3/9 Moron AMPS HI +10 389 Dose help pls

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Welcome to Lantus Land. Moron (really?? :lol: :lol: :lol: ) looks likes he is bouncing from lows you probably didn't catch. And you have been changing doses pretty frequently.

Lantus is a depot insulin, it takes several cycles for a dose change to stabilize in the body. Every time you change you need to wait for it to settle down again.

Lantus is also dosed based on the nadir, the lowest point in the cycle. That varies from cat to cat, but is often around +6 hours from the shot time. If you don't get mid cycle tests you never know how effective the dose has been. It looks like you are changing his dose based on the preshot numbers. When a cat goes lower than it's body is used to (or goes down very fast) the liver 'panics' and produces a form of glucose and other enzymes to counteract the perceived lows. Then we see a high number.

This is the hardest thing about lantus, the waiting game. But it pays off in the end.

We have some peeps here who really know a lot about Lantus dosing. They should be on around supper time. Any response to a post 'bumps' you up to the top of the list so your post will get more attention. In the mean time, start reading the stickies at the top of the list, especially the New to the Group one. There is a wealth of information there that will keep you busy while you wait.

In the mean time here are some basic questions that will help them get a good picture of Moron:
  • - When was Dx?
    - What are you feeding?
    - What does he weigh?
    - Are there any other health issues?
    - Were you posting over in Health previously? If so a link to your posts there can fill in a lot of blanks.

Hang in there other will be responding soon.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

So should I stay at the 1 unit dose. Twice daily?
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

How close are you to your next shot time? The skipped shot means that you 6 cycle wait to see how this dose is working is reset as of this morning's shot. Lantus really is finicky about being dosed regularly.

Also where are you located? City/ State/country? It helps to know when dealing w/ time zones.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

I gave him 1 unit at 10:30am central time. Next shot will be at 10:30pm tonight.

I posted last night in the health forum and they suggested that I post here to see what may be going on. She said the same that you have said about dose changes. The only day that I would be able to get a +6 test in the daytime would be Monday's. This is my only day off. That is why I get more tests in in the PM

Moron was DX in 2006 however I was not testing him until November 2011 on my own. My vet is not very involved. I now see how important it is to test. He was being injected blindly for years!!
I had been feeding him Blue buffalo wilderness kibble for years. Then switched to Nature's Variety kibble and this is when I started feeding canned. Now he is on FF chicken classic and 9 LIVES only. I tried raw but he refused to eat it after a few feedings. I also had fed him the Nature's Variety canned rabbit which he did like but now can't get anywhere. :cry:
I have 1 other cat his name is Scrunchie and 2 dogs (Ramona,Tutu)
We live in Columbia Heights,Minnesota USA
DX: 2006
Diet: FF CHICKEN,9 LIVES
Weight: 10LB 12yrs old
Health issues: He does get diarrhea frequently
health forum post:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=65762#p714043
I also posted some on FD FACEBOOK GROUP https://www.facebook.com/groups/62167000201/
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

jgriffith said:
I gave him 1 unit at 10:30am central time. Next shot will be at 10:30pm tonight.

I posted last night in the health forum and they suggested that I post here to see what may be going on. She said the same that you have said about dose changes. The only day that I would be able to get a +6 test in the daytime would be Monday's. This is my only day off. That is why I get more tests in in the PM

Moron was DX in 2006 however I was not testing him until November 2011 on my own. My vet is not very involved. I know see how important it is to test. He was being injected blindly for years!!
I had been feeding him Blue buffalo wilderness kibble for years. Then switched to Nature's Variety kibble and this is when I started feeding canned. Now he is on FF chicken classic and 9 LIVES only. I tried raw but he refused to eat it after a few feedings. I also had fed him the Nature's Variety canned rabbit which he did like but now can't get anywhere. :cry:
I have 1 other cat his name is Scrunchie and 2 dogs (Ramona,Tutu)
We live in Columbia Heights,Minnesota USA
DX: 2006
Diet: FF CHICKEN,9 LIVES
Weight: 10LB 12yrs old
Health issues: He does get diarrhea frequently
health forum post:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=65762#p714043
I also posted some on FD FACEBOOK GROUP https://www.facebook.com/groups/62167000201/

Alrighty, let's get you fixed up here...

