30?

Status
Not open for further replies.

occhi

Member
ok, finally we were super successful at getting some blood from Dude. A warm washcloth in a baggie and using a lancet pen worked like a charm. The bad news is his BG was 30. He hasnt eaten all day and even though its not time for another hour and a half we put some food out and he is eating it. I assume we should test again in a while? How long?

tmjn
 
i would retest right away in all honesty. that number has the potential of being dangerously low so i would get another test to make sure the first test was a good one.

then, if you get a second reading similar to that one, you would want to try and get it up some and test again within half an hour i would say.

i take it it has been 10-11 hours since the last shot? if so, what was the dose you shot? for a cat to be that low so late after a shot, we have to figure out why, i.e. is the dose too high, the inappetance, etc.....

also, there's a very good chance you won't be shooting insulin tonight, depending on what happens in the next half hour or so k
 
You should check every 15-20 min. until you get 3 rising numbers in a row. 30 is low but don't panic unless he drops lower or shows hypo symptoms. Encourage him to eat. Rule of thumb is not to shoot under 200 & never on a falling number. Better to skip a dose.
 
Hi Occhi, and, of course, you too, maybe not so sweet Dude,

Have you tested yourself? It's a good way to check to see if your meter is working properly. Just poke your finger and let us know the reading, okay?

While I'm asking questions... What insulin and dose? What food? Where are you? No specifics necessary; a general location will do.

Hey, welcome to the Vampire Club! And, apparently, what better time to have joined!

Love and waiting to hear from you kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who taught me how to be brave...
 
hi!

We last shot him at 8 am MDt, I am in Utah, 1 unit of prozinc. We will test again right now. will also test myself. The food he just ate was FF classic.

tmjn
 
Thanks for the links and info, dearest Cindy.

Go, go, go! I'll watch and read while waiting to hear from Occhi, okay?

Love and hugs,
Deb
 
Hi Occhi, and, of course, your puzzlesome Dude,

I'm here with you, albeit in NJ.

Let us know your reading, okay? Let us know his next reading, too, okay?

It's good he's eating!

Love and how cool is it dancing with a sugar cat kind of hugs?!
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Hi Occhi, and, of course, you too, exciting Dude,

These are just kind of waiting questions while I'm, well, waiting...

So, how's the whole Dude? We know he's eating. Is he responsive and being his general furry self?

How are you? Gets exciting sometimes, doesn't it? Have you eaten?

Do you have any Karo Syrup or maple syrup or honey on hand? You know, just in case... Do you have any high carb cat food on hand, like dry or canned food with gravy? Or, can you get some in a relatively short amount of time? Again, just in case...

Just some of the questions we ask whilst waiting...

Love and continuing encouraging hugs for you all,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Hi Occhi, and, of course, you too, Dude,

Who doesn't love The Big Lebowski?!

Another question one asks while waiting for test results of a sugar cat named Dude...

I'm going to log out and re-log on so you know I'm on-line, okay?

Love and continued hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
k second test he was 401. control solution tested well, I tested at 143 so we shot him. What a rollercoaster.
 
replies to deb

He seems sleepy but he's not abnormally standoffish. Otherwise he seems normal. I'm good now that we know how to test him. That was stressful. I just ate some hot tamales, does that count?

we do have honey, no high carb cat food. Have a recommendation?

I am so happy someone knows where his name is from. He's the Dude, man :lol:
 
Dearest Occhi -- sorry, Dude, mom talk...

I would have certainly shot at 401 myself.

Despite your 143, I say have a little chocolate! It's been a rough night for you, too!

I have a couple of questions because I'm new to you and Dude, okay? Did he used to be a grazer? If so, then let him graze. No dry, just good old low carb wet food, okay? Feed the same thing to all his furry siblings. Let them all graze! Adjustments can be made later if they need to be.

It doesn't have to be a rollercoaster, dearest Occhi, but it will always be a dance.

And, there's nothing like dancing with a sugar cat! Trust me!


Belated welcome to the place you never, ever wanted to be; but, will be blessed for having found.

Love and encouraging hugs for you and Dude,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart and who sent me Nikki...
 
occhi said:
replies to deb

He seems sleepy but he's not abnormally standoffish. Otherwise he seems normal. I'm good now that we know how to test him. That was stressful. I just ate some hot tamales, does that count?

we do have honey, no high carb cat food. Have a recommendation?

I am so happy someone knows where his name is from. He's the Dude, man :lol:


I'm so keeping you both!
 
High carb food... just buy a couple cans of fancy feast, but the junky flavors with gravy in them. It will bring his bg up some, but the boost will last a bit longer than karo or honey. If you need to feed when dude goes low, feed just a spoonful. Then retest a few minutes later. Repeat until he us out of danger.
Carl
 
k, i'm finally home :-)

i'm thinking that first test may have been a fluke. for him to be so high soon thereafter. and, with your number being as high as it is too. are you diabetic by chance? or borderline diabetic that you know of? or did you eat something sweet this evening? your normal is above normal for a human, just in case you didn't know. :-) might want to watch that too. fwiw, diabetes runs in my family therefore i randomly test myself too since i have the equipment. my numbers started climbing this last year and sure enough, i went pre-diabetic. one nurse practitioner i know even said diabetic but given i was so easily able to get my numbers back down to normal by changing my habits, my doc prefers to say i am pre-diabetic. no meds or insulin for me so far. anyhoo, got sidetracked there. LOL!!

fwiw, it might be a good idea to get a test or two before you go to bed tonight, just to be sure. on Dude that is, not you :-)
data is always good and with enough of it you'll know more what to do very soon with dosing and food, etc.....
 
I spent 6 months in a hospital a couple years ago. I started out being septic and as a result they also thought I had diabetes but no I havent been diagnosed with it but for that episode. I hadnt had anything to eat since about 3 so I dunno. Interesting though.

Dude was a grazer and we keep the MD food out for him and his brother and sisters.

Boy am I tired. I will let you know how the rest of the night goes tomorrow. Thanks soooooo much. This is a nice place with good people.

tmjn
 
Hello, Occhi!

Just wanted to say that I saw you say that you live in Utah. I do too. I'm torn for happiness, because it means someone in my state is dealing with what I deal with, but I'm sad that it's for this reason. Hope Dude's numbers even out for you! ^^
 
Hello Jennifer!

I think you live probably 2 miles from my house :) I agree, it IS nice to know there is someone near who has the same crazy story happening to them. Dude seemed to be much happier this morning. He ate his normal amount of food and he played with hubby afterwards. All is well. :)

Thanks everyone for your help last night.

tmjn
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top