3/8 Taha's AMPS +21/no PMPS102 +3=37/84 +9=84 +12=87

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102

Hey

pretty good! she gave ya a green PM number last nite, I saw that you mentioned she ate a little bit at +9 yesterday before the PM cycle.
will you be trying for it again - to see if the little bit of food at +9 keeps her in the green?

this morning, did she have a little bit of food around +9 too? This 102 is really good to start today.
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102

Ronnie & Luna said:
this morning, did she have a little bit of food around +9 too? This 102 is really good to start today.

Actually she really didn't eat much of anything I think. Her bowls looked pretty full this morning. If she is in the green PS for the next few days I may put her otj soon.
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37!!!!! eyes please.

Just got a 37 at +3 giving a fat zero. gave a little HC food and will check her again.
Time to join the falls I think.
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37!!!!!eyes please

can u retest in 15 min,
has she eaten?
will she eat a little bit HC? u have karo?
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37!!!!!eyes please

Ronnie & Luna said:
any updates?

did u retest 15min after +3?
Of course. She got up to an 84. Didn't give Karo but have a really good HC food she will eat. I am very good at handling low BG due to my daughter being a type 1 diabetic. For Tasha 34 and below is karo, otherwise HC food with gravy works well for her. You can see that from her 84. This way she is less likely to rebound with a high. Karo is more apt to do that.
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37!!!!!eyes please

great!
then she is ok, can u update your subject line then with current numbers so others dont worry either, ok?
thanks!
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37!!!!!eyes please

Does LC help her surf? With a dose of fat 0 I wouldn't think she'd really need karo. Maybe even MC would be ok, vs. HC. You Know Thy Cat best, though.

This is really terrific. If you look at Deb and Spot's condo - I think it was just yesterday that Libby posted OTJ preparation suggestions...
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37!!!!!eyes please

Ronnie & Luna said:
great!
then she is ok, can u update your subject line then with current numbers so others dont worry either, ok?
thanks!
Yes, sorry. I hadn't thought of that. I changed it.
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37 +15 =84

Nina and KB said:
Does LC help her surf? With a dose of fat 0 I wouldn't think she'd really need karo. Maybe even MC would be ok, vs. HC. You Know Thy Cat best, though.

This is really terrific. If you look at Deb and Spot's condo - I think it was just yesterday that Libby posted OTJ preparation suggestions...
Do you have the link to that?
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37 +15 =84 OTJ next???

Going to skip tonight's shot again. Going to try OTJ after the 37 this morning. What is the protocol on this? How long of a OTJ trial, how often to test? I think I saw somewhere that 2 weeks is the usual way. What about how often to test? If things go well after the trial do you check once a month or is that necessary?
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37 +15 =84 OTJ next???

I believe that this is what Nina was referring to:

Libby & Lucy said:
There are several clues that can help us determine when a cat may be ready to begin an OTJ trial. One would be dropping too low on the smallest dose (usually under 50, depending on the cat). Another is by being in the normal range (which is basically under 100, with some numbers in the 100-120 range being ok) pretty much 24/7 for at least 7 days. A final clue, which is less clear-cut, is when the cat displays inverted curves (curves that are frequently higher at mid-cycle than at preshot, except in cats who are usually late nadir cats), that can indicate that the cat is over dose.

I don't see those signs on Tasha's spreadsheet yet. While some cats can have a successful OTJ trial starting from numbers like these, ideally we'll wait until the preshot values come down. The reason Ronnie is mentioning +9 is that very often when a cat's spreadsheet looks like Tasha's, we are able to help bring that reading down by feeding a small meal about 3 hours prior to the reading. Why does that work? When a cat is getting ready to go off insulin, their pancreas is usually "sputtering." It is working some of the time, but not all the time. A little bit of food will usually stimulate the pancreas to turn back on, and the cat will release its own insulin and bring the number down (which is nice because the injected insulin is not very strong that late in the cycle). If you test at +9, feed a small meal, then test again at +12, if the +12 reading is lower than the +9 you can be almost positive that was the cat's pancreas that made that happen, not the Lantus.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS (+21/no PMS) 102 +3=37 +15 =84 OTJ next???

Oh yes. well then it looks like it is time to try with Tasha then. She went to a 37 on a fat zero. Cannot give less then that. I didn't know the reference was to my own condo. She was also at 102 in the morning on no PM shot. In the green (barely) before the time for the PM shot (not given) too a 92 then. So, along with the low bg her PS numbers have also just come down as well. I think it is time.
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS +21/no PMPS102 +3=37/84 +9=84 OTJ next???

Remember normal bg range is 60-120 so even though 102 isn't green, it's well within normal range.

so another kitty on trial - wow! Wonder what the outcome will be? guilty? not guilty? otj? ;-)

And if you're doing a fat 0, you could try a skinny 0. :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS +21/no PMPS102 +3=37/84 +9=84 OTJ next???

Hillary & Maui said:
Remember normal bg range is 60-120 so even though 102 isn't green, it's well within normal range.

so another kitty on trial - wow! Wonder what the outcome will be? guilty? not guilty? otj? ;-)

And if you're doing a fat 0, you could try a skinny 0. :lol:
the 102 (AMPS) was with no shot last night. and...she had a 37 at the +3. I think it is time. (my fat zero is right on the zero line any less and there is nothing in the syringe,)
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS +21/no PMPS102 +3=37/84 +9=84 OTJ tonight!

I had asked about OTJ trial details a few weeks ago too. There's a description in this thread as well if you'd like to review it.

Good luck!
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS +21/no PMPS102 +3=37/84 +9=84 OTJ tonight!

congrats on the OTJ trial!

Here is the protocol for an OTJ trial:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give her the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 3/8 Taha's AMPS +21/no PMPS102 +3=37/84 +9=84 OTJ tonight!

Whooo Hoooo Happy for you!! Let's see what you can do Tasha! :mrgreen:
 
Thank you all so much. Tasha's +12 was 87. So a good start. No shot then and no checking until the morning PS time would have been? IF I understand correctly.
The trial begins. Here's hoping it works out well.! nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top