First, food. Keeping all the dry food, even the dog's crunchies are important. One of my cats will go very high even if she gets just a few pieces of dry food.
Here are some food links:
Binky’s Food Lists
Feeding Your Cat: Know The Basics of Feline Nutrition
List of Low Carb Healthy Treats
Binky's has lots of low carb foods; stick under 10%
Catinfo site has tons of good info.
The 3rd link goes to a post with good treats for diabetics.

Next, testing and ss. You are doing great there and the ss looks terrific. You can't worry about getting tests round the clock; people work and what they normally do is test when they can.
For the most part, you have lots of tests in the 2nd half but the first cycle of the day does not have much.
There are 3 tests that are most important to me. Before am shot, before pm shot, and before bed test.
During the week when working, I could test in the morn, go to work, test when I got home and then maybe a couple tests in the evening. On a day off, I would do a curve, testing every 2 or 3 hrs for a 12hr cycle and maybe 2 curves on that weekend.
If you can't get a test around 3hrs after a shot, maybe you can get a test at the other end of the cydle... maybe a +10? it would be interesting to see what's going on with the numbers just a couple hours before shot time.
So, on the Monday see if you can do a curve to see how Moron's doing.

Next your insulin. Yes, I know that many people say they are able to use their container of Lantus to the last drop but it's said the guarantee is for 28days on Lantus and 42 days on Levemir. With your numbers on the ss, you may start to see Moron's numbers slowly rising and if you have been using the same Lantus for around a month, maybe your insulin needs to be replaced. It's something to keep in mind when things are going well, then all of a sudden, numbers go for crap. I added a column on my ss to track the age of my insulin container.... just in case.

Next is the Lantus. How it works is nice and steady. Think of calm waters with no ripples or waves. All nice and smooth. Now drop a spoon of water to it and you see ripples; you have rocked the boat, and there will need to be a 'settling'. The same goes if you remove some water; you have disrupted the calm.

Lantus and Lev need consistency because of the shed / depot; what I call the spare tank of gas.
Whatever your dose is, you need the same in your spare tank. If you need to increase the dose, the first few shots will likely result in higher numbers because part of your increase needs to go to that spare tank. The same goes for a reduction. if you need less insulin, you give a lesser dose but then the tank is too full and needs to dump the extra.
You will likely see a delay in the reaction you want.... dose too high so you reduce today but with the shed dump, you will still see low numbers.

OK for Moron you were giving .75u for some time, but without knowing when you made the food changes or when Moron was able to sneak some dry food, it's hard to say the reason for Mar01/12 for example... ps is 381 and dropped to 141 by next ps so you skipped the shot.
What happened? Well, if you skip the shot, Moron was able to use his spare tank of insulin, but it was not quite enough for his needs, so naturally the next shot time, he tested HI again.

Because Moron's shed needed filling, you saw higher numbers and you increased the dose, but Moron had the high numbers as the shed was filling. Next, when the shed was full, you got the same problem on Mar05/12.... ps was 346 and dropped to 110 by next ps so you skipped the shot again!
and the pattern repeated itself.
Shed filled, dropped to blue, skipped shot, shed emptied then numbers up, so increased dose.

This 3rd time you dropped back to .75u but then went back up to the 1u again and sure enough, 3days later on mar08/12, the pattern repeats ..... ps was 312 and dropped to 92 by next ps so you skipped shot again.

With the 1u dose, it's likely much too high and so now along with filling the shed, you have a doozy of a bounce happening.

to recap
Mar01/12 - amps/381 shot .75u pmps/141 NO shot next amps HI
Mar05/12 - amps/345 shot 1u pmps/110 NO shot next amps 430
Mar08/12 - amps/312 shot 1u pmps/92 NO shot next amps HI

I don't know about the others, but what about just dropping to .5u and holding it for at least 6 cycles... you want to get the shed settled, not too full, and level numbers. Even if you have mostly low 300s, it's got to be better than the current rollercoaster. Maybe .75 will suit but it seemed like you got to an uncomfortable number and felt the need to skip.... I say to try the .5u and get rid of those waves and ripples.
try these ranges for making dose changes and remember.... don't make changes on the ps numbers.... you need to know what's happening in the middle of the cycles.

