3/9 - LILY - Any suggestions on SS?, AMPS = 133

Calicos are Best (GA)

Member Since 2019
Lily was at 133 this morning. I just changed her to 1 unit last night.

On February 26th I tried to switch Lily on 1 unit from .75 units. Her numbers on February 26th after giving 1 unit were:

AMPS = 291, gave Lily 1 unit
+5 = 229
+7 = 230

PMPS = 217, gave Lily 1 unit
+4 = 123
+5 = 94
+6 = 114

Because Lily's numbers got so low at night I switched her back to .75 units from 2/27 - 3/8. Now we are back on 1 unit again.

Does anyone have any suggestions on Lily's spreadsheet?
 
Hi there,:) Nice to see you.
I realize the 94 probably felt low, but remember on slgs she didn't earn a reduction because she didn't drop below 90. So I would have probably held then.
I would stick with the 1u for now and drop back to 0.75 if you catch her dropping below 90.
A suggestion if you find you are shooting a number that is lower than usual I would recommend always trying to get a test later in the cycle before +6 ideally a +1 and +2.
I'm looking at march 4, where you shot 174, that looked to be her clearing a bounce as she was dropping from yellow into blue, the fact she was in the black makes me curious to know how low or fast she potentially dropped.

How are you all doing? Hope you and your family are well.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Gill! Thanks for replying to my post. Thursday my family and I had a memorial for My Mom. It was very nice. My Mom's bible study put together a service. We are healing and trying to be ok. I hope your George is doing well with his supplements. :cat:

Good tip, I will try to keep that in mind to always check + 1 or + 2 when a having a lower number. Thank goodness I always write down the numbers for Lily in a notebook before I put them in the spreadsheet. I actually did have the + 3 on March 4th. I just updated the SS and put Lily's low number in. It was 123 so her + 1 & + 2 must have been an even lower number for her to bounce so high by the time of her PMPS. OR maybe she even dropped after her +3?
 
It was 123 so her + 1 & + 2 must have been an even lower number for her to bounce so high by the time of her PMPS. OR
Just a thought about that 123 and how that might impact the dose.
When you run the curve on March 8th, she was bouncing (flat pink numbers) which isn't all that helpful when trying to make a dose decision. Ideally Lily would be cooperative and have an active cycle when you run a curve, but it doesn't always pan out like that. On SLGS if nadirs are between 90 and 149 you would hold the dose. That 129 on march 4th should have seen you hold the dose.

That said, depending on how much you are able to monitor in the coming days might influence what you decide to do. If you decide to hold then be sure to follow up on any drops you may catch, as well as following up on any lower than usual PS, follow up numbers until you see them rise or the stay flat. If you stick with the 1u try to always get 1 test in each cycle.

Since you've already shot 1u a couple of times I like the idea of sticking with the 1u and seeing if that lowers her range, in particular because of the DKA history, but that is a more aggressive course of action so it will require you to be mindful of that and follow up any numbers that are either dropping or lower than normal.

If with your plans for the upcoming days mean that you will not be able to monitor then perhaps taking her back to 0.75u would be a safer option, but I do hate to take back a dose on a kitty with DKA history when we are still seeing a fair amount of higher numbers.
How is Lily feeling? All good? eating well? I see ketones are negative, so that's good.
 
When you run the curve on March 8th, she was bouncing (flat pink numbers) which isn't all that helpful when trying to make a dose decision.

I agree, I was thinking maybe she could still drop into more reasonable numbers throughout the day, but it never happened. I wished the day just had a more helpful curve. So she really does need the 1 unit right now.

Lily has been good. She eats well. She does still make those stomach noises while eating and right after. The noises do settle through the day. She used to make them randomly. Now I notice it in relation to eating. I have continued to split her meals to help her digest better like you suggested. I think this definitely helps! At AMPS, +2, +5, PMPS, +2, +5, or as close to the +2s and +5s as I can. If Lily makes me more concerned with her behavior I will try the chicken breast trick to give her that snack in the day. I will try to hold off on it for now.

Sounds like a good plan to hold the 1 unit dose! The only day I will be concerned is when I drive all day long to head back home. I may have to adjust the feeding schedule and feed Lily snacks on the stops. She might not be interested. We'll see.
 
You could take the dose down for that day, to keep her safe.
You would need to reduce it starting Wednesday to make sure the depot drained for the day you travel.
 
Back
Top