3/8 Rupert AMPS 430.+2,466,+5.5,505,PMPS 471,+2,469,+4,412

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65625

yesterdays numbers:

AMPS 482.4
+2 437.4
+6 469.8
PMPS 437.4
+2 284.4
+3.5 194.4
+4.5 178.2
+7.5 135 (2am in the morning seems to be his best time.. grrr!)

managed a couple of blues overnight and now back up again. Really? AND, I think I might have possibly done my first fur shot this morning. jeesh.

Rupert looks great. Eaten his EVO, purry, happy. I"m exhausted. going back to bed.
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. sigh

Hi guys .. bummer on this mornings red .. rupert will come back down ..go back to bed, get some rest, you're doing great! Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. sigh

Wow, Rupert did come screaming down yesterday. Hey, big guy, can you slow that down just a little? The good news is he came down. Very nice blues! Now probably starting another bounce. Ugh. You did give him a shot yesterday morning? (it doesn't show on his SS). You should make a note of a possible fur shot today. Don't worry about it, they happen and Rupert will recover. Hope you get some rest today, Pip.
Liz
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. +2, 466

Ugh on the fur shot, but he will get over it.

Rupert, we need to send you to drama school. You are overacting, by far. We need to see more subtle nuances. Gentle curves, please. This jumping around is giving the audience motion sickness!
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. +2, 466

Fur shots happen! I thought I gave one today too, Pip may surprise you yst. I hope the BTB helped to put things in a better perspective.
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. +2, 466,+5.5, 505

+5.5, into the black. I feel like I'm watching him worsen slowly due to mishandling on my part. I really don't now how I will be able to wait another 3 days for these huge numbers to clear...it just makes no sense. if this was a person they'd be hospitalized by now. He looks a little dehyrdated and lethargic this afternoon. was looking great at 2am. looking at his spreadsheet it looks like his bounces are worse on the lower dose, and that the original 2u the vet prescribed was at least keeping him out of the reds and blacks.

I have a riding lesson at 2:30. that usually improves my mood.

Hubby called. he wont' be back now till Saturday... maybe. Which means Rupies vet appt. will be postponed to Tuesday night next week now. maybe I can get better numbers by then and the vet won't completely freak out.
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. +2, 466,+5.5, 505

Hi Pip-
I noticed on your ss that Rupert is having some eye drainage (red tinged). I went back through some of your condos and did not hear much talk about it, though it looks like you are trying to get him in to the vet asap? In one condo, I did see you mention he has always had drippy eyes, but no dx? And one time they gave you an a/b which cleared it up?

If I am repeating what others have suggested, I apologize. One thing to consider is whether or not Rupert has Feline Herpes Virus. Its actually very common. Some cats wont show signs for years and the owners wonder where the heck it came from! Here is a link that will explain symptoms, dx, tx, etc:
http://www.peteyedoctor.com/620635.html

My foster cat has one eye. That eye is infected with the virus and drips constantly, sometimes with a tinge of blood. It definitely gets worse with stress. I give lysine (as you are) and occasionally a round of antiviral pills (famciclovir) when it is really bad. Most cats will have it clear up with antiviral eye drops. Sometimes these can flare up due to a secondary infection, in which a/bs are given. Though I know you are seeing a lot of bounces from Rupert, I cant help but wonder if *maybe* there is also some sort of infection going on somewhere....causing higher numbers and a flare in what might possibly be herpes.

I really hope he leaves those high numbers behind...and SOON! I have experienced being a caregiver for a cat with high numbers like that. It is such a helpless feeling. Just know you are doing all you can and have a lot of people supporting the two of you.
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. +2, 466,+5.5, 505,PMPS 471, +2 469

Pip

I know we keep saying to hang in there. I know he's bouncing as soon as he gets decent numbers. I think he may need more insulin but let us discuss it in the morning (everyone is in bed by now but Julie and me) and we'll
see if there is any way to increase sooner rather than later. But please hold the dose until we figure it out, ok?
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430. +2, 466,+5.5, 505,PMPS 471, +2 469

picked up new vials from pharmacy. Had the vet change scrip for cartridges, she was interested in the idea.. hadn't thought of it herself.. (DOH?). anyway, 5x 3ml vials equates to five months worth , for $109.00. Sure beats $75 a month for a 10ml vial that gets thrown out. Hoping perhaps new vial will make the difference for Rupie tomorrow. He looks miserable tonight. poor fella.
 
Re: 3/8 Rupert AMPS 430.+2,466,+5.5,505,PMPS 471,+2,469,+4,4

i don't blame you for being frustrated. he is a very good bouncer and it would be really great if he would stop!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top