"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.

A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.

Lantus & Levemir – Insulin Depot –AKA- Storage Shed
Lantus & Levemir – Data Ready to Shoot Low Numbers




You'll see it eventually
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

You've gotten alot of information from Ann and Gayle.

Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
First, food. Keeping all the dry food, even the dog's crunchies are important.
I'm positive that Gayle meant "keeping all the dry food AWAY...even the dog crunchies...is important." As she said, even a small amount of kibble can drastically affect the BG.

I agree that you have been changing the dose way too much for lantus. But the bigger issue I see is not enough testing to see where your kitty is. I do think he is getting into lower numbers at some point but we don't know how low. Kitties do not have to get even below 100 to do the bouncing that Ann discussed.

I have a different take than Gayle. I think the most important tests you can get if you cannot monitor through the day are the Preshots, +2, an out the door in the a.m. if it is even an hour later than the +2, and a before bed in the pm. The reason the +2 is important is because it will often tell you if the cycle will be an active one or not.

This is what a typical lantus curve looks like:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Take a look at the PM cycle of 2/19. PS was 214 and +3 was 108. If you had gotten a +2, I bet you would have seen a lower number than the PS and that would have let you know numbers were going to go lower. The low numbers you got that cycle were not due to the .5u you shot....it was the shed from the .75u.

It's difficult to tell if this 1u dose is too much for him since we don't have any additional data. I have seen cats go from 300 at AMPS to 40 at nadir and back to 300 at PMPS and if the bean did not have the testing data in between, they would not know the kitty went low.To get him less bouncy you need to stick with a dose according to a protocol.

Gayle gave you some basic info about the Tight Regulation (TR) protocol but that might not be suitable for your situation. Do you have any spreadsheet (SS) or numbers prior to 1/6/12 from the time you started monitoring in Nov, 2011?

Although he's been on lantus since 2006, I'm going to give you some basic info about the two lantus protocols in the FDMB.

The TR protocol was developed based upon the premise that a cat's pancreas may be able to heal and return to producing insulin if the cat's BG is kept in a normal range, ie, 50-120. Caregivers following this protocol adjust insulin doses following the protocol guidelines, to aim for that range. In order to follow the TR protocol, caregivers need to test a minimum of preshot time (to determine if it's safe to give insulin) and again mid-cycle (to find the lowest point of the cycle in order to determine dosing). If the cat is likely to get into low numbers, then the caregiver needs to test enough to keep the cat safe. basic information on the TR is here: Tight Regulation Protocol . if you want to follow the TR protocol, we strongly encourage you to post daily in the Lantus TR insulin support forum for a while to learn more about how it all works. There are requisites to following a TR protocol:
• It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
• Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
• Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
• Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
• Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
• Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

The SLGS protocol has caregivers start with an initial dose based upon the BG at diagnosis and whether kitty has been transitioned to a wet low carb diet, hold that dose for a week or two while testing for ketones regularly, being consistent with food and shooting every 12 hours. once a week a curve is done (test every 2 hours for one cycle) to check for the lowest point. The low number in that curve determines any dose change for the following week. Basic information on the SLGS protocol is here: SLGS Protocol. If you want to follow the SLGS protocol, you can post for advice on the TR ISG, the Relaxed Lantus or Main health for guidance and support.

Could you please link your SS to your signature so it's up every time you post? That would help us all immensely. Just follow these directions:
1. open "user control panel"
2. click on "profile"
3. click on "edit signature"
4. put cursor in the text box then click on the "url" box above the text box and it will put this in your text box:
5. paste the link to your SS in between the two url boxes: PASTE LINK HERE
6. change the "ccc" in your link to "pub".
7. click submit

Thank you and please let us know what other questions you have.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

I will not try for tight regulation. I just am not home enough. Should I repost in the relaxed Lantus forum?
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

I tried to get the ss link on here but it failed :cry:
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Thank you for linking your SS in your signature.

