3/9 Jersey AMPS-502, +3-325; PMPS-310, +4-287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning, LL! ~O)

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115066

Yesterday's Numbers:

AMPS - 147, .50 units
+2 - 73
+3 - 93
+4.5 - 74
+6 - 165
+7.5 - 250

PMPS-290, .50 units
+3 - 328

Today, she's bounced hard - AMPS -502. We gave her .50 units.

I'm wondering if I might have moved to a .50 dose too quickly. Jersey was bouncing for the majority of the time she was on .25 units, which really limited the data. I'm also concerned that she dropped so quickly yesterday once the bounce finally broke. If I wasn't home to steer those numbers with food, I wonder how low she would have gone. I know I can leave canned food out before I leave for work, but I don't know how long it would actually last with two other civies in the house. The same goes with the timed feeder - would Jersey get what she needed when she needed it? Locking them in separate rooms is an option I can consider if I have to, but it's not one that I would prefer.

What do you all think about going back down to .25? Bad idea?

For those who need some extra healing vines, I'm sending them your way!
 
Re: 3/9 Jersey AMPS-502 Drop the Dose?

I wouldn't reduce the dose. It was a lovely string of good numbers after all of those pinks.

Lowering the dose really doesn't help with bounces. What it usually ends up doing it putting the kitty back in less than ideal numbers and wasting a lot of time. Usually, you end up having to raise the dose so all of the time at a decreased dose hasn't accomplished anything. In fact, what it can do is create a situation where it makes it even more likely for your kitty to bounce since glucose toxicity can develop (i.e., your cat's body regards the high numbers as the new "normal").

Yesterday, you shot a dropping number at AMPS. If you look at the previous cycle, Jersey started at 420 at PMPS and had dropped almost 100 points at +5. At AMPS, she was at 147. So, it looks like her numbers were slowly coming down for the rest of the PM cycle. When you shot at AMPS, numbers were still heading down. The 147 was a number the Lantus could grab on to so the dropping number coupled with the morning's shot, put some momentum behind the falling numbers. However, the numbers didn't drop dangerously low and she responded well to your giving her some LC. It was a pretty, green surf.

What it looks like, based on limited information, is that it takes several cycles for Jersey to respond to a dose change. Jersey did bounce hard this morning (and reducing the dose will NOT help the bounce to clear). It may take a little time for the bounce to clear.
 
Re: 3/9 Jersey AMPS-502 Drop the Dose?

Good morning Shelly ~O)

I know what you mean about having to leave the house and afraid Jersey will go low. It's a horrible feeling of dread in your gut all day while you're gone, especially the first couple times. Here's another 'Me & Twice' scenario for you... :lol:
When his numbers were still high, I left them all together and after their breffis, I would mix up a big batch of soft food mixed with water (kinda stew consistency). Then I would put this mixture in a bunch of bowls around the house. But because of the ridiculous number of civvies, I knew there was no way to make sure he would be guaranteed food left over when or if he needed it. So when I had that 'feeling' he might go low, I had a separate room made up for him with a litter pan, toys and food/water. It made me feel so much better at work knowing that he had exclusive rights to that food. I was worried he would be lonely and unhappy, but for him it was the opposite. He ended up preferring his little cove and stayed in there for months :lol:

Ok Jersey Girl, that's enough time visiting the stratosphere! Let's get our feet back on the ground and get to business :razz:
Hope you're all having a good Sunday!
 
Re: 3/9 Jersey AMPS-502 Drop the Dose?

Ok Jersey, you've had your fun on the trampoline and it's time to get off and slide down now! Show your bean some prettier colors, like yesterday :-D.

Chyna likes to take her time with dosecreases. I know bounces are tough to deal with and so is when they go low when you have to leave, so I'm sending vines, anti-stress or patience or comfort...any ones you need ;-) . I leave fuds out in bowls and the autotimer too, but I only have the one cat so I'm lucky on that, hopefully you can figure out a way to have the fuds exclusive for Jersey. Have a great day :-D
 
Re: 3/9 Jersey AMPS-502 Drop the Dose?

I hope Jersey clears the bounce soon. I hate leaving for work when it looks like Furball is going to drop low. I have to worry about the other kitties eating food I leave out for her too. So I just leave enough food for all of them in different places. As you gather more data, you'll get an idea of when Jersey looks like she's headed down for the day and know when to leave extra food out. Are you able to get any +10 or +11 tests in the morning? It helped me a lot with Furball to change my schedule just a little bit to get an early test so I could get an idea if she was going up or down at PS time.
 
Re: 3/9 Jersey AMPS-502 Drop the Dose?

Happy to see jersey back on her way down out of that bounce. Mr. L just wasn't sure what he thought about it all :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top