3/9 Zener PMPS 458;+2 339;~4 305

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Today
3/9/12 Zener
AMPS 402, 2.0u, 4th cycle, 1.158 oz 9%, 1/16t miralax, 1/2PP, 1/8 Zantac, 1/4 ondansetron
+1.5 412, 0.45oz 9%

Zener is sure full of himself this morning. I've gotten hissed at twice, scratched once, and swatted at several times. This is very un-Zener-like. :lol: :lol: Crazy cat. His appy is better than yesterday but everything has been at the outside picnic table. He just seems a little unsettled. I am feeling fine from my sore throat but learned yesterday that I should not eat gluten. :sad: Anne recently learned that she's allergic to wheat so I guess we can make some food adjustments together. :YMSIGH: Our neighbor was very happy to get the 4 loaves of organic whole wheat bread that I had just bought that afternoon.

The nutritionist suggested using enzymes to help Zener's digestion system. She does that with her clients (hoomins). Does anyone know anything about that?

Thinking today of Rosalie, Rupert and Pip, Tess and Ann, Moonie and Roni, Sid and Lydia, and others who are ailing. Congrats to Mr. Tinkles and Mocha on OTJ annifursaries: you inspire us! Happy Friday LL!
Liz
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412 enzymes?

HI guys,
What kind of enzymes? Sorry to be of no help at all!! Come on back down today, Zener. Back on track for you!!
Sorry about the wheat allergy, gluten allergy. Bummer. Are you sure? I have two friends who were told they were allergic to wheat and it turned out that they were not.

We got just a sprinkling of snow, but very pretty to look at. I gather that you have none at the moment.
Hope you are both feeling better soon (TGIF) and that Zener will see better numbers today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

Do these high numbers make Zener festy? He got back to work quickly after the last skip, so I hope this is all just a memory tomorrow. I don't know anything about the enzyme question. But I'm sure someone will. I don't think I've seen an unanswered question in this forum yet!

I'm glad your throat is better Liz. Now on to the diet challenge! Good luck!!
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

Hi Liz,

I'm no help with the enzymes, sorry. I have heard about enzymes being used in some cases for pancreatitis, but I'm not sure if those are the same enzymes you are asking about? I would want to discuss that with the vet.

Zener, and please come down off the red floor! I'm glad to hear that his appy is improved, hope he continues to eat well! Sorry about the wheat/gluten allergies, no fun!
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

Liz, feel better soon. I see lots of gluten free products in the one market where I shop. Zener baby, what's up with the red floor. Better come down soon. Liz, wish I knew something about the enzymes.
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

Hi guys .. I'm no help either on the enzymes question .. Glad to hear you are feeling better .. good luck with the new diet change .. Zener, your beanz says you are being feisty .. This can't be true .. No gentleman cat would ever hiss ;-) have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

I've used a product called 'Digi-enzymes' made by SISU company on Sophie.. years ago. although Sophie was not diabetic = Ruperts sister - she had serious irritable bowel issues and possible pancreatitis as a kitten. Vet said she was incurable and should be put down. given that I"m a great believer in alternative therapies and herbal etc.etc.etc. stuff (use it all the time on the horses and ourselves with great success) I figured I had nothing to lose. Sophie had hideous diarrhea that would appear anywhere anytime...three times to the drycleaners with our comforter (!!!). anyway, started giving her the Digi enzymes and voila, two days later, problem solved, gave her the stuff for about a month, once a month thereafter, for about a year.. then every now and then if I thought she needed it. she hasn't had any for quite a few years now. It contains several different enzymes, Amylase, Lactase, Lipase to name a few, plus the standard pro biotics which are good for digestion anyway. Not saying this is the answer to your situation, just stating my own experience with 'enzymes' in general. A quick search on amylase suggests that it's hugely important in pancreatic and liver support. I would think you'd have to read the label and make sure the gel caps don't contain any sugar type stuff. Just a thought. if it's completely wrong I"m sure someone here will pounce on me!
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

I don't know about enzymes, but our vet suggested Pet Dophilus probiotic made by Jarrow for Tess. They actually sold Fortiflora at the clinic, but she suggested this one. The enzymes sound interesting too. I couldn't find the one Pip mentioned, but I found this site DIGI-PRO when I Googled 'Digi-enzymes'. They seem to be geared to dogs, however. I don't know if it makes a difference. Drs. foster and Smith has several too. Just need to find the right one. :roll: I'm going to ask my vet about it. It sounds like it would be great for diabetics, but I've never heard it mentioned before.

Liz, did the nutritionist mention any particular brand as better for cats?
 
Re: 3/9 Zener AMPS 402;+1.5 412;+2.5 441 enzymes?

Anne and Liz:

I think it's good to get it clarified if she means probiotics, like Ann says, or digestive enzymes. I think probiotics would be a great one. The normal digestive/pancreatic enzymes like PancreVed really are expensive as all get out and should only be given to cats who are severely chronic pancreatitis-prone. I learned this with Teddi.

