3/9 Imo AMPS 271; +2 237; +4 216; +6 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReireiChan

Member Since 2011
Today marks 1.5 weeks since dx (473 BG), and 1 week since he was put on 1U Lantus BID. It's also the first time he's having a glucose curve. I'm doing it at home (lower stress for him, less expense for me), using Bayer's Contour. And he has been AMAZING!!! He hardly seems to mind the ear pricks, even though I'm really bad at it (I will be looking for topics on tips for using the lancets, because it seems like I'm either poking just not enough so can't get enough for the sample, or too much so he's probably having additional unnecessary pain. I tried using the lancet device at first and found it to be awful; either me or the device is malfunctioning! So trying it using just the lancets alone now). We've got 3 more pokes to go today, and he is such a trooper. I keep telling him what a good kitty he is, and how much I love him, but I don't know that he knows exactly how much. I'm trying to give him treats each time, but I don't think he likes the ones I got so I'll need to go through that list of low-carb treats again to find another option (we're using Halo Wild Salmon). Other than that, I'm just trying to give him extra special loving and attention.
We're still super new at this, but it seems like his numbers are doing really well considering this is only 1 week in. I'm actually feeling really hopeful that in time we might be able to manage this on diet alone. We're still using the Purina DM, and both the cats are really tired of it. I tried feeding one cat something different to save on costs, but he just wanted to eat Imo's and Imo just wanted to eat Angus' (grass is greener...). So they're both on DM again, and it's getting pricey. I think I will try switching to Friskies or something after the curve is done and I have a good idea of what his numbers should be doing. But I definitely don't want to mess too much with a good thing!
 
Hello, and welcome!!!

don't think i've ever visited your condo before...looks like you are way ahead on the testing, etc.

nice work!!!

what can we call you?

celi & binks
 
Great job on the curve today! I use a Contour meter as well. The price for strips is better on Amazon or from Hocks (see the link at the top of the Board). You'll save a small fortune buying the strips on-line vs. at a pharmacy.

Please take a look at the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will provide you with a wealth of information about Lantus and its use.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in German and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.

Most cats get very tired of DM or just plain hate the stuff. It's a really poor quality food -- lots of animal by-products. If you've not seen it, there's a like to Janet & Binky's food charts in the New the the Group sticky. Janet & Binky's list will give you the carb counts on most commercially available foods. Frankly, feeding Fancy Feast Classics is lower in carbs and better quality and costs far less than prescription food. It's probably cheaper to feed Wellness -- which is also lower in carbs than DM.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Nice curve today and beautiful PMPS.

I don't use the lancet device either. Do you have some sort of pad for backing behind the ear? Aim for a spot between the vein and the edge of the ear. I hold the lancet at about a 45º angle and try a double poke, the second poke lets the blood flow a little better. what lancets are you using. i like the BD brand 30 gauge. They seem sharper than the others I've tried and hurt less. One other thing to try to get a better drop is to twist the lancet slightly as you pull back.

As for treats, I have never heard of a cat that didn't like the freeze dried chicken treats
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top