It is really up to you where you feel most comfortable posting....either here or Relaxed but I think it is a very wise decision for you to follow the SLGS protocol. We are happy to help you with that here as well as in Relaxed. You can take a spin through Relaxed if you like....I saw Mel (Momma of Muse) posted in your Health condo and she is a Relaxed member so she would be familiar with your situation.

There are pros and cons...we have more members with eyes on condos every day and pretty much 24/7 but we are also more structured as to posts because of the number of members. There are less members in Relaxed but they also have a more informal posting style. It's entirely up to you...either group will be more than happy to help.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

I will continue to post here, Is my ss working for you?
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Should I give him the reduced dose from 1 unit to .5 tonight? confused_cat
I gave him 1 unit this morning.
My dogs usually eat all their food right away. But ,one night I saw Moron walking around the corner licking his chops and knew that he got some dog kibble :roll:
I have been keeping the kitties upstairs while I am away and no dogs allowed at night either. Seems less stressful this way.
My upstairs is my bedroom. It is like a mini apartment up there :smile:
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

your ss is working great - good job! we can help you follow the SLGS as well. it's a safe way to be able to give insulin without quite as much monitoring as the TR protocol.

did you stay up all night night before last getting that curve? wow. you've got a few hours before the next shot - check back in before you shoot for ideas on dose, ok?
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Following Julie's thoughts, could you please change your subject line so we are sure we catch your +10 or +11 test? If you could make it read:

3/9 Moron AMPS HI +10 XXX Dose help pls

In order to do that, go back to your very first post of today, click on "edit", change the subject line, and then click on "submit". Thank you.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Could you let us know your name please and also, so we can help you with dosing, are you able to get:
--a +2 test as many cycles as absolutely possible?
--an "out the door" test for the a.m. cycle?
--an "in the door" test for the a.m. cycle?
--a "before bed" test for the p.m. cycle?

Thanks very much for the info.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

jgriffith said:
I tried to get the ss link on here but it failed :cry:

I just clicked on your ss link and it worked fine for me!
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

I set my alarm for every few hours. I was quite tired yesterday. But I will do what I can for the guy.
Yes 4.5 hours until PMPS. I am at work now.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Where are my manners!! My name is Jill
I do not always get internet access at home but, I will post his +10 if I do.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Could you let us know your name please and also, so we can help you with dosing, are you able to get:
--a +2 test as many cycles as absolutely possible?
--an "out the door" test for the a.m. cycle?
--an "in the door" test for the a.m. cycle?
--a "before bed" test for the p.m. cycle?

Thanks very much for the info.
I test then feed at 10:30 am
I have to leave no later than 11:20 to work on time So +2 in the am is not an option as seen on ss
I can get home by +10 but no earlier than that. And that would be slamming the door shut on customers and speeding home.
Sorry can you explain ''in the door" and "before bed'?
Thanks, Jill
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Hi Jill

"in the door" means a test as soon as you get home from work and "before bed" means a test right before you go to bed.

Is it possible to move your shot times to earlier so you could get in a +2?

We're thinking of having you back the dose back down to .75u because we'd like to see you start shooting the blue preshots. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile I know. We will be here to help you. We would also like
to see Moron get below renal threshold for his health....so optimally, below 200 would be fabulous. We want you to shoot a dose that you can feel comfortable shooting and we can see how he responds. Skipped shots
are going to keep him looking like he does now.

What we recommend is when you get a blue (or green) preshot (that is a PS below 200), DO NOT FEED....please post his number and that you need help. Then we can walk you through it and someone will stay with you. You can also
read "Dealing with Low Preshots" and "Handling Low Numbers" in my signature block.

Please ask us questions...we are here to help. And please post tonight a +10 or +11 before you shoot. Ok? Thanks.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Is it possible to move your shot times to earlier so you could get in a +2?


