3/8 Sweetie AMPS 323, +4 272, PMPS 170, +5.5 74; incr to 1.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo
Well he was so much higher this morning than he's been for quite a few days that I figured it was safe to increase his dose this morning rather than waiting for tonight.

I'm anxious to get his OTJ party started! (I know I've got a ways, but I'm still very hopeful.)

I think he may have eaten some dry food at the neighbors in the afternoon because he had some ultra soft poops last night (on my bed again :sad: - I think he's signaling me he doesn't feel good when he does that). I will have to start calling her before I let him out I guess.
 
Re: 3/8 Sweetie AMPS 323, +4 272; increased to 1.5

Good luck with Sweetie's new dose. Paws and fingers crossed for some great numbers!
Work that juice Sweetie!!! have a great night! hugs and scritches from us to you. mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/8 Sweetie AMPS 323, +4 272; increased to 1.5

Thanks Mary! I really enjoyed reading about Ollie.

Sweetie's start was similar - we found a litter of kittens in the silo behind the barn one day, then the next day all were gone except for Sweetie and his sister Tabby. Too young to jump out on their own, my 4 kids and I brought them food and water and some wood to hide under (owls lived at the top of the silo) for a few weeks until we decided to bring them into the house and make them pets against their dad's wishes. (Now Tabby is his devoted companion since we divorced and split them up.) Sweetie also has a hated little brother, Flynn, who became part of the family 10 months ago. Sometimes I now wonder if the stress of that helped to bring on the diabetes when it did. Though it was inevitable given his 100% dry food diet.

Maybe I'll get around to creating a profile for Sweetie this weekend. Good luck with Ollie's numbers; he has come down quite a bit now and is spending lots of time in blues and greens I see.

This is quite a dance, this sugar dance, isn't it?
 
Re: 3/8 Sweetie AMPS 323, +4 272; increased to 1.5

Awww - what a wonderful story! Good luck with the increase!
 
Re: 3/8 Sweetie AMPS 323, +4 272; increased to 1.5

I'm glad you increased, Cathy. I'd try to stick a little closer to the protocol.

Increasing the Dose
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

So if you are seeing blue, hold ten cycles and if there is no green, increase. If you are seeing no blue or green, I crease after six cycles.

Good job!
 
Re: 3/8 Sweetie AMPS 323, +4 272; increased to 1.5

Thanks Marje; I keep reviewing the protocol but sometimes am not sure how to interpret the wording. Specifically, when checking if the nadirs are within a certain range, am I looking for all nadirs to be in that range, or an average? What about those 12 hour stretches where I don't get any tests in between AMPS and PMPS - do I make a guess where the low point was?

I sure appreciate the help you and the whole FDMB is giving to me and all of the kitties and beans out there dealing with FD!

[Edited in: now I think I see that if I follow your last sentence I should be looking for the *lowest* nadir to decide if I should stay or increase or decrease. Is that right?]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top