within a 7-10 day time span (if 1x below 50 is recorded then 10 days go by without dropping below 50 the clock gets reset and he must get 2x below 50 again). #2 he can earn a decrease of .25U by going below 40 just 1 time. This particular cat tends to respond to a decrease with higher numbers for several days, but not because of the decreased insulin dose rather a response to the low numbers that earned the decrease. His liver is very sensitive to "hypo" danger and responds by releasing hormones and stored glucose which drive the BG higher for a few cycles. Once the hormones disolve and the liver "settles down" he gets back into the better numbers on the new reduced dose. My thought is that continuing to shoot the higher dose through the bounce as is often practiced in this case is counter productive because the bounce will be prolonged or exaggerated due to the liver reacting to more insulin. The higher numbers for 1-2 days though frustrating are not dangerous and satisfy the liver that there is no danger and once things calm down the good numbers return.

You have to experiment with all these little "tweaks" to the standard protocol to find what works best in your situation. If reductions don't seem to go smoothly then perhaps the 2x rule will ensure that the reduction was rightfully earned and has a better chance of holding. Keep in mind that a day or 2 of yucky BG numbers following any dose change is common and you you have to endure it to see if things will get better. You are making good progress, keep it up!
 
Re: 4/01 Mr. Barney +11 (PMPS)=175 +4 (38)

Mr. Barney got his shot a bit early today may have been a small sliver more than am but still at bottom of the black line 1 Unit..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top