3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331 PMPS=372 +3=315

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Down from 446 last night at bedtime PMPS+4. Sure would love to get out of the 400's for good. nailbite_smile How do I rename the link to yesterday's post so it reads correctly (or does it matter?)? Usually I'm tech savvy, but today I'm clueless. Star is hungry today but otherwise seems normal. Already had a snack. Litter box is business as usual.

Update: thanks to KJ, fixed the URL. :smile:
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS 359

Greetings from another newbie!

Did you mean how to make your link to yesterday's thread just a clickable word? You post like this {url=http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90546}Yesterday's Post{/url} except replace the { } with [ ] and you'll end up with this:

Yesterday's Topic

Maybe this wasn't your question, but I was excited to be able to try to answer a question for someone else here! I'm so appreciative of the help I'm getting here. ;-)
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS 359

Hello Newbie Star, welcome to the best place on the web. Those 400's will get behind you, just give it time. Your already headed in the right direction by just being here. Lucky lil kitty to have a bean like you.
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331

Yes, KJ, that's exactly what I was asking--thanks! And thanks for the warm welcome. Rainy rainy Saturday here in Iowa; more snow expected tomorrow. Even though this winter has not been too bad, I am so ready for spring. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331

I read the information about adjusting the Lantus schedule in 15 or 30 minute increments over seven days to account for the DST change. Given that Star's BG numbers are still high, is a 30 minute increment okay for him? I didn't consider this little hiccup until today, so I'll be adjusting him over the next week, unless I can start this evening. Should I test him at +11 tonight and see where he is? Or is he pretty safe, given the relatively short time he's been on Lantus and the fact that he hasn't dropped below 300 yet? What do you recommend?
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331

I hear you! Its been a pretty easy winter for us here in AK, but I'm still ready for spring!! Hope you and Star have a good day.
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331

Hi Phyllis!! Welcome to you and Star! We're happy to have you here in LL.

If he's still at these numbers or higher at +11, you can shoot early to get on the DST schedule but please be sure you get a +2 to start and monitor him closely. If he's headed down, I would not shoot early. We don't have a lot of data on him yet and so we don't want him surprising us. And you don't want to shoot early every cycle or even every day if numbers are high. Shooting early acts like a dose increase so you usually want to do it when they are starting a bounce. I think this one time it's ok since you need to get him on schedule and it looks like his depot is still filling or he might not be at the right dose yet. If you can't monitor him tonight and tomorrow, I also wouldn't do it.

When you get a chance, could you please do a Profile for Star so we know all about him?
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331

Welcome to LantusLand! You are in the best place to get help for Star. Definitely make a profile, as Marje suggested. What do you feed Star?
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331 PMPS=372

New question (or more detailed former question): if I decide to take the next week or two and transition Star gradually to DST by moving the injection times 10 minutes, keeping them there for a couple of days, then 10 more minutes, keeping them there for a couple of days, etc., how important is it that the shots be given with meals? If Lantus works by building up a deposit, which his body draws from as needed, then it seems like there is no Lantus "spike," and it won't matter if he has or hasn't eaten within an hour. So that would look like:
Sunday 6:30 a.m. DST (would have been 5:30 on CST) test and breakfast
7:20 a.m. (would have been 6:20 CST) insulin
test during the day
6:30 p.m. test and dinner
7:20 p.m. insulin
test before bed
same Monday
Tuesday 6:30 a.m. test and breakfast
7:10 a.m. insulin
test during the day
6:30 p.m. test and dinner
7:10 p.m. insulin
test before bed
same Wednesday
Thursday change by 10 minutes, Friday hold, Saturday change, etc. until both meals and insulin are at 6:30 a.m. and p.m. Thoughts?
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331 PMPS=372

I wouldn't do that. I'd either shoot early today if he's high or I'd move him thirty minutes today and thirty minutes tomorrow and be done with it.

So it would look like this:
Sat PMPS 6 pm
Change clocks overnight
Sun AMPS 7 am
Sun PMPS 6:30 pm
Mon AMPS 6:30 am

You need to test/feed/shoot in about 15 minutes time. I've seen cats' BGs change rapidly in 30 minutes so you need to be shooting the number you just got.
 
Re: 3/9 Newbie Star AMPS=359 +6=331 PMPS=372

Just wanted to stop by to welcome you to Lantus Land, Phyllis and Star! Let's hope the dreaded red's stay away from here on out!
 
Tested at +3 tonight instead of +4. Better! Anybody who knows an anti-snow dance, please do it for central Iowa. Another nine inches? I sure hope not! cat(2)_steam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top