No because I work into the night.12pm-8pm (must leave house by 11:20am) The earliest I can get home is at his +10
I chose those times for my schedule. Sometimes I have to work later.
If I pushed his dose ahead 1 hour it may work but leaves me with no extra time for errands on way to work.
And I still could not get the Amps +2 see my problem?

My bedtime is around 2am.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Pet Food Direct has the Nature's Variety Canned Rabbit if you're interested in getting some more. Here is the link for them:

http://www.petfooddirect.com

I did a search for: Nature's Variety Canned Rabbit

and it came up with: Nature's Variety Instinct Rabbit Formula Canned Cat Food

I hope that is what you're looking for. :)

Welcome to LantusLand, and welcome to the Feline Diabetic Message Board. :)
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Jill

I was looking at your Facebook link. You can't inject air into the pens. Do you roll your lantus? You can't do that either.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

perhaps you want this link on taking care of your lantus, jill. not sure if that would explain some of the crazy numbers, but either way, you definitely want to make your lantus last as long as possible. there's a handy dandy little video that punkin helped me make if you're more of a visual instead of a read-about-it person. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Welcome, Jill.

There's a huge amount of information in your condo. (Condo is what we refer to as your thread for the day -- it's like a kitty condo -- you hang out and people come and visit.)

I do think Marje's point about the care of your insulin is important. You don't want to shake, rattle, or roll your insulin. If you are using the pens, do not inject air into the pen. There's a starred, sticky note at the top of the board that describes how to care for your Lantus so you maximize it's shelf life.

It looks like you're uncomfortable shooting numbers that are under 200. I hope we can convince you to start shooting lower. If you take a look at the subject lines on the board, you'll see that people routinely shoot numbers that are under 100. The mantra here is, "Shoot low to stay low." We love seeing green numbers!!

Please let us know how we can help. As you can tell, people are very generous with their knowledge. We're happy to do our best to answer any questions you may have.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Welcome, Jill.

There's a huge amount of information in your condo. (Condo is what we refer to as your thread for the day -- it's like a kitty condo -- you hang out and people come and visit.)

I do think Marje's point about the care of your insulin is important. You don't want to shake, rattle, or roll your insulin. If you are using the pens, do not inject air into the pen. There's a starred, sticky note at the top of the board that describes how to care for your Lantus so you maximize it's shelf life.
.[/q
I stopped rolling the pen and airing the pen once I read that .My prescription is for the vial. But a diabetic friend gave me a brand new pen to help me out. Same Lantus and all.
Will be leaving work now....hope I can get some internet at home Thanks, Jill
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

marje mentioned that we were leaning towards the .75u. what do you think about that?

have a good evening, jill! see you tomorrow.
 
Re: Can someone make sense of these numbers?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Jill

"in the door" means a test as soon as you get home from work and "before bed" means a test right before you go to bed.

Is it possible to move your shot times to earlier so you could get in a +2?

We're thinking of having you back the dose back down to .75u because we'd like to see you start shooting the blue preshots. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile I know. We will be here to help you. We would also like
to see Moron get below renal threshold for his health....so optimally, below 200 would be fabulous. We want you to shoot a dose that you can feel comfortable shooting and we can see how he responds. Skipped shots
are going to keep him looking like he does now.

What we recommend is when you get a blue (or green) preshot (that is a PS below 200), DO NOT FEED....please post his number and that you need help. Then we can walk you through it and someone will stay with you. You can also
read "Dealing with Low Preshots" and "Handling Low Numbers" in my signature block.

Please ask us questions...we are here to help. And please post tonight a +10 or +11 before you shoot. Ok? Thanks.



Moron's +10 was 389 20 minutes until test his +12
 
Jill
Remember to keep in mind that you are not basing your dose on Moron's ps number. When you get the pmps, you will see how quickly his numbers are rising at the end of the cycle.

I believe you will still go with your decided dose of .75u, yes?

You are ultimately aiming for numbers around 50, so you have room to come down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top