3rd april Suki AMPS 6.8?? Increased from 2.25 to 2.5 last night

Steph & Suki

Member Since 2019
If you see this Wendy this is what i try and avoid when increasing the dose as i am leaving for work in 15 minutes and dont feel comfortable giving 2.5u with this low a pre shot. I gave her a half dose of 1.25 just now and am looking for advice. Suki seems to get good numbers in the blues on 2.5 but we have this dramatic drop in AMPS. The other group said this was a bad bounce when it happened last time and to reduce dose back to 1.5u. I may keep her on 2.25 and try and increase to 2.5u again in friday night so i am home to monitor if this happens. It frustrates me as i know i set myself back giving a half dose as it messes up the depot etc but surely its not safe to give the full 2.5 with that number?

Any advice will be much appreciated. Link to recent thread here

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suki-2nd-april-amps-24-1.212700/#post-2356939

Spreadsheet link in signature
 
This is not a bad bounce, this is Suki finally seeing some nice numbers. Too bad you won’t be around to monitor today. Per SLGS, this does not earn a reduction and you would go back to 2.5 units tonight. She will probably be high tonight as a result of today’s reduced dose, and bouncing from the blues she isn’t used to. Reducing for today since you can’t monitor is fine. Hopefully the next time she does this you will be around to gather data.
 
Wendy thank you for your reply. I wont be around to monitor until saturday so should i take her back to 2.25 until friday night?

If not would it have been safe to shoot the 2.5 at that low AMPS?

If i go back up to 2.5 tonight and this happens tomorrow morning would it be safe to shoot full dose and go back home about +5/6 to test (i am close enough that i can go home and back to work within an hour and a half really i would just have to stay later to make it up).

Sorry for all the questions it just throws me when this happens although its nice to see the blue numbers!
 
Sorry no one else answered, I am up now. You will get more help if you use the standard spreadsheet used here. I don’t see the tab that does the translation to US mg/dl figures. A lot of the members here are Americans and do not translate to what the rest of the World uses, which is mmol/L for blood sugar readings. The US tab on the World spreadsheet does that translation for us. I am in Canada, so “speak” both. Tagging @Marje and Gracie who may be able to help you put back the missing tab.

If you had been home to monitor, and had plenty of tests strips and high carb food an experienced SLGS caregiver would have shot that AMPS. Since you weren’t home to monitor and have no data shooting full dose at this number, a reduced shot was OK. Something to be aware of, with the Lantus depot, the first part of the cycle following a reduced shot can act like you had shot the full dose. Whenever you see a lower number like today, make sure you leave out lots of food for her to keep safe.

After a reduced dose like today, it can take six cycles for the depot to rebuild. If you just went to 2.25 units, you would be back at a 2.25 unit depot this weekend, and you already know it’s not enough insulin. Plus she will be high as she builds the depot back up. If you start the 2.5 unit dose now, that sixth cycle will be Friday night and you will have a good opportunity to see what that dose can do when you can monitor more closely.

Great news that Suki likes those blues too.:)
 
Thank you so much for your reply. She hadnt gone as high as i expected she was back up to 19 at PMPS and i shot 2.5u. Hopefully she doesnt go super low tomorrow as i qould be out all day.

If i get a blue tomorrow like this morning would you still shoot 2.5 and leave out loads of food?

My partner will be at home tomorrow. He cant and wont test her but he qould be in to monitor behaviour and i am only 30 mins away from home at qork so if he reported that she seemed off i could go home and test.

What do you think? Ps i will have a look at the spreadsheet now and see what i can about the tab :)
 
You have shot a full dose on a 13 (234) before. Think about how low you would be willing to shoot next time. Maybe as low as 11.1 (200)? Without the ability to test, I wouldn't shoot a low blue just yet. As you gather data, you should be able to lower your shooting number.
 
Thank you Wendy. Ps i am looking at the spreadsheet template that i have and i have no idea which tab i need to paste my data on. I tried it on one of them but no colours copied over. I will wait for ss advice from @Marje and Gracie :)
 
Thank you Wendy. Ps i am looking at the spreadsheet template that i have and i have no idea which tab i need to paste my data on. I tried it on one of them but no colours copied over. I will wait for ss advice from @Marje and Gracie :)
I’m not sure where you got that SS? It’s not one of our templates unless you did a mass modification of it ;)

I’ll send you a private message and get the info from you. I can create the correct SS and transfer the data and also post the correct link in your signature block as even that is incorrect.
 
I’m not sure where you got that SS? It’s not one of our templates unless you did a mass modification of it ;)

I’ll send you a private message and get the info from you. I can create the correct SS and transfer the data and also post the correct link in your signature block as even that is incorrect.

Thank you so much! @Wendy&Neko no need to look :)
 
Back
Top