30/10 Django AMPS=135, +4=47, +6=90 Dosing advice for PM

Amy and Django

Member Since 2020
After a month on Lantus and high numbers, Django's numbers took a dive today. He got his usual dose even though he was quite low at AMPS because of a miscommunication between my husband and I. We monitored him and made sure he ate throughout the day and he didn't go hypo, thankfully.

I have not been home as much this week and could not test enough to really do TR and I held the 2.25 dose all week. Glad I didn't increase after a few days!

Now I,m not sure what to do for his PM shot in a couple of hours. If his PMPS reading is just as low as this morning, do I shoot anyway and monitor? Do I reduce the dose? He's been so high for so long that I really don't want to skip a shot and set us back, but I also don't want to risk a hypo in the middle of the night

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-257-7-324-dose-increase.237379/#post-2665097
 
Hi. When you get a bg under 50, first retest to make sure it’s not a bad strip or meter error. If it’s accurate you heed to feed high carb food and retest in 20-30 minutes. Did you test 30 minutes after eating? If you don’t keep testing he could still fall lower even with food. Once over 60 or 70 you move to hourly testing without food. I’m glad you caught it.

His new dose tonight will be 2.0. I would get another test an hour after the 90. If he doesn’t go up by PMPS post for guidance. The site was down earlier so if you tried to get help nobody could respond.
 
Hi. I di not test 30 min after feeding, but I was home and kept an eye on him - he was acting normal and cheerful so I didn't worry too much. But that's good to know - next time that happens I will test in shorter intervals.

At +10 he is up to 263 so definitely climbing not dropping and I will be able to shoot tonight for sure. Do you still recommend I decrease to 2.0?
 
Yes. That’s his new dose until he tells us otherwise. He’s bouncing so it was likely a good strip. The bounce can take up to 4-6 cycles to clear. It could also clear quicker than that. Once it clears we will see if the decrease holds. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Since Django has been diabetic for at least 4 years, he'd be considered a long term diabetic. Under TR, long term diabetics earn a reduction by going under 40, or a week in normal BG numbers. For cats that don't hold reductions well, you can use the reduction guidelines of 3 times between 40 and 49, on three separate days.

Do you mind putting his original diabetes diagnosis date in your signature? It'll help us catch that he's long term diabetic more easily.
 
Since Django has been diabetic for at least 4 years, he'd be considered a long term diabetic. Under TR, long term diabetics earn a reduction by going under 40, or a week in normal BG numbers. For cats that don't hold reductions well, you can use the reduction guidelines of 3 times between 40 and 49, on three separate days.

Do you mind putting his original diabetes diagnosis date in your signature? It'll help us catch that he's long term diabetic more easily.

Thank you - I adjusted my signature. So according to TR for long term diabetics, I should wait to see more low numbers (40s on three separate days, or below 40) before reducing the dose?
 
Yep, reduce immediately if you get a number in the 30s and since he’s already had the one drop please try and keep a closer eye for more 40s. Go Django :D

ETA can you please add TR to your signature too
 
Yes, you would wait for 2 more drops between 40 and 49, or one under 40.

However, TR also requires getting tests at each preshot, plus at least one other test each cycle. I see only one PMPS test and one night cycle test in the last 5 days. If this is not something you can do on a regular basis, I would reduce now for safety.
 
Yes the past week was difficult with meetings and family obligations and I did not test consistently enough. However this weekend and next week should be easier. I plan on getting many readings especially tomorrow and Sunday.
 
Back
Top