3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100, +7.75 334, PMPS 410

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97 Dose Advice!

I'm going to have to give him 1.75U...gave that to him once on 2/18, and everything was ok.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97 Dose Advice!

Are there any treats you can get for when you test so that if this happens again and you have to stall you are not getting a food spike number?
How about Halo's chicken treats.
An hour gives you a little time. Test 30 minutes from the last time you tested.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97 Dose Advice!

I posted the same time as you......did you already shoot.
If youdid please get a test right before you walk out the door.
Since you don't have a lot of time to stall is it possible to get a +11 in the morning so you have an idea of whether or not Frank is going up or down by AMPS?
That way it will be easier to make a decision on what to shoot.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97 Dose Advice!

Miriam and Putty said:
I posted the same time as you......did you already shoot.
If youdid please get a test right before you walk out the door.
Since you don't have a lot of time to stall is it possible to get a +11 in the morning so you have an idea of whether or not Frank is going up or down by AMPS?
That way it will be easier to make a decision on what to shoot.

yes, I already shot.....I'll try to test before leaving and post the BG...MAYBE i can check this board at work...MAYBE...(dont want to get myself fired)

So if I test at +11, and get a higher BG for AMPS....what does this mean regarding dosage? AND what would it mean if I got a lower AMPS?
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97 Dose Advice!

Delma said:
Miriam and Putty said:
I posted the same time as you......did you already shoot.
If youdid please get a test right before you walk out the door.
Since you don't have a lot of time to stall is it possible to get a +11 in the morning so you have an idea of whether or not Frank is going up or down by AMPS?
That way it will be easier to make a decision on what to shoot.

yes, I already shot.....I'll try to test before leaving and post the BG...MAYBE i can check this board at work...MAYBE...(dont want to get myself fired)

So if I test at +11, and get a higher BG for AMPS....what does this mean regarding dosage? AND what would it mean if I got a lower AMPS?

You don't want to shoot a dropping number so if you test at +11 and he is low it will give you more time to test at 11.5 to see if he is still dropping. That way you will have a better idea if he is going up. It just gives you more time to make a decision.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100

fed 1/2 can @ +1.5 since I need to leave ..otherwise would have been able to stay home and test..and maybe he would not have needed to eat...oh well..
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100, +7.75 334 PMPS DOSE ADVICE

Frank seems fine when i got home from work..he just got done giving himself a heavy duty bath.

I figure I messed up things by decreasing dose this AM but I need to leave for work comfortably. I took his BG as soon as I got home and at +7.75, 334.

I'd like to consider dosage in advance for tonight's shot. Because of plans tomorrow evening, this AM I wanted to push back his shot by 15 minutes but wasn't able to. I'd like to try for that tonight. Should I stick with 1.75U now??
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100, +7.75 334 PMPS DOSE ADVICE

I would stick with the original dose. It looks like Frank either may have gone lower today and rebounded from the lower number or he is rebounding from the 97.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100, +7.75 334 PMPS DOSE ADVICE

You did fine this morning!

Basically, you have 3 choices if Frank throws you a number that's lower than what you are comfortable shooting. At this point, you don't yet have a ton of data to know how Frank would respond to shooting a low number. Your choices are:

  • Do not feed and stall. Re-test in 15 min. (approx.). You may have to repeat this several times in order to see if numbers are surfing or rising. You do not want to shoot on a dropping number.
  • Shoot a reduced or BCS ("big chicken sh*t') dose. That's what you did today. You want to try to not stall AND reduce the dose since the shed takes a big hit that way.
  • Skip the dose. This is usually the least desirable option since it has a big effect on the shed. However, sometimes it's the best or only option.

The point of getting in all of those spot checks is so you will have the data in order to know what is or isn't a safe number to shoot. For tonight, since Frank is rebounding, shooting his regular 2.0u will be fine.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100, +7.75 334 PMPS DOSE ADVICE

Sienne and Gabby said:
You did fine this morning!

Basically, you have 3 choices if Frank throws you a number that's lower than what you are comfortable shooting. At this point, you don't yet have a ton of data to know how Frank would respond to shooting a low number. Your choices are:

  • Do not feed and stall. Re-test in 15 min. (approx.). You may have to repeat this several times in order to see if numbers are surfing or rising. You do not want to shoot on a dropping number.
  • Shoot a reduced or BCS ("big chicken sh*t') dose. That's what you did today. You want to try to not stall AND reduce the dose since the shed takes a big hit that way.
  • Skip the dose. This is usually the least desirable option since it has a big effect on the shed. However, sometimes it's the best or only option.

The point of getting in all of those spot checks is so you will have the data in order to know what is or isn't a safe number to shoot. For tonight, since Frank is rebounding, shooting his regular 2.0u will be fine.

Thank You...this was very clear for me. Maybe this is starting to come together a bit for me.
 
Re: 3/9 Frank AMPS 97, +1.5 100, +7.75 334 PMPS DOSE ADVICE

Hello!

The learning curve is abrupt no doubt. You did well this morning.
I second Miriam... no food to speak of 2 hours before shot time.
Sienne outlined the typical choices for shooting, so no need for me to repeat them.

The point about testing at +11 is a good one.... although a little hard on the bean specially in the AM. If not for anything else, it gives you warning and time to wrap your head around your options.

I must have missed why your SS is shorten to 3 hours post PMPS. Lots happen after the onset of insulin in the evening... any chance you could add the columns back in?

Looks like Frank has taken a trip to RBC... I hope he comes back down soon.
 
you've already received some good advice. just wanted to stop by to say hi. :-D
glad you went back to 2 units. lantus definitely likes consistent dosing. looks like 2u bid is a dose you should be able to shoot twice a day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top