3/9 FRED AM=250 (.8);+6=92;PM=154 (.8)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Active Member
RE: note from 3/8...I didn't know that 50 points was NOT a big deal. I have been getting anxious about such a skip up or drop down. Do you consider a "bounce" to be more than 100 points?
For now, I'll stick with the .8 as much as possible. Even with some bounces.
My goal is to stay in the healing range for as long as possible.
Please keep an eye on his SS from time to time and let me know if/when you think I can shoot lower
Thanks,
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8)

If the nadir remains above 50 mg/dL, he is safe.
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8)

I don't think we have a "bounce percentage" - probably something someone should figure out. :mrgreen: Anytime I see a sizeable move up (within one cycle or even two), I think bounce. It is also going to vary depending on the low. So if a cat hits 50 and the next number is 150, not a big deal. If a cat hits 50 and the next number is 300, I would definitely think bounce. If a cat is in the 100s and the next number is 200, not a big deal. If the next number is 350, then I'd think bounce. But it's also something that probably fits in that "ECID " category. I know - not very definitive.....

But no, a change of 50 points between preshots, I wouldn't think is a bounce.
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8)

Hi Kathleen and sweet Fred!

50 points could be because he got REALLY excited 'cos he saw a bird outside... :-D If you can't see any reason for a higher number and it's a large one like Sue said above, it MAY be a bounce. It's just their body's way to trying to stay 'safe'. They go away.

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8)

Remember meter variance is +/- 20%, too, so 50 points can easily be meter variance at numbers at or over 250.
Ex.
250 + 20% = 300
250 - 20% = 200
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8);+6=92

I'm going to make a note of your suggestions in my "Fred Notebook" so I can read them when I panic.

So, here we are with what seems to be a lower nadir. If this pattern continues, I would expect to see the AMPS and PMPS dropping a bit, too. Is that correct -- or at least a possibility?
I'm trying to decipher what his numbers are telling me. It may seem strange, but I think these positive changes can be traced back to when I began feeding ONLY the low-carb wet food on the chart. Even though I was giving wet before, the carbs were nearly as high as kibble. Just think, he could have been OTJ if I'd only known!!
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8);+6=92

Lower nadirs may result in lower pre-shots too.

I like to zoom out on the spreadsheet and look for shifts in the color patterns.
 
Re: 2/9 FRED AM=250 (.8);+6=92

Fred has had some really nice cycles the last couple days! Pre-shot numbers can be affected by a lot of things. Sometimes the insulin has worn off by the time pre-shot rolls around, so the number will basically reflect Fred's BG with no insulin, sometimes a lower pre-shot number reflects that the insulin from the last shot is still at work, and sometimes a higher than normal pre-shot number reflects a "bounce."

I can only echo what Sue said about bounces. There really isn't a "percentage." It's definitely an ECID thing.

Knowing the physiology behind a bounce can help you recognize them. Basically, a lower BG number than Fred is used to can trigger his liver and pancreas to release glucose and counter-regulatory hormones into his system. A huge blast up after a low number, in my view, reflects when the liver has dumped a bunch of glucose into the system, which reads the same way as regular glucose on your meter. The counter-regulatory hormones that are released, from what I've read, have the effect of basically making the next dose of insulin less effective - basically the hormones can produce some insulin resistance as a "protective measure." This can be reflected as a high flat cycle after a low number the previous cycle. For Eddie, he has bouncy pre-shot numbers occasionally, but he also has cycles where he stays higher than normal during the cycle, and in my opinion, that's the result of some circulating counter-regulatory hormones.

Assuming that your cat isn't going below 50 at nadir, bounces can pretty much be ignored. Bounces can be a warning that numbers are going too low, but they can also be the result of "unwarranted" liver panic, meaning that the body reacts to numbers that are not too low. That said, there are some cats that do better with the dose slightly reduced if the swings are really dramatic.

In Fred's case, it looks like lately, he's bouncing far less than he was. His pre-shots and his nadirs are looking really great the last few cycles! I wouldn't change a thing that you're doing for now. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top