3/9 Odin - AMBG 90 skipped shot, +14.5 83, +17.5 124. *switched from AT to Relion*

Good morning - switched to relion meter. Odin is at 90 AMPS. To dose or not to dose? I only have the Lantus pen, syringes haven't come in yet. Thanks

Tagging only because its a bit time sensitive - @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I would stall without feeding and recheck in 30 mins. Then post and let’s see where he is since you are new at this. I’ll check back in and see where he is.

If you’ve fed him already, you should skip the shot.
 
Last edited:
I would stall without feeding and recheck in 30 mins. Since he hadn’t dropped below 90, if he rises, you can shoot 1u as long as you will be there to rest and feed as necessary.

If you’ve fed him already, you should skip the shot.
I already fed 🤦‍♀️ will skip this morning.
I thought I read somewhere there is a way to switch over your spreadsheet when changing from AT to human meter. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
 
I already fed 🤦‍♀️ will skip this morning.
I thought I read somewhere there is a way to switch over your spreadsheet when changing from AT to human meter. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
I’ll need to change the SS for you. The formatting has to be changed so it can be complicated. I’ll send you a PM.

Don’t worry about the feeding or the skipped shot. It happens. Just be sure you test again now to be sure he’s on the rise. As long as he’s rising up above 100, you can give him a break today.

As soon as I get my own cats fed, I’ll be back with information for later today and next time.

Edited to add: please change subject title to
3/9 Odin AMBG 90 Skipped shot

You can also remove the “?”. Thank you.
 
Let’s review what you’ll want to do if this happens again.

For new members with little data starting out with SLGS, if the AMPS or PMPS is 150 or less, you’ll want to skip the dose. If it’s less than 90, you’ll also reduce the dose the next shot time by 0.25u.
You’ll note “NS” in the Units column of the SS. On the board, you’ll post it as an AMBG or PMBG which indicates you didn’t shoot. Also, any subsequent tests you post until you shoot again will be “hours since the last shot” so if you skip the a.m. shot and test two hours later, that will be +14 assuming you shot in time the previous shot.

If the AMPS or PMPS is 150-200, you have a few options:
—stall without feeding and wait for the BG to rise above 200, testing every 30 mins to catch that rise. However, we don’t stall more than two hours so if within two hours, he’s not above 200, then skip. If you are stalling, when you do shoot above 200, shoot the full current dose.

—shoot a reduced dose on time. For example, if he’s on a 1u dose, you could shoot 0.5u on time.

Always remember to keep testing to be sure the BG doesn’t drop back down when the insulin dose onsets.

And post for help….members can help walk you through it, too.

If you skip a dose, like today, it’s a good time to change your shot time if that is something you want to do. If you want to keep the same shot time, you can shoot at that regular time.

Let me know any questions.
 
Let’s review what you’ll want to do if this happens again.

For new members with little data starting out with SLGS, if the AMPS or PMPS is 150 or less, you’ll want to skip the dose. If it’s less than 90, you’ll also reduce the dose the next shot time by 0.25u.
You’ll note “NS” in the Units column of the SS. On the board, you’ll post it as an AMBG or PMBG which indicates you didn’t shoot. Also, any subsequent tests you post until you shoot again will be “hours since the last shot” so if you skip the a.m. shot and test two hours later, that will be +14 assuming you shot in time the previous shot.

If the AMPS or PMPS is 150-200, you have a few options:
—stall without feeding and wait for the BG to rise above 200, testing every 30 mins to catch that rise. However, we don’t stall more than two hours so if within two hours, he’s not above 200, then skip. If you are stalling, when you do shoot above 200, shoot the full current dose.

—shoot a reduced dose on time. For example, if he’s on a 1u dose, you could shoot 0.5u on time.

Always remember to keep testing to be sure the BG doesn’t drop back down when the insulin dose onsets.

And post for help….members can help walk you through it, too.

If you skip a dose, like today, it’s a good time to change your shot time if that is something you want to do. If you want to keep the same shot time, you can shoot at that regular time.

Let me know any questions.
Got it, thank you!!
 
Just feed him and test again an hour later. He should start rising without the insulin.

Let’s see how he does today. I want to look at his SS closer but we probably need to reduce his dose for tonight’s shot. I’ll advise you on that a bit later.
 
Since he did drop below 90 without insulin, you should reduce the dose to 0.75u. Were you able to get syringes with 1/2 unit markings?

If they haven’t come in, do you have a Walmart near you as they will have them in their ReliOn brand. Sometimes you have to push them to check as they will say they don’t carry them but usually they do have them.
 
Back
Top