Hope you two are feeling better and hope Zeners numbers come back down.....boy..what are you doing up there?
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458

Our normal sweet gentleman cat has returned, now if we can get rid of these grr_red numbers!
Today
3/9/12 Zener
AMPS 402, 2.0u, 4th cycle, 1.15 oz 9%, 1/16t miralax, 1/2PP, 1/8 Zantac, 1/4 ondansetron
+1.5 412, 0.45oz 9%
+2.5 441, 0.9oz 8%
~4 0.2oz 10%
~4.5 0.2oz 10%
+5 0.65oz 8%
+6 499. 0.6oz 4%
+10.5 FDCK
PMPS 458, 5th cycle @ 2.0u, 1.5oz 8% & 1/16t miralax, 1/2PP & 1/4 ondansetron, 1/2PP & 1/8 Zantac

@Ella - we are both feeling a little better today, and most likely because Zener is! ;-)

@Linda - we were wondering if these high numbers were part of why he was so feisty. He seems to be more like his usual self tonight and feeling better despite the still high numbers. :-D

@Laurie - we are seeing our vet in the next couple of days, so will ask her about the enzymes. He's been on the red floor all day today. :sad:

@Ann & Maggie - we expected high numbers from the skipped shot and suspect that he was in the 40s for awhile when I was trying to stall and shoot, probably should have bagged it and fed him. Oh well, more lessons learned. @-)

@Devon - the gentleman cat has returned, no hisses tonight, so far. :cool:

@Pip - thanks for the info!

@Ann & Tess - thanks for the probiotics info, we'll investigate!

@Marje - I'm not sure on the question of probiotics vs enzymes and will pass along to Liz to ask the nutritionist. Not sure why Zener is so high, but we did skip yesterday evening and not too long before that, plus he was in the 40s for at least 2 hours, and he didn't feel good. Could be anyone of those or all, or he's just a cat!

With the BLECH numbers, we are staying at the 2.0u. Also, pondering if the string of 40s late yesterday were related to his limited food intake yesterday rather than an actual reduction, so we are thinking of staying at 2.0u until we start seeing better numbers. This morning his appy was better and he had a partial pudding poo either last night or ealy this morning. Tonight, another poo and this one looked normal and healthy, and he has been on his testing foot stool asking for food. He ate his usual pre-shot amount of his regular 8% food, so we have paws crossed we are getting passed whatever caused the latest saga of pukus poo appy.

Hope everyone has a lovely Friday evening. We are now officially on SPRING BREAK!!! drinking24
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458

FD cats do eat a lot less when their numbers are lower, so that could be why he ate so little yesterday-
Today he had a big bounce from those 40's numbers, and I would guess that it affects them in many ways--
Moonie is more active & eats less when she is in normal numbers, then like today, she was high & she slept a lot..Hard to say because after all--They Are Cats :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: cat(2)_steam :dizcat bcatrun_gif
Hope you both feel better today, I am having a UTI & it aint fun!

Hope we are all better tomorrow-Hugs & Love from us! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458

6bb68dfb-a890-4b17-83d7-8069ac17669a.jpg
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458

Ok, Zener...now that Poo Patrol is happy, it's time to bring those numbahs down a bit! Glad to hear his appy is doing better today! I'm curious about this enzyme discussion...I've got 3 littermates with IBD issues and I haven't been able to find a reasonable, consistent solution for them yet...

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458;+2 339

looks like Zener is on his way down. :smile: He doesn't like skipped shots very much, but at least he gets back on track quickly.
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458;+2 339

There are times when stinkus pinkus looks good! :razz:

Today
3/9/12 Zener
AMPS 402, 2.0u, 4th cycle, 1.15 oz 9%, 1/16t miralax, 1/2PP, 1/8 Zantac, 1/4 ondansetron
+1.5 412, 0.45oz 9%
+2.5 441, 0.9oz 8%
~4 0.2oz 10%
~4.5 0.2oz 10%
+5 0.65oz 8%
+6 499. 0.6oz 4%
+10.5 FDCK
PMPS 458, 5th cycle @ 2.0u, 1.5oz 8% & 1/16t miralax, 1/2PP & 1/4 ondansetron, 1/2PP & 1/8 Zantac
+1 1.0oz 8%, 1PP & 3mg Zobaline
+2 339

@Roni - we are pretty sure this decrease in fuds was from a stomach issue - started immediately after an AM pukus and later the same evening he had some pudding poo. We were wondering about whether high numbers could contribute to the grumpiness. :?

@Celi - BWAAHHHAAAAAAA! :lol: :lol: :lol:

@Amy - our vet thinks it possible Zener may have some IBD but he has not been diagnosed. Any tips on that is welcome! We are going to see our vet on Tuesday and will ask about the probiotics and enzymes.

ETA
@Libby - you are so right, he does not like skipped doses and thank goodness lately he's been getting back on track more quickly. We think the run in the 40s plus the skipped shot did a big red number on him. :twisted:

Zener is definitely on the upswing this evening, and so are the beans! :-D
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458;+2 339

Hi All! Well, pink is better than red? Come on down Zener! I can't help with the enzymes, but it sounds like you have gotten great advice so far. I am glad too that your gentleman kite has returned. :-D
have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/9 Zener PMPS 458;+2 339

Great to hear that Zener's appy is better and all poo passed inspection! Hopefully the numbers come back down now. Maybe it was just an off night and he was feeling yucky. Enjoy your evening and your Spring Break!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top