3/8 punkin pmps 206 +3/210

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
hi all,

new low for the amps - can someone give me advice on the dose for this morning? should i leave it the same or drop it a bit?
 
Re: 3/8 punkin amps 121 - help needed for dose

First, you don't ordinarily adjust the dose based on the pre-shot value unless you are considering a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. There are some standard questions to think about -- do you have strips, HC food (not kibble), and whether you will be home to monitor. Also, if you were to stall the shot, do you have the flexibility in your schedule to do so?

Info on how to handle low pre-shots.
 
Re: 3/8 punkin amps 121 - help needed for dose

someone had said for a newly diagnosed kitty to not shoot if his amps number was under 150 without asking for advice - and i do see that there was a 96 last week - forgot about that one.

yes i can be home all day and can monitor and adjust. he has become my #1 job in life. i have canned HC food and more than enough strips! the ones i ordered did come yesterday, but i'd already had to open the ones i bought locally. c'est la vie.

my husband already fed him though . . .
 
Re: 3/8 punkin amps 121 - help needed for dose

Julie,

I can't tell you what to do, but my Gracie is a new steroid induced diabetic and she has had a few much lower than normal preshot numbers. Each time, I chickened out and delayed and shot a smaller dose. Each time we lost any momentum and her numbers jumped. In the past few days, I decided to just go with it, and actually shot my lowest number at 101. She surfed all day in the mid-50's and 60's. Every cat will be different, but for me, sticking with the dose and shooting on schedule has been my first breakthrough. I understand your hesitancy, I've been there. If you'll be home and have the necessary supplies, you may want to consider the shot. You may find that he surfs very nicely. Gracie always had high preshots and huge drops, and I feared shooting low numbers would cause a similar drop into dangerous territory. That didn't happen. Take a look at my spreadsheet. The last few days have been a revelation for me.

Good Luck,

Jason


julie1220 said:
someone had said for a newly diagnosed kitty to not shoot if his amps number was under 150 without asking for advice - and i do see that there was a 96 last week - forgot about that one.

yes i can be home all day and can monitor and adjust. he has become my #1 job in life. i have canned HC food and more than enough strips! the ones i ordered did come yesterday, but i'd already had to open the ones i bought locally. c'est la vie.

my husband already fed him though . . .
 
Re: 3/8 punkin amps 121 - help needed for dose

If the test (the 121) was before food, you're good. That's a very shootable number. I'd go ahead and shoot. Get a +1 and +2. FYI - I'll be off the Board soon. If you need help, there are usually others around. I'm also linking you to the how to handle low numbers post just in case no one happens to be around.

Also, do a bit of educating with your DH about how to deal with lower pre-shot numbers. As Punkin is improving and numbers are going lower, it will be important that you work together to make sure that one of you isn't feeding if you need to stall the shot.
 
Re: 3/8 punkin amps 121

thanks Jason & Sienne,

I went ahead and gave him the same dose, although who knows how much he got. he jerked mid-shot and the needle came out and stabbed me. my husband and i were both holding him and he still jerked - i'm thinking this box of needles is bad for us. they are Vet One brand from the vet, and it's a different brand than the last box. nearly every shot has been with him getting mad and that wasn't the case with the last box. anyway, i put it back in and gave him the rest of the insulin. i hope.

i'll check him at +1 and +2.

haha sienne, i'm adding those info posts to my sig line so i can find them when needed. thanks for